Below is a list of former full-time and part-time employees, all of whom have contributed immensely to the success of our repository over the past several decades. We are grateful for each person's numerous contributions to the archives and to the Madlyn L. Hanes Library!

Martha Sachs
Librarian and Curator of the Alice K. Marshall Collection (1994 to April 2013)
Martha worked for nearly twenty years as the part-time librarian/curator in Special Collections. She was instrumental in creating the foundation for Archives and Special Collections in our library, and contributed immensely to what would eventually become the present-day repository. She worked tirelessly to create many exhibitions and displays that showcased the Alice K. Marshall Collection, responded to regular user requests for reproductions of materials, and preserved the early history of the college. In 2011, Martha assisted with the launch of the "Archives-To-Go" project that integrated primary source literacy and archival literacy with humanities instruction at Penn State Harrisburg. In addition to supervising undergraduate and graduate students in the archives, Martha conducted and published her research on Grace Greenwood, one of America's first paid female newspaper correspondents.

Eleanor E. Parrey
Archives Administrative and Processing Assistant (April 2019 to March 2023)
Eleanor worked full-time for four years in the library and in the archives.  She was responsible for assisting with all of our daily operations such as opening/closing the Reading Room, assisting archives' readers, paging materials, processing collections, assisting with exhibitions and displays, and managing many other administrative operations in the repository.  She also provided assistance with managing the project to transcribe our Holocaust Oral History Collection and finalized the arrangement and description of the Fred M. Greguras Camp Meade Collection during the COVID-19 pandemic. Eleanor was also responsible for creating our Instagram page in 2019. During her first year, Eleanor lead the curation of the exhibition, "Her Stamp on History:  Notable and Quotable American Women from the World of Philately." 
 

Katherine "Katie" A. Gorrell
Archives Administrative and Processing Assistant (2013-2018)
Katie worked full-time for five years in the library and archives.  During her time in the repository, she was responsible for assisting with daily operations, opening/closing, assisting archives' readers, paging materials, processing collections, assisting with archival instruction, creating exhibitions and displays, and managing other administrative operations.  Katie was also instrumental with re-processing the Alice K. Marshall Collection, establishing the Penn State Harrisburg College History Archives, acquiring the J. Randall Plummer Collection, writing amazing post for our Facebook page, and setting up the first iterations of our Flickr image database.

Elizabeth "Liz" McIlhenney
Archives Processing Assistant (January 2022 to April 2024)
For over two years, Liz served as our primary processing assistant extraordinaire!  She worked part-time on the arrangement and description of collections, especially the Penn State Harrisburg College History Archives, and coordinated many of our social media platforms like Facebook and Instagram, user metrics, exhibition designs, and displays. She also assisted with daily archives administration, archival instruction, digitization, paging materials, assisted with supervising and training other students with projects, and oral history transcription.  Liz also curated her own exhibition in fall 2023, "Recording Personal Histories: When History Becomes Personal."

Rosemary Yee
Archives Processing Assistant (2018-2021)
Rosemary worked in the archives as a student intern in 2012 and again as a part-time employee from 2018-2021.  She was instrumental in organizing our user statistics, annual collections metrics, and daily operations in the archives.  During the COVID-19 pandemic, Rosemary updated our social media platforms, especially our Facebook page, assisted with exhibitions and displays, and managed users' reproduction requests. In 2019, by applying her fluency in Chinese, Rosemary translated our general archives brochure into both traditional and simplified Chinese to improve our outreach to the international students on campus.

Katie Barrett Fuller
Archives Processing Assistant (2014-2018)
Katie was hired in early 2014 to assist part-time with the research and organization of the book, Penn State Harrisburg, which was released in 2016 by Arcadia Publishing for the college's 50th anniversary. She was instrumental with organizing the college's collection of over 20,000 photographs, researching the history, dates, and names, and assisting Ms. Moyer with managing all the details for this large-scale project. Katie worked closely with other members of the archives' team and worked on exhibition development and design, digitization, paging materials, and archival instruction sessions. Katie also created our Pinterest boards.