Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Census: Microfilm Collections & Services

This guide focuses on locating people in the census microfilm reels.

1910 Census

Objective: To locate a specific person who lived in Pennsylvania in 1910.  In this example we are tracking Sarah Lockhart, who lived in Pennsylvania and should have been counted during the Federal Population Census for Pennsylvania in 1910 Census.  We want to confirm this information and determine any other information about her family collected by the census enumerator in 1910. 

1910 Census: Pennsylvania reel listing located at bottom of guide.

information iconThe Internet can be a valuable tool to aid in your Census search.  There are many sites that provide information.  Census Online contains over 44,000 links to US census records, census calculators, and census forms from 1790-1930.  The microfilm information and the internet information can be used together to complete a search for an individual.  Links to Internet sources have been inserted throughout this document that complement and, in some cases, replace the print indexes or the census microfilm.  Please note that the microfilm constitutes the primary source and should be consulted for errors in transcription.  A blank 1910 US Census form is at the end of this document.

Please ASK the staff at  Microforms & Government Information, 2nd floor Paterno Desk at any time for additional help or clarification about how to locate the sources or information.

In indexing the 1910 census, the Miracode code was used for Pennsylvania.  The Miracode is the same as the Soundex code with the exception of getting a volume, an enumeration district and a family number with the Miracode versus an enumeration district, sheet, and line citation with the Soundex Code.  It is a code for indexing names by the way they sound instead of the way they are spelled.  Miracode/Soundex can help find a surname in the census documents even though it may have been recorded under various spellings.  For example, Smith, Smithe, and Smyth all have the same Miracode/Soundex Code of S-530.  The Miracode was only used during the 1910 Census. 

Step 1:  Begin by finding the Miracode/Soundex Code for the name of the person you are trying to locate. Visit Soundex Converter Calculator [Ancestor Search] to identify the Miracode/Soundex Code. For information about how Soundex codes are calculated, see the National Archives,"Soundex/Miracode."

Eastman’s site provides the Soundex Code for (L-263) for Sarah Lockhart.

Step 2: Determine which microfilm reel contains the Miracode/Soundex Index for the person you are researching.  In  Microforms & Government Information, 2nd floor Paterno, the microfilm reels for the Index (Miracode) to the 13th census, 1910: PA are located at HA216.P4 1910 (Reels 1-688) The Miracode/Soundex Code is listed on the outside of the reel boxes.  In some instances, there will be more than one reel for a specific Miracode.  In these cases, you will find the Miracode with a range of first names listed.  For our example, Reel 268 contains the Miracode Index for L-260 Raymond A thru L-320 Andrew.      

Alternatively, a list of the Miracode Index for Pennsylvania in 1910 can be accessed online at the National Archives.  Scrolling through the list will indicate: 268.  L-260 Raymond A.--L-320 Andrew.

At this point you will need to use a microfilm reader/printer/scanner in Microforms & Government Information, 2nd floor Paterno, to locate and read the Soundex Index for Sarah Lockhart. Please ASK the staff at the Reference Desk for help if you are unfamiliar with the machines. You can also view the PA 1910 Soundex online at the Internet Archive.

Step 3:  Locate the person you are researching in the Miracode Index.  For our example, scroll through roll 268.  Locate L263 initially, and then scroll the first names which are in alphabetical order until you find Lockhart, Sarah.  The code 0047 is the Enumeration District, and the code 0017 is the Dwelling Number.  See example 1.

Example 1:  The Index (Miracode) for Sarah Lockhart.

The National Archives has a listing of the abbreviations and terms used in the index.

From the Miracode Index we know the following:  Sarah Lockhart was a 26 year old white female.  She was born in Ireland and she lived in Allegheny County, PA.  The SE to the right of her name indicates that she was a servant.    The head of the household was George Hardy. 

With the additional information from the Soundex Index, visit US GenWeb Census Project to determine if any census information is recorded online for Sarah Lockhart.  For this example, as of 5/23/08, the census records for 1910 for Allegheny County are only partially completed:  Sarah Lockhart and George Hardy are not listed. 

