Contact the Librarian at your campus for more help!
University Park / World Campus:
Ellysa Cahoy
(UL-EDLIBNS@lists.psu.edu or 814-865-9696)
Berks:
Brett Spencer
(DBS21@psu.edu or 610-396-6261)
Brett Spencer
(DBS21@psu.edu or 610-396-6261)
Erie:
Jane Ingold
(JLI4@psu.edu or 814-898-7278)
Jane Ingold
(JLI4@psu.edu or 814-898-7278)
Harrisburg / University Park / World Campus:
Bernadette A. Lear
(BAL19@psu.edu or 717-948-6360)
Bernadette A. Lear
(BAL19@psu.edu or 717-948-6360)
Start Here
Due to recent defunding and staffing cuts at the U.S. Department of Education, significant changes are occurring with ERIC and other Education databases. Penn State librarians are monitoring the evolving situation and recommend that researchers use various search strategies to find desired materials. Please contact us if you want assistance in conducting a thorough search. We're happy to help you!
-
ProQuest Education Database This link opens in a new windowProQuest's largest database for Education journal articles. Provides full-text for many publications. Recommended for most research projects.
-
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowContains materials indexed by the U.S. Department of Education, reflecting recent (2025) changes to ERIC's scope. It continues to be valuable for its thesaurus and for its coverage of non-journal items (grey literature) that aren't included in other tools. Unlike the USDE version (linked below), this ProQuest version links to Penn State's paid journal subscriptions, enabling you to read articles online.
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle's search engine for scholarly journals. A vital tool for exploring materials outside of the Penn State library system, using algorithms that are different from library databases.
-
LionSearch This link opens in a new windowAn integrated search of books, e-books, research articles, newspaper articles, and other publications. Contains vast materials that are not covered by ERIC or ProQuest Education Database.
Other Research Guides
Interested in college- and professional-level science and math resources? Try these: