Archivist and Humanities Librarian
Coordinator of Archives and Special Collections
Coordinator of Archives and Special Collections
Heidi Abbey Moyer
She/Her/Hers
Contact:
Available for in-person and Zoom appointments for Fall 2024
Website
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Individual Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Nineteenth-Century Photography by Call Number: TR9.E62 2008 (2 Volumes)ISBN: 9780415972352Publication Date: 2007-08-24The Encyclopedia of Nineteenth-Century Photography is the first comprehensive encyclopedia of world photography up to the beginning of the twentieth century.
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography by Call Number: TR642.E5 2006 (3 Volumes)ISBN: 1579583938Publication Date: 2005-11-15The Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography explores the vast international scope of twentieth-century photography and explains that history with a wide-ranging, interdisciplinary manner.
Focal Encyclopedia of Photography by Call Number: TR9.F6 2007ISBN: 9780240807409Publication Date: 2007-04-11Now in its 4th edition, this comprehensive treatise, featuring the history and historical processes of photography, contemporary applications, and the new and evolving digital technologies, will provide the most accurate technical synopsis of the current, as well as early worlds of photography ever compiled.
Grove Encyclopedia of American Art by Call Number: N6505.G76 2011ISBN: 9780195335798Publication Date: 2011-01-20The Grove Encyclopedia of American Art is an ambitious publishing endeavor, unparalleled in its comprehensive approach to the study of art in the United States.
Oxford Dictionary of American Art and Artists by Call Number: N6505 .M59 2018ISBN: 9780191807671Publication Date: 2018In this 2nd edition of the dictionary of American art, more than 1,600 alphabetically arranged entries cover painters, sculptors, graphic artists, photographers, printmakers, and contemporary hybrid artists, along with important aspects of the cultural infrastructure.
Photographs of the Past: Process and Preservation by Call Number: TR465.L39313 2009ISBN: 9780892369577Publication Date: 2009-08-31***Essential for learning about different photographic processes.*** Comprehensive reference book with detailed and easy-to-understand information ranging from albumen negatives and daguerreotypes, to black-and-white prints and printing-out paper (POP) prints, providing an overview of the history, materials, and evolution of the complex technologies involved with photography.
Collections of Encyclopedias
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new windowA collection of over 1000 reference resources.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Art Online combines several key encyclopedias and dictionaries important for the history of art and architecture.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Reference Online consists of a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations found in dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.