Step 4: In cases where the complete Census information is not available online, the original ledger entry can be viewed through the microfilm at  Microforms & Government Information, 2nd floor Paterno.  To do this, be sure to write down the following information from the index:

  • Head of Family: Hardy, George
  • County: Allegheny
  • E.D. (Enumeration District) :47
  • Visitation Number : 17

If you need any help locating this call number in Microforms & Government Information, 2nd floor Paterno, microfilm cabinets, please ASK the staff at the Reference Desk.

Step 5:  Locate the 1910 Census: Pennsylvania on microfilm in Microforms & Government Information, 2nd floor Paterno, in the microfilm cabinets under the call numberHA217.U5P4 1910 (reels 1292 – 1435).

The reels are arranged by call number in alphabetical order by county.  Many counties take up more than one roll of microfilm, in these cases it is necessary to have the E.D. (Enumeration District) information so you can determine which roll has the person you are researching.

Sarah Lockhart is located on Reel 1293 (County:  Allegheny ED: 17-29, 36-64.)  The National Archives lists the contents, including enumeration district, for the 1910 Federal Population Census Microfilm Reels.  In addition, a description of the Census Enumeration Districts for 1910, can be found in  Microforms & Government Information, 2nd floor Paterno, in the microfilm cabinets under the call number HA214.D47 1910 (reel 37). This information has also been transcribed into a chart at the end of this document.

At this point you will need to use a microfilm reader/printer/scanner machine in  Microforms & Government Information, 2nd floor Paterno, to locate and read the entry for Sarah Lockhart. Please ASK the staff at the Reference Desk for help if you are unfamiliar with the machines.

Step 6:  Now, using our example, Sarah Lockhart, you will need to find Allegheny, and then scroll through to Enumeration District (47 in this example.)  From the enumeration district, look for the Visitation Number (17 in this example) which is listed under column 1.  See example 2 and 3.

Example 2:  Showing the enumeration district and page number.

Example 3: Showing the Visitation Number. 

Step 7:  Locate and review the information collection for Sarah Lockhart in the 1910 census.  See example 4.  A blank 1910 census form can be viewed and printed for completion. A blank form has been provided at the end of this document. 

Names of individuals are not in alphabetical order on the ledger page. Read the page carefully to locate Sarah Lockhart’s name.  The 19thCentury script and the microfilm quality can sometimes present interesting challenges for the researcher!

In 1910, the following 32 columns of information were collected.

  1. Dwelling Number
  2. Number of Family, in the order of visitation
  3. Name:  of each person whose place of abode on April 15, 1910 was in this family
  4. Relation – relationship of each person to the head of the family
  5. Sex
  6. Color or Race
  7. Age at last birthday
  8. Whether single, married, widowed, divorced
  9. Number of years in present marriage
  10. Number born
  11. Number now living
  12. Place of birth of this person
  13. Place of birth of Father of this person
  14. Place of birth of Mother of this person
  15. Year of Immigration to the United States
  16. Whether naturalized or Alien
  17. Whether able to speak English; or, if not, give language spoken
  18. Trade or profession of, or particular kind of work done by this person
  19. General nature of industry, business, or establishment in which this person works
  20. Whether an employer, employee, or working on own account
  21. If any employee - whether out of work on April 15, 1910
  22. If an employee – number of weeks out of work during 1909
  23. Whether able to read
  24. Whether able to write
  25. Attended school any time since Sept. 1, 1909
  26. Owned or Rented
  27. Owned Free or Mortgaged
  28. Farm or House
  29. Number of farm schedule
  30. Whether a survivor of the Union or Confederate Army or Navy
  31. Whether blind (both eyes)
  32. Whether deaf and dumb

Referencing the original ledger page we now get additional information including the following:  Sarah Lockhart was a 26 year old female.  She and her parents were born in Ireland.  She immigrated to the US in 1904 and was employed as a servant in a private family.   The head of the household was George Hardy.  There were 10 people in this household. 

