1860 Census
Objective: To locate a specific person who lived in Pennsylvania in 1860. In this example we are tracking Isaac Derstine, who lived in Eastern Pennsylvania and should have been counted during the Federal Population Census for Pennsylvania in 1860. We want to confirm this information and determine any other information about his family collected by the census enumerator in 1860.
1860 Census: Pennsylvania reel listing located at bottom of guide.
The Internet can be a valuable tool to aid in your Census search. There are many sites that provide information. Census Online contains over 44,000 links to US census records, census calculators, and census forms from 1790-1930. The microfilm information and the internet information can be used together to complete a search for an individual. Links to Internet sources have been inserted throughout this document that complement and, in some cases, replace the print indexes or the census microfilm. Please note that the microfilm constitutes the primary source and should be consulted for errors in transcription.
Please ASK the staff at Microforms & Government Information, 2nd floor Paterno Desk at any time for additional help or clarification about how to locate the sources or information.
The indexes for the Pennsylvania Census in 1860 are divided into 5 sections:
- Pittsburgh: Pennsylvania 1860 Pittsburgh, HA 605.465 1987
- Philadelphia: (This index is not available in Microforms & Government Information, 2nd floor Paterno, request via Interlibrary Loan)
- East: Pennsylvania 1860 East, HA605.P462 1987
- Central: Pennsylvania 1860 Central, HA605.P46 1986
- West: Pennsylvania 1860 West Census Index, HA605.P467 1987
Step 1: Begin in Microforms & Government Information, 2nd floor Paterno, and locate the book titled, Pennsylvania 1860 East (Call number: HA605.P462) in the Indexes and Guides Section.
Step 2: Locate the person you are searching in the Pennsylvania 1860 East. Names are listed in alphabetical order by last name. The index only includes the name of the head of Household and anyone within that same household who has a different surname. To follow along with our example, you will find DERSTINE, ISAAC listed on page 218. See Example 1 below.
Example 1: Showing the entry for Isaac Derstine in the Pennsylvania 1860 East
Step 3: Review the entry information provided for each name entry in the Pennsylvania 1860 East. We have highlighted in red the information for Derstine, Isaac in Example 1 above.
This includes:
- Column One: Last name, first name: Derstine, Isaac
- Column Two: County: Montgomery
- Column Three: Name of the State: PA
- Column Four: Original Page Number: 194
- Column Five: City, Area, Basin, Township: Franconia
- Column Six: Year the Census was taken: 1860
Visit US GenWeb Census Project to determine if any census information is recorded online for Isaac Derstine in 1860. This is an ongoing project with new data continuously being added [Note: for this example, as of 4/21/08, the census records for 1860 for Montgomery County are not available online, so it is necessary to view the Census data available on microfilm.]
Step 4: Before leaving the Pennsylvania 1860 East, write down the following information:
- Name (first and last)
- County
- The page on the microfilm (194, in this example).
Then, locate the 1860 Census: Pennsylvania on microfilm in Microforms & Government Information, 2nd floor Paterno, in the microfilm cabinets under the call number HA217.U5P4 1860 reels 1057 – 1201. The reels are arranged by call number in alphabetical order by county. The National Archives lists the contents for the 1860 Federal Population Census microfilm reels. This information has also been transcribed into a chart on the next to last page of this document.
If you need any help locating this call number in Microforms & Government Information, 2nd floor Paterno microfilm cabinets, please ASK the staff at the Reference Desk.
Step 5: For our example, to locate the original ledger entry for Isaac Derstine, find reel No. 1143 Volume 44 of the 1860 Census: Pennsylvania containing Franconia Township.
At this point you will need to use a microfilm reader/printer/scanner machine in Microforms & Government Information, 2nd floor Paterno ,to locate and read the entry for Isaac Derstine. Please ASK the staff at the Reference Desk for help if you are unfamiliar with the machines.
Step 6: Now, using our example, Isaac Derstine, you will need to find the original ledger page (194) by scrolling through the microfilm until you locate page 194. These ledger Page Numbers are typed on the top left hand side of the page. (See Example 2 below).
Example 2: Showing the location of the page number on the original page ledger.
Then, you will need to locate Isaac Derstine’s name on the ledger page.
Step 7: Review the information collection for Isaac Derstine in the 1860 census. (See example 4)
A blank 1860 census form can be printed to assist your collection of data from the microfilm.
