Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections at Penn State Harrisburg

This guide provides an overview of the resources available from Archives and Special Collections in the Madlyn L. Hanes Library at Penn State Harrisburg.

Fred Greguras Camp Meade Collection

Camp Meade June 1899 troopsAbout the Collection

The Fred Greguras Camp Meade Collection was acquired by the archives in 2018 from a long-time collector and expert on Spanish American War Camps, Mr. Fred Greguras.  As of Spring 2021 and due to the ongoing pandemic, this collection is still being processed.  Therefore, a detailed finding aid is not yet available. 

The majority of materials in the collection focus on "Camp George Gordon Meade," also known simply as "Camp Meade."   It contains photographs, photographic postcards, postcards, a silver commemorative chalice, yearbooks from Fort Indiantown Gap, pins and medals, and much more! 

 

About Camp Meade

According to Mr. Greguras, Camp Meade "...was the second camp of the Second Corps. The Second Corps was relocated from Camp Alger [in Dunn Loring, Virginia] to Camp Meade in an attempt to outrun the typhoid fever epidemic at Camp Alger. Camp Meade was established about August 15, 1898 and abandoned about November 17, 1898. Troops at the camp were mustered out or sent south for the winter. Part of the camp was reopened in April 1899 for the muster out of a number of volunteer units (2nd, 4th, 5th and 9th U.S. Volunteer Infantry) up through June 1899. In addition, several of the new volunteer regiments authorized by Congress in 1899 for the Philippine insurrection assembled there during July to November 1899. The Mt. Gretna rifle range was used by these regiments."Camp Meade Present Day Overlay map

The camp was located south of Harrisburg and just west of Middletown. The site is bisected by the east-west Pennsylvania turnpike (76) east-west State Highway 283 and the north-south extension from State Highway 283 to the Harrisburg International Airport. The site is north of the airport in between Middletown and Highspire. The land rises to the north from the Susquehanna River. Much of the area in the north central part of the camp is still semi-rural. Residential areas cover many of the sites south of State Highway 283. Rosedale Road cuts across the site diagonally northwest-southwest. The Penn State Harrisburg campus is at the south side of the site and a number of the 1898 camp sites are located on the campus. There is a historical marker on the west side of Pennsylvania Highway 441 (Union Street) at the Middletown Area High School (1155 North Union Street).

 

Finding Aid for the Collection

This collection is being processed, and the finding aid is still in development.  Please contact Heidi Abbey Moyer, Archivist and Humanities Reference Librarian and Coordinator of Archives and Special Collections, at hna2@psu.edu for more assistance.