AMST/ARTH 307N: American Art and Society (Dr. Alicia Bott)
This guide is for students in Penn State Harrisburg's AMST/ARTH 307N taught by Dr. Alicia Bott. It includes numerous research sources about American art history, including information about the J. Randall Plummer Photography Collection.
The American Art Collaborative (AAC) is a consortium of 14 art museums in the United States committed to establishing a critical mass of linked open data (LOD) on the semantic web. The Collaborative was funded from 2014-2017 by grants from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation and the Institute of Museum and Library Services.
The Archives of American Art is the world’s preeminent and most widely used research center dedicated to collecting, preserving, and providing access to primary sources that document the history of the visual arts in America.
The Association of Historians of American Art (AHAA) is a membership organization and an affiliated society of CAA—Advancing Art & Design. Founded in 1979, AHAA promotes scholarship on art of the United States.
Located in Phoenix, Arizona, at the University of Arizona, the Center for Creative Photography (CCP) is the premier research collection of American photographic fine art and archives, promoting creative inquiry, dialogue, and appreciation of photography’s enduring cultural influence.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art’s Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History presents a thematic, chronological, and geographical exploration of global art history through The Met collection. Authored by The Met’s experts, the digital publication is a reference, research, and teaching tool conceived for students and scholars of art history. The Timeline currently comprises more than 1,000 essays, 8,000 works of art, 300 chronologies, and 3,700 keywords.
Founded in 1805 and located in Philadelphia, the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts (PAFA) is America's first school and museum of fine arts. PAFA hosts innovative exhibitions of historic and contemporary American art and curates a world-class collection of American art. PAFA’s esteemed alumni include Mary Cassatt, Njideka Akunyili Crosby, Thomas Eakins, William Glackens, Barkley L. Hendricks, Violet Oakley, Louis Kahn, David Lynch, and Henry Ossawa Tanner.
The Smithsonian American Art Museum is the nation’s first collection of American art and home to one of the largest and most inclusive collections of American art in the world. Collections include photography, modern folk and self-taught art, African American art, Latino art, and video games. The museum has the largest collection of New Deal art and exceptional collections of contemporary craft, American impressionist paintings, and masterpieces from the Gilded Age.
Located in the Meatpacking District of Manhattan, the Whitney is devoted to the art of the United States and presents the full range of twentieth-century and contemporary American art, with a special focus on works by living artists.