Library Guides: MGMT 365: Social Entrepreneurship: Spring 2022: Food hubs

Background Information on Food Hubs

Appalachian Food Works
A non-profit food hub operating in central Pennsylvania
The Wallace Center
"The Wallace Center brings together diverse people and ideas to co-create solutions that build healthy farms, equitable economies, and resilient food systems. We seek to affect systems change to bring benefits to the environment, to communities, and to the farmers and food businesses that are the building blocks of a healthy and equitable food system."
Cooperatives and Food Hubs - USDA National Agriculture Library
Provides information on how food hubs and cooperatives operate. Includes resources such as:
Introducing the Regional Food Hub Guide: An Innovative Tool for Growing Local Food Systems
USDA blog post about food hubs

Try searching for articles in one or more of the following databases. Some suggested searches:

AgEcon This link opens in a new window
A free, open-access repository of full-text journal articles, working papers, and conference papers in agricultural and applied economics
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Search for trade publication, magazine, and newspaper articles on food hubs, distribution, entrepreneurship, and other related topics
An essential article database for business research providing the full text for more than 2,000 periodicals, including about 1,000 scholarly journals. Covers virtually all disciplines in business and economics, including: accounting, economics, econometrics, finance, marketing, management, MIS, QMM and supply chain management.

Business Source Premier search tips:

Add or remove search terms to narrow or broaden your search
Change how your results are sorted from Date Newest to Relevance
Use the Refine Results menu to limit your results by Publication Date, Source Type, or another filter

AGRICOLA (via OVID) This link opens in a new window
Database from the USDA with core articles in all aspects of agriculture
AGRICOLA contains references for books, journal articles, book chapters, audiovisuals, and other agricultural resources. These resources encompass all aspects of agriculture such as animal and veterinary sciences including poultry and dairy, entomology, plant sciences such as horticulture, crop and soil science, and plant pathology, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, rural and community development, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, food science, agricultural engineering, and earth and environmental sciences. Also indexes publications from USDA, State Experiment Stations, and State Extension Services.