1910 Census: Pennsylvania (Reels 1292 - 1435)

Reels 1292 - 1435
Reel No. Names of Counties (Pennsylvania) Note

Reel 1292

Adams, Allegheny

Adams County

Allegheny County EDs 1-16, 30-35

Reel 1293

Allegheny

EDs 17-29, 36-64

Reel 1294

Allegheny

EDs 65-108

Reel 1295

Allegheny

EDs 109-158, 658

Reel 1296

Allegheny

EDs 159-207

Reel 1297

Allegheny

EDs 208-249, 252, 253

Reel 1298

Allegheny

EDs 250, 251, 254-283, 659

Reel 1299

Allegheny

EDs 284-315

Reel 1300

Allegheny

EDs 316-346

Reel 1301

Allegheny

EDs 347-379

Reel 1302

Allegheny

EDs 380-422

Reel 1303

Allegheny

EDs 423-458

Reel 1304

Allegheny

EDs 459-496

Reel 1305

Allegheny

EDs 497-525, 547-552

Reel 1306

Allegheny

EDs 553-564, 581-603

Reel 1307

Allegheny

EDs 526-546, 565-580, 604-620

Reel 1308

Allegheny

EDs 621-657

Reel 1309

Armstrong

EDs 4 EDs 1-3683--501, 547, 502--516

Reel 1310

Armstrong, Beaver

Armstrong County EDs 37-53

Beaver County EDs 1-22, 31

Reel 1311

Beaver, Bedford

Beaver County EDs 23-30, 32-55

Bedford County EDs 1-4, 7, 8

Reel 1312

Bedford, Berks

Bedford County EDs 5, 6, 9-32

Berks County EDs 1-13, 16, 17

Reel 1313

Berks

EDs 14, 15, 18-50, 211

Reel 1314

Berks

EDs 51-85

Reel 1315

Berks

EDs 86-119

Reel 1316

Berks, Blair

Berks County EDs 120-130

Blair County EDs 33-46, 60-67

Reel 1317

Blair

EDs 47-59, 68-79

Reel 1318

Blair, Bradford

Blair County EDs 80-91

Bradford County EDs 1-26, 28-31

Reel 1319

Bradford, Bucks

Bradford County EDs 27, 32-56

Bucks County EDs 1-19

Reel 1320

Bucks

EDs 20-61

Reel 1321

Butler

EDs 56-91, 256, 257

Reel 1322

Butler, Cambria

Butler County EDs 92-108

Cambria County EDs 92-105

Reel 1323

Cambria

EDs 106-116, 118-130, 132, 133

Reel 1324

Cambria

EDs 117, 131, 134-151, 162, 163

Reel 1325

Cambria, Cameron, Center (Centre)

