This is the online catalog of materials owned by Penn State Libraries. All formats (books, journals, audiovisuals, maps, recordings, etc.) are included. Circulation status for individual items is also provided. Coverage: Presently contains about 7 million records. Updates: Continuous up-to-the-minute as new records are added.

OCLC WorldCat database is the OCLC online union catalog. It contains over 43 million records describing library holdings around the world.

Search for articles on all aspects of the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Articles from national, state and local historical journals are covered, as well as historical articles in major humanities and social science journals. Also includes citations to reviews, books, and dissertations. Keywords: African-American, Afro-American, Black, Hispanic, Latino, Colonial, Pennsylvania, Native Americans, women, gender, revolution, revolutionary war, civil war, Vietnam War, Cold War, World War I, World War II, Immigration, Immigrants, labor, agriculture, culture, society, politics, religion, economic, military, historiography.

The American National Biography Online offers portraits of more than 17,000 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation. The online version reproduces the full-text of the original 24 volume set published in 1999, with new and updated entries added regularly. The online edition features thousands of illustrations, hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and powerful search capabilities.

A collection of over 2000 reference resources.

Oxford Art Online combines several key encyclopedias and dictionaries important for the history of art and architecture. Together these provide the largest and most authoritative list of biographies of artists in English, as well as an excellent collection of scholarly encyclopedia articles on important topics in the visual arts. Included are Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and others.

The ARTstor Digital Library is an image database featuring works of art and other cultural heritage from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. The library of 2 million images is constantly growing. All images are accompanied by extensive metadata and are rights-cleared for specified educational uses.

Sponsored by the libraries of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation, the University of California, and other partners, HathiTrust is a repository of digitized materials in all disciplines. Its content--primarily scanned books and journals-- may be searched via authors, titles, subjects, and other data elements.

With more than 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases, Ancestry Library Edition includes records from the United States, UK, and Canadian censuses, beginning in the 18th and 19th century; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more. These collections are continuously expanding, with new content added every business day.

The electronic editions of record for major national newspapers, local, regional, and U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources -- all in one easy-to-search database with a world map. Each provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community, as well as a distinctive focus offering a variety of viewpoints on local and world issues.

A complete digital archive of one of the longest surviving daily newspapers in the United States. Includes all news stories, editorials, advertisements, illustrations and other content. The Inquirer is known for its coverage of the American Civil War; its published works by literary figures such as Charles Dickens and Edgar Allen Poe; and its reporting of breaking news in the city, country, and around the world. The Philadelphia Inquirer offers a regional perspective on historical events as they unfolded.

A complete digital archive of the Post-Gazette, one of the earliest newspapers west of the Alleghenies. Includes news stories, editorials, advertisements, illustrations and other content. The Post-Gazette offers coverage of the U.S. westward expansion, the industrial revolution—from coal mining to the rise of the steel industry and notable figures such as Andrew Carnegie, Henry Clay Fricke, Andrew Mellon, and H.J. Heinz. The Post-Gazette provides researchers a valuable regional perspective on international, national and local news.

Readex's Early American Newspapers (1690-1922) is a unique, web-based archive of Americana that provides a fascinating glimpse into our nation's past. The Early American Newspaper Collection will feature the images and full-text content from scores of historical publications.

NewspaperARCHIVE is a database of newspaper page images from Pennsylvania. Searches are automatically limited to the content Penn State has access to. NewspaperARCHIVE is particularly good for accessing historical newspapers from smaller and medium-sized cities and towns across the Commonwealth (e.g., Altoona, Dubois, Gettysburg). The text is fully searchable, but there are gaps in coverage for many titles.

Search a selection of periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals. Contains full-text of American magazines and journals that originated between 1741 and 1900. Digitized page images reproduce the publications as they appeared when originally published.

The online version of the original Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature offers subject access to over 3 million articles from approximately 375 leading magazines. Use Readers Guides Retrospective to find contemporary magazine accounts documenting events in politics, fashion, media, film, television, health and medicine, literature, popular culture, religion and science.

An index produced by the Research Libraries Group to finding aids and other descriptive information about the holdings of manuscript and archival collections in libraries and research institutions throughout the world

Indexes hundreds of international art magazines, including English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as some published in other languages. Indexing is available for publications 1929+; abstracting for 1994+, and Full Text is often available for 1997+ but keyword searches do not explore the full texts – only the titles, subject headings, & etc.. Not covered by LionSearch.