Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections at Penn State Harrisburg

This guide provides an overview of the resources available from Archives and Special Collections in the Madlyn Levine Hanes Library at Penn State Harrisburg.

Welcome to Archives and Special Collections at Penn State Harrisburg

Archives and Special Collections Main EntranceHello!  안녕하세요!  Bonjour!  Ciao!  Guten tag!  Hola!  Namaste!  你好!  Salam wa aleikum!  Shikamoo!  Shalom!  

Welcome to the guide to resources housed in Archives and Special Collections at the Penn State Harrisburg Library in Middletown, PA. The archives is located on the 3rd floor of the Penn State Harrisburg Library, Room 303.  Please Note:  During the Fall 2021 semester, the Reading Room of Archives and Special Collections is open by appointment only on weekdays (Monday-Thursday).  The archives welcomes anyone to explore our collections, including current faculty, staff, and students in the Penn State community, Penn State Alumni, members of the local community, as well as visitors from around the world. 

 

Archives and Special Collections Reading RoomThis guide contains detailed information for visitors, such as hours, address and directions to the archives, and parking on campus, as well as information about the repository, reference and research services, instruction services, exhibits and outreach, our ten archival collections and finding aids (guides to the collections), digital collections, social media and blogs.  Before your visit, it is strongly advised that researchers consult---in advance---with the archivist.  Please contact Heidi Abbey Moyer, Archivist and Humanities Reference Librarian and Coordinator of Archives and Special Collections, at hna2@psu.edu for more assistance.

 

Penn State Harrisburg Capitol Campus SignLooking for specific facts or more information about the history of Penn State Harrisburg?  Did you attend Penn State Harrisburg in the 1960s, 1970s, or 1980s when the college was known as the "Capitol Campus"?  Or, are you one of over 40,000 alumni of Penn State Harrisburg, the Capital College?  Archives and Special Collections is home to the largest archival collection of materials that document the history of the college from 1966 to the present day, as well as collections that focus on pre-Penn State Harrisburg history, including Camp Meade during the Spanish-American War of 1898, the U.S. Olmsted Air Force Base, and the surrounding communities of Highspire and Middletown, PA.  Please see the separate section of this guide for information about the Penn State Harrisburg College History Archives.  A course guide with even more information about the history of Penn State Harrisburg is coming soon! 

 

Interior of Archives and Special CollectionsNeed Research Help?  While the archives is open by appointment only, remote research assistance from archives faculty and staff is still available.  Please contact Heidi Abbey Moyer, Archivist and Humanities Reference Librarian, at hna2@psu.edu, for additional information.