Library Guides: Marketing at Harrisburg: MKTG 301: Principles of Marketing

Getting Started with Marketing Research

Company Information

Mergent Intellect
Provides access to background information on public and private companies, including executive structure, financials, competitors, and more.
Provides data on over 100 million privately held companies.

Business Articles and SWOT Reports

Business Source Premier
Access major business magazines and research journals. Also contains proprietary SWOT reports on individual businesses from MarketLine.
An essential article database for business research providing the full text for more than 2,000 periodicals, including about 1,000 scholarly journals. Covers virtually all disciplines in business and economics, including: accounting, economics, econometrics, finance, marketing, management, MIS, QMM and supply chain management.

Industry Information

IBISWorld
Detailed industry reports also contain industry-level SWOT analyses.
IBISWorld provides over 700 full-text industry reports, 700 US industry risk rating reports, and information on over 8000 Publicly Traded US Companies as well as hundreds of economic and demographic profiles. Subscription includes access to the US Industry State Reports module.

Consumer Information

Mintel
Detailed market research reports for the U.S. and European consumer markets. Reports analyze market drivers, trends, market forecasts, market segmentations, demographics, and consumer attitudes and purchasing behaviors.
Provides access to two products. Mintel Academic publishes 600 market research reports each year for the U.S. and European consumer markets. Reports analyze market drivers, trends, market forecasts, market segmentations, demographics, and consumer attitudes and purchasing behaviors. The Trends module in Mintel Academic tracks cutting edge trends and shifts in consumer behavior. Mintel Market Sizes provides market size, market share and segmentation data for global consumer packaged goods industries. No walk-ins allowed.