Why Writing in Energy and Mineral Engineering Matters
Engineers in energy fields, or those who support business decisions in energy finance, are at the nexus of multimillion dollar decisions. The ability to clearly communicate recommendations and ramifications to various internal and external groups - shareholders, government inspectors, management - is an essential skill.
Energy and Mineral Engineering Writing
This section has help for the types of writing assignments that you're likely to have as a student in energy and mineral engineering. It also includes style guides from key associations in your field. These style guides may help you become familiar with particular conventions of your discipline.
Assignment types:
- Technical reports(Joe Schall, e-Education Institute)
Effective Technical Writing in the Information Age - Laboratory reports(University of Toronto) Engineering Communication Program online handbook
- Proposals(University of Toronto) Engineering Communications Program online handbook
- Case studies(University of Toronto) Engineering Communication Program online handbook
Style Guides:
- LaTeXGuide to using LaTeX to format documents (from Wayne State University).
- LaTeX guideGuide from Penn State Libraries
- Society of Mining Engineers Style Guide(Society for Mining, Metallurgy & Exploration) SME book publishing style and editorial guide 2013
Resources for Further Study
Library guides for energy engineering and for mining engineering - these guides provide suggestions for the best resources to use to locate trustworthy information on your topic.
These guides list the top places to search such as:
- Compendex (Ei Village 2) This link opens in a new windowIndex to over 9 million engineering articles, books, papers and more from 1884 to date.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowIndex to journal articles in many disciplines, with references linked to allow searching for related papers.
Engineers' Guide to Technical Writing by This book provides easy-to-follow guidelines, methods and rules that will make you a more efficient technical writer.
A Guide to Writing as an Engineer by Publication Date: 2005This text covers technical writing and speaking issues encountered in day to day work, writing reports, business letter, memoranda, proposals, emails, presentations, and more.
The IEEE Guide to Writing in the Engineering and Technical Fields by This book introduces students and practicing engineers to all the components of writing in the workplace.
A Writer's Handbook for Engineers by This handbook covers numerous types of common writing projects likely to be found in a career as an engineering student or a practicing engineer.