Cambria County EDs 152-161

Cameron County

Center (Centre) County EDs 7-23, 141, 142

Reel 1326

Center (Centre), Carbon

Center (Centre) County EDs 24-45

Carbon County EDs 1-13, 17, 18

Reel 1327

Carbon, Chester

EDs 121

Reel 1328

Chester

EDs 22-63

Reel 1329

Chester, Clarion

Chester County EDs 64-90, 169

Clarion County EDs 1-16

Reel 1330

Clarion, Clearfield

Clarion County EDs 17-32

Clearfield County EDs 46-65, 68, 69

Reel 1331

Clearfield

EDs 66, 67, 70-97, 103

Reel 1332

Clearfield, Clinton, Crawford

Clearfield County EDs 98-102, 104, 105

Clinton County

Crawford County EDs 1-10

Reel 1333

Crawford

EDs 11-56, 194

Reel 1334

Columbia, Cumberland

Columbia County

Cumberland County

EDs 1, 10-12

Reel 1335

Cumberland

EDs 2-9, 13-43, 174

Reel 1336

Dauphin

EDs 51-88

Reel 1337

Dauphin

EDs 44-50, 89-114, 173

Reel 1338

Dauphin, Delaware

Dauphin County EDs 115-130, 132-134

Delaware County EDs 91-103, 106-108

Reel 1339

Delaware

EDs 104, 105, 109-138, 140-142

Reel 1340

Delaware

EDs 139, 143-168, 170, 171

Reel 1341

Elk, Erie

EDs 57 66, 107-109, 113, 114

Reel 1342

Erie

EDs 67-99, 192

Reel 1343

Erie, Fayette

Erie County EDs 100-106, 110-112, 115-140

Fayette County EDs 1-3

Reel 1344

Fayette

EDs 4-45

Reel 1345

Fayette

EDs 30-41, 46-58, 77

Reel 1346

Fayette

EDs 59-76, 78-84, 87, 90, 91

Reel 1347

Fayette, Forest, Franklin

Fayette County EDs 85, 86, 88, 89

Forest County

Franklin County EDs 1-23, 29, 30

Reel 1348

Franklin, Fulton, Greene

Franklin County EDs 24-28, 31-43

Fulton County

Greene County EDs 92-111

Reel 1349

Greene, Huntingdon

Greene County EDs 112-125

Huntingdon County EDs 55-89

Reel 1350

Indiana

EDs 54-88, 91

Reel 1351

Indiana, Jefferson

Indiana County EDs 89, 90, 92-101

Jefferson County EDs 62-84

Reel 1352

Jefferson, Juniata, Lancaster

Jefferson County EDs 85-103

Juniata County

Lancaster County EDs 1-8, 13, 23, 24

Reel 1353

Lancaster

EDs 9-12, 14-22, 25-55, 58, 59

Reel 1354

Lancaster

EDs 56, 57, 60-99, 149

Reel 1355

Lancaster

EDs 100-148

Reel 1356

Lackawanna

EDs 1-22, 32-35

Reel 1357

Lackawanna

EDs 23-31, 36-49

Reel 1358

Lackawanna

EDs 50-67, 137, 144, 148

Reel 1359

Lackawanna

EDs 68-96, 102-l04, 145, 147

Reel 1360

Lackawanna

EDs 97-101, 105-136, 146

Reel 1361

Lawrence

EDs 109-144

Reel 1362

Lawrence, Lebanon

Lawrence County EDs 145-158

Lebanon County EDs 135-144, 146-158

Reel 1363

Lebanon, Lehigh

Lebanon County EDs 145, 159-172

Lehigh County EDs 131-142, 145-150

Reel 1364

Lehigh

EDs 143, 144, 151-177

Reel 1365

Lehigh, Luzerne

Lehigh County EDs 178-210

Luzerne County EDs 1-5

Reel 1366

Luzerne

EDs 6-32, 172

Reel 1367

Luzerne

EDs 33-52, 60-62, 171

Reel 1368

Luzerne

EDs 53-59, 63-81, 86-98

Reel 1369

Luzerne

EDs 82-85, 99-115, 174

Reel 1370

Luzerne

EDs 116-141, 173

Reel 1371

Luzerne

EDs 142-170

Reel 1372

Lycoming

EDs 28-75, 104

Reel 1373

Lycoming, McKean

Lycoming County EDs 76-103

McKean County EDs 106-121

Reel 1374

McKean, Mercer

McKean County EDs 122-140

Mercer County EDs 141-161, 193

Reel 1375

Mercer

EDs 162-191

Reel 1376

Mifflin, Monroe, Montgomery

Mifflin County

Monroe County

Montgomery County ED 65

Reel 1377

