It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use to find articles written about to United States and Canadian history
Search for articles on all aspects of the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Articles from national, state and local historical journals are covered, as well as historical articles in major humanities and social science journals. Also includes citations to reviews, books, and dissertations. Keywords: African-American, Afro-American, Black, Hispanic, Latino, Colonial, Pennsylvania, Native Americans, women, gender, revolution, revolutionary war, civil war, Vietnam War, Cold War, World War I, World War II, Immigration, Immigrants, labor, agriculture, culture, society, politics, religion, economic, military, historiography.
Contains the full-text of recent scholarly journals, including many key history titles.
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers. MUSE began in 1993 as a pioneering joint project of the Johns Hopkins University Press and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at JHU. Grants from the Mellon Foundation and the National Endowment for the Humanities allowed MUSE to go live with JHU Press journals in 1995. Journals from other publishers were first incorporated in 2000, with additional university press and scholarly society publishers joining in each subsequent year.
Contains the full-text including back issues of journal articles in various fields. Titles include the Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography, Pennsylvania History: A Journal of Mid-Atlantic Studies, Eighteenth Century Studies, andWilliam and Mary Quarterly.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that provides a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and a selection of scholarly books. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. While indexing for JSTOR articles is covered in LionSearch, the full text of the articles is not searched in LionSearch. Search JSTOR itself to ensure detailed coverage of full texts.
Many issues of key Pennsylvania history journals are freely available online through a cooperative digitization effort:
News content by publication title, geography, time frame, and language in print, online, microfilm and other formats via PSU access
The University Libraries provide access to many newspaper titles in print, electronic, and microfilm formats. Use NewsFinder to locate newspapers in any format and location within the University Libraries collections.
Online Magazine and Newspapers
Many historical news sources are now online, far too many to list. Places to start.
Primarily 19th and 20th centuries. Many newspapers from small and medium-sized cities.
NewspaperARCHIVE is a database of newspaper page images from Pennsylvania, New York and Ohio, with a small number of titles from other states. Searches are automatically limited to the content Penn State has access to. NewspaperARCHIVE is particularly good for accessing historical newspapers from smaller and medium-sized cities and towns across the Commonwealth (e.g., Altoona, Dubois, Gettysburg), as well as NY and Ohio. The text is fully searchable, but there are gaps in coverage for many titles.