Books
Fairy Tales by Call Number: EBOOKPublication Date: 2009-03-26"Overturns traditional views of the origins of fairy tales and documents their actual origins and transmission."
Romantic Medievalism by Call Number: CLICK "I WANT IT" BUTTONPublication Date: 2001-12-17Nineteenth century medievalism is usually associated with Scott's world of Ivanhoe , but Romantic Medievalism argues that Scott's is a conservative use of the past and that radical poets such as the young Coleridge, Keats and Shelley used the medieval to critique and change, rather than validate, the present."
Cinderella in America by Call Number: EBOOKPublication Date: 2007-08-01"For years many folklorists have denied the possibility of a truly American folk or fairy tale. They have argued that the tales found in the United States are watered-down derivatives of European fare. With this gathering, William Bernard McCarthy compiles evidence strongly to the contrary."
Handbook of Arthurian Romance by ISBN: 9783110432466Publication Date: 2017-06-26"Evidently a big hit, Arthur found himself being swiftly translated, adapted and integrated into the literary traditions of almost every European vernacular during the thirteenth and fourteenth centuries. This Handbook seeks to showcase the European character of Arthurian romance both past and present."
Introduction to Medievalism in Literature
Databases
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThe ultimate guide to scholarly articles for medievalists.
- Literature Online Core (LION Core) (legacy) This link opens in a new window--Search thousands of modern poems, plays, short stories, novels, for medieval allusions to dragons, knights, Camelot, heraldry, swords, courtly love, and more.
--Also includes scholarly criticism.
- Medievalism in Literature: An Annotated Bibliography of Critical Studies1. Use CTRL+F on your keyboard to search this expert-powered bibliography for your topic.
2. Search for the titles of the sources in LionSearch. - LuminariumAnthology of Middle English literature.
- ArthurianaAn ejournal focusing on King Arthur and Camelot.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowEvery word ever spoken or written in English--includes Middle English.
- Middle English DictionaryA dictionary from University of Michigan specific to the medieval English tongue.