Links to databases and resources for award-winning and popular children's/young adult literature. Also helpful for authors studies, language arts, literacy, literary criticism, reading, and related topics.
CLCD Tutorial Video
Best resource for exploring children's/young adult literature. Allows you to search for titles by genre, age/grade level, reading level, award/honor status, and many other criteria. Provides reviews, teacher resources, and more.
CLCD (Children's Literature Comprehensive Database) is the premier single-source, single-search provider of online information to help educators and librarians find just the right books to meet their educational and collection management requirements. CLCD provides over 2.1 million Children's and Young Adult Literature records containing more than 500,000 professional reviews of children's books, multimedia and audio books (aggregated from 42 sources). The database provides over 1.6 million entries including 650,000 national, state, and international award entries dating back to 1922. Also included are 330,000 and author illustrator links. Subscribers can search by keyword, author, title and subject; and filter by reading level, age, grade and interest level; and then view, sort and distribute the resulting information. In addition, CLCD includes Teaching Tools which shows links to hundreds of web sites with lesson plans and teaching guides.
The Horn Book Guide Online, updated each spring and fall, publishes short, critical reviews of virtually every hardcover trade book published in the United States for young people. The reviews are clear and succinct (about 60 to 75 words), identifying strengths and weaknesses and rating the books on a scale from one (high) to six. The database is searchable by author, illustrator, title, subject, and bibliographic data, as well as by rating. Currently, there are more than 51,000 full text reviews from 1989 through the current issue.
Helpful for finding reviews of older books, especially those published before the 1990s. Although Book Review Index focuses on adult-level materials, it includes many young adult and classic children's authors, too.
Provides quick access to reviews of books and other media appearing in more than 600 publications. Includes reviews published from 1965 to present. To locate the text of a review select the Penn State Search link.
Although not a library resource, Goodreads is the largest social media site for book recommendations and reviews. Information is contributed by writers, teachers, scholars, and everyday people. Sign up to obtain a free account.
An archive of major scholarly journals, including Education and Literature. Unlike many library databases, JSTOR includes and searches full-text articles back to the 1800s. Thus it is helpful for finding resources on obscure topics.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that provides a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and a selection of scholarly books. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. While indexing for JSTOR articles is covered in LionSearch, the full text of the articles is not searched in LionSearch. Search JSTOR itself to ensure detailed coverage of full texts.
Biography, criticism, and other information about children's/young adult authors.
Biography, criticism, recommended reading, and other information about authors of children's and young adult literature. Covers more than 12,000 individuals, from Caldecott and Newbery award-winners to the latest writers.
Includes Something About the Author, as well as Children's Literature Review, the Dictionary of Literary Biography, and other sources of biographical and critical information about authors.
Literature Criticism Online offers biographical and critical essays on authors and their works including novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, literary theorists, and other writers. The database features full-text content from a number of Gale print literature sets.
The largest database for literary criticism, LION includes material from reference books and scholarly journals.
With over a third of a million full-text works of poetry, prose and drama in English, together with the definitive online criticism and reference library, Literature Online is the world's largest cross-searchable database of literature and criticism.
Best source for Education literature. Unlike other library databases, ERIC allows you to search for education levels (such as elementary or secondary) and target audience (such as parents or teachers). This version links to Penn State's paid journal subscriptions, enabling you to read articles online
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is the major database for education literature, sponsored by the U.S. Department. of Education. The same database content is available on many platforms.
Includes full-text of various children's literature journals and other arts and humanities publications.
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers. MUSE began in 1993 as a pioneering joint project of the Johns Hopkins University Press and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at JHU. Grants from the Mellon Foundation and the National Endowment for the Humanities allowed MUSE to go live with JHU Press journals in 1995. Journals from other publishers were first incorporated in 2000, with additional university press and scholarly society publishers joining in each subsequent year.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Once you set your institutional preferences, links to full-text, if available at Penn State, should appear.