Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections at Penn State Harrisburg

This guide provides an overview of the resources available from Archives and Special Collections in the Madlyn L. Hanes Library at Penn State Harrisburg.

Herb Field Papers and Patriot-News Editorials

Charles "Herb" FieldAbout the Collection

The Charles Herbert Field Papers were donated to Archives and Special Collections in March 2007.  They are comprised of editorials, columns, and articles written by Mr. Charles Herbert Field, Jr., known more often as "Herb Field," and published in The Patriot-News, the largest newspaper that serves the Harrisburg metropolitan area.  The content in the collection dates from April 1977 through December 2018, which parallels his employment with the newspaper. 

Mr. Field's writings document not only the politicalSample Herb Field editorial and social climate in and around Harrisburg, but also the accident at Three Mile Island in 1979 and its aftermath. He is especially known for his writings on conservation and was honored by the Wilderness Society in 2008 by being named the 10th winner of the Aldo Leopold Award for Distinguished Editorial Writing.

Please Note: This collection does not include complete holdings of The Patriot-News. The Madlyn L. Hanes Library at Penn State Harrisburg and the Paterno Library at Penn State (University Park) both own microfilm of The Patriot-News newspaper from 1997-2018 as well as other editions of the newspaper. For earlier editions and title permutations of the newspaper, see The Patriot (1891-1996) and The Evening News (1917-1996), which merged on January 1, 1997, to form The Patriot-News.

 

Finding Aid for the Collection

This collection is being processed, and the finding aid is still in development.  Please contact Heidi Abbey Moyer, Archivist and Humanities Reference Librarian and Coordinator of Archives and Special Collections, at hna2@psu.edu for more assistance.