Information on how to access Sci-Finder-n. Links to journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, and doctoral dissertations in chemistry (Chemical Abstracts) and related fields; also includes information on chemical substances, reactions, and chemical catalogs.
SciFinder-n indexes the chemical literature as well as providing searchable information regarding specific chemical substances, reactions, structure and substructure searching, chemical supplier information, and a retrosynthesis planner.
Special Access Notes: Global Protect VPN required for remote access.
When accessing SciFinder-n, users will need their Penn State access credentials as well as a separate SciFinder-n login and password, which they can obtain using on-screen instructions. Register for a SciFinder-n Account.
Part of Web of Knowledge. Select Web of Sciences from the "Select a Database" tab. Covers all areas of sciences and technology from 1900 - present.
Web of Science provides access to: the Science Citation Index Expanded 1900-present; the Social Sciences Citation Index 1956-present; and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975-present. Web of Science indexes articles from thousands of journals and also indexes the citations used in those articles, thus allowing the user to see which papers have cited a core paper, and how many times a paper was cited in a given time period. Covers published content is almost every discipline.
Includes over 50 leading chemistry journals, such as the Journal of the American Chemical Society, Journal of Organic Chemistry, Chemical Reviews, and Journal of Physical Chemistry A-C
Provides full text access to American Chemical Society publications. We are not able to access C&EN Online here, but do get it from 1998 - present as Chemical & Engineering News/ACS Single Titles Subscriptions.
Major multidisciplinary journal publisher, many of which are in chemistry. Some key titles include Analytica Chimica Acta, Chemical Physics, and Tetrahedron.
This system provides access to the electronic versions of the Elsevier journals and books that we subscribe to. Current issues and back files are included. Currently, it includes more than 1,200 journals. The full text collection contains over 1.5 million articles and book chapters from 1995 to present across all fields of science.
Multidisciplinary publisher, including many in chemistry, such as Journal of Polymer Research, Chromoatographia, and Catalysis Letters.
Access to electronic editions of journals and electronic books to which Penn State University Libraries subscribes, published by a company called Springer-Verlag. Journals cover the fields of chemistry, computer science, economics, engineering, environmental sciences, geosciences, life sciences, mathematics, medicine, and physics. Coverage: 1996-present. Updates: Continuous
Part of Web of Knowledge. Select Biological Abstracts from the “Select a Database” tab. Covers all areas of the biological sciences, including biochemistry.
Biological Abstracts is the premier database for the biological sciences. BA monitors more than 5,000 international journals to ensure that virtually every life science topic is covered, including agriculture, biochemistry, biology, botany, molecular biology, biotechnology, physiology, microbiology, neurology, pharmacology, public health, toxicology, zoology, and ecology and the environment. Coverage is from 1926 to date.
Includes multiple databases related to these topics.
The Environmental Sciences Collection provides abstracts and references to the environment literature covering all areas of air, land, water, and noise pollution as well as bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, risk assessment, environmental engineering, environmental biotechnology, waste management, and water resources from 1967 to the present.
Includes journals and conference proceedings in physics and related disciplines.
Inspec is a leading bibliographic information database covering the fields of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology with more than 7.7 million records taken from 3,500 technical and scientific journals and 1,500 conference proceedings. Coverage: 1896-present.
PubMed is a web interface that allows you to search MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine's premier database of citations and abstracts for biomedical research articles. The core subject is medicine, but subject coverage also includes bioethics, biology, chemistry, dentistry, environmental health, genetics, gerontology, health care planning and administration, history of medicine, hospital administration, microbiology, nutrition, nursing (International Nursing Index), physiology, pre-clinical sciences, public health, sports medicine, veterinary medicine and zoology. MEDLINE covers over 4,800 journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The database contains over 15 million citations dating back to 1950. Coverage is worldwide and updated weekly. Learn more about PubMed at: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/factsheets/pubmed.html. or Try the Tutorial at: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pubmed_tutorial/m1001.html