Grove Music Online, available through Oxford Music Online, is a fully-searchable online encyclopedia that covers all aspects of the history of music, with articles about composers (including lists of works), performers, styles and genres, countries and cities, and instruments.
Grove Music Online offers a dynamic research tool combining the full text of the 29-volume print edition with the added benefit of sophisticated search capabilities, one-click cross-referencing, and an ever increasing network of web-links to musical sites around the world.
Musical America Worldwide is a directory of the music industry that provides contact information and other data about performing artists, managers, venues and facilities, services, and performing arts organizations.
Musical America Worldwide is the online version of the Musical America International Directory of the Performing Arts, with additional online-only features including databases of performing artists, managers, facilities, and arts organizations. Access is available to one Penn State user at a time.
Locate sheet music contained in hundreds of anthologies and scholarly editions using this index, which covers composer’s collected editions and monumental sets. Comparable reference works in print are Historical Sets, Collected Editions, and Monuments of Music by Anna Harriet Heyer, and Collected Editions, Historical Series & Sets & Monuments of Music: A Bibliography, by George R. Hill and Norris L. Stephens.
This database is the only electronic resource for finding individual pieces of music published in standard scholarly editions. Included is music from ancient Greek times to the present. App information
transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts
IPA Source provides International Phonetic Alphabet transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. The goal of IPA Source is to promote the comprehension and accurate pronunciation of foreign language texts in art song and opera.
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music.
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music, from Oxford Music Online, covers popular music of all genres and periods from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music.