Montgomery

EDs 62-64, 66-89, 100, 101

Reel 1378

Montgomery

EDs 90-99, 102-109, 128-142

Reel 1379

Montgomery

EDs 110-127, 143-157

Reel 1380

Montgomery, Montour, Northampton

Montgomery County EDs 158-165

Montour County

Northampton County EDs 54-69, 88, 89

Reel 1381

Northampton

EDs 70-87, 90-101, 104, 105

Reel 1382

Northampton, Northumberland

Northampton County EDs 102, 103, 106-129

Northumberland County EDs 60-63

Reel 1383

Northumberland

EDs 53-59, 64-67, 72-89

Reel 1384

Northumberland

EDs 68-71, 90-125

Reel 1385

Perry, Philadelphia

Perry County

Philadelphia County EDs 1-18

Reel 1386

Philadelphia

EDs 19-39, 79-85

Reel 1387

Philadelphia

EDs 40-54, 116-130

Reel 1388

Philadelphia

EDs 55-78, 131-149

Reel 1389

Philadelphia

EDs 86-115, 150-158, 249-257, 1224

Reel 1390

Philadelphia

EDs 159-197

Reel 1391

Philadelphia

EDs 198-241, 517

Reel 1392

Philadelphia

EDs 242-248, 258-290

Reel 1393

Philadelphia

EDs 291-332

Reel 1394

Philadelphia

EDs 333-377

Reel 1395

Philadelphia

EDs 378-421

Reel 1396

Philadelphia

EDs 422-463

Reel 1397

Philadelphia

EDs 464-510

Reel 1398

Philadelphia

EDs 511-516, 518-553

Reel 1399

Philadelphia

EDs 554-567, 669-696

Reel 1400

Philadelphia

EDs 568-583, 697-717

Reel 1401

Philadelphia

EDs 584-626

Reel 1402

Philadelphia

EDs 627-668

Reel 1403

Philadelphia

EDs 718-765

Reel 1404

Philadelphia

EDs 766-794, 850-862

Reel 1405

Philadelphia

EDs 795-831

Reel 1406

Philadelphia

EDs 832-849, 863-882

Reel 1407

Philadelphia

EDs 883-925

Reel 1408

Philadelphia

EDs 926-964

Reel 1409

Philadelphia

EDs 965-1006

Reel 1410

Philadelphia

EDs 1007-l048, 1051, 1052, 1221, 1225

Reel 1411

Philadelphia

EDs 1049, 1050, 1053-1092

Reel 1412

Philadelphia

EDs 1093-1140

Reel 1413

Philadelphia

EDs 1141-1145, 1163-1197

Reel 1414

Philadelphia

EDs 1146-1162, 1198-1220, 1222, 1223

Reel 1415

Pike, Potter, Snyder

Pike County

Potter County

Snyder County

Reel 1416

Schuylkill

EDs 1-26, 29-33

Reel 1417

Schuylkill

EDs 27, 28, 34-52, 55, 56, 60, 61, 83

Reel 1418

Schuylkill

EDs 53, 54, 57-59, 62-78, 94-101

Reel 1419

Schuylkill

EDs 79-82, 84-93, 102-113

Reel 1420

Somerset

EDs 126-162

Reel 1421

Somerset, Sullivan, Susquehanna

Somerset County EDs 163-170

Sullivan County

Susquehanna County EDs 57-78

Reel 1422

Susquehanna, Tioga

Susquehanna County EDs 79-89

Tioga County EDs 133-161, 165-169

Reel 1423

Tioga, Union, Venango

Tioga County EDs 162-164, 170, 171

Union County

Venango County EDs 104-125, 138, 139

Reel 1424

Venango, Warren

Venango County EDs 126-137, 140-148

Warren County EDs 149-173, 175, 176

Reel 1425

Warren, Washington

Warren County EDs 174, 177-184

Washington County EDs 159-182

Reel 1426

Washington

EDs 183-220

Reel 1427

Washington

EDs 221-255

Reel 1428

Wayne, Westmoreland

Wayne County

Westmoreland County EDs 102-115

Reel 1429

Westmoreland

EDs 116-141

Reel 1430

Westmoreland

EDs 142-155, 158, 160, 161, 170-176

Reel 1431

Westmoreland

EDs 156, 157, 159, 162-169, 177-190

Reel 1432

Westmoreland

EDs 191-216

Reel 1433

Wyoming, York

Wyoming County

York County EDs 34-66

Reel 1434

York

EDs 67-110, 113

Reel 1435

York

EDs 111, 112, 114-140