In 1860, the following 14 columns of information were collected:
- Dwelling – houses numbered in the order of visitation
- Families – numbered in order of visitation
- The name of every person whose usual place of abode on the first day of June 1860 was in this family
- Description
- Age
- Sex
- Color
- Profession, occupation, or trade of each person, male or female, over 15 years of age
- Value of Estate Owned
- Value of Real Estate
- Value of Personal Estate
- Place of birth – naming the State, Territory, or Country
- Married within the year
- Attended school within the year
- Persons over the age of twenty years of age who cannot read and write
- Whether deaf and dumb, blind, insane, idiotic, pauper, or convict
Example 4: Copy of the original ledger page showing all of the information collected for Isaac Derstine.
Isaac Derstine was a 33 year old male who lived in Franconia Township in Montgomery County, PA. There were 5 people in his family including: Catherine Derstine (35 year old female), Salami Derstine (8 year old female), Sarah Derstine (6 year old female), and MaryAnn Derstine (2 year old female). We also know that the value of their real estate was $1,000 and the value of their personal estate was $300. And, Salami and Sarah Derstine have attended school within the last year.
| Reel No. | Names of Counties (Pennsylvania) | Note |
|---|---|---|
|
Reel 1057 |
Adams |
[Volume 1] pg. 1-644 |
|
Reel 1058 |
Allegheny (part) |
[Volume 2] pg. 1-428 City of Pittsburgh, wards 1-3 |
|
Reel 1059 |
Allegheny (part) |
[Volume 2] pg. 429-933 City of Pittsburgh, wards 4-6 |
|
Reel 1060 |
Allegheny (part) |
[Volume 3] pg. 265-575 City of Pittsburgh, ward 7-9 |
|
Reel 1061 |
Allegheny (part) |
[Volume 3] pg. 1-264 |
|
Reel 1062 |
Allegheny (part) |
[Volume 5] pg. 1-538 |
|
Reel 1063 |
Allegheny (part) |
[Volume 5] pg. 1-464 |
|
Reel 1064 |
Allegheny (part) |
[Volume 5] pg. 465-661 and 663-891 |
|
Reel 1065 |
Allegheny (part) |
[Volume 6] pg. 1-617 |
|
Reel 1066 |
Allegheny (part) |
[Volume 6] pg. 846-1109 |
|
Reel 1067 |
Allegheny (part) |
[Volume 4] pg. 539-815 [Volume 5] pg. 662 and 893-1108 City of Allegheny, wards 1-3 |
|
Reel 1068 |
Allegheny (part) |
[Volume 6] pg. 618-845 City of Allegheny, ward 4 |
|
Reel 1069 |
Armstrong (part) |
[Volume 3] pg. 577-754 and [Volume 7] pg. 1-430 |
|
Reel 1070 |
Armstrong County (part) |
[Volume 7] pg. 431-744 |
|
Reel 1071 |
Beaver County |
[Volume 8] pg. 1-750 |
|
Reel 1072 |
Bedford County |
[Volume 9] pg. 1-690 |
|
Reel 1073 |
Berks County (part) |
[Volume 10] pg. 1-350 |
|
Reel 1074 |
Berks County (part) |
[Volume 10] pg. 352-863 |
|
Reel 1075 |
Berks County (part) |
[Volume 11] pg. 1-431 |
|
Reel 1076 |
Berks County (part) |
[Volume 11] pg. 433-936 |
|
Reel 1077 |
Berks County (part) |
[Volume 10] pg. 864-1115 and [Volume 11] pg. 937-1270 City of Reading |
|
Reel 1078 |
Blair County |
[Volume 12] pg. 1-710 |
|
Reel 1079 |
Bradford County (part) |
[Volume 12] pg. 711-918 |
|
Reel 1080 |
Bradford County (part) |
[Volume 13] pg. 1-553 |
|
Reel 1081 |
Bradford County (part) |
[Volume 13] pg. 554-1059 |
|
Reel 1082 |
Bucks County (part) |
[Volume 14] pg. 1-428 |
|
Reel 1083 |
Bucks County (part) |
[Volume 14] pg. 429-828 |
|
Reel 1084 |
Bucks County (part) |
[Volume 15] pg. 1-412 |
|
Reel 1085 |
Bucks County (part) |
[Volume 15] pg. 413-786 |
|
Reel 1086 |
Butler County (part) |
[Volume 16] pg. 1-459 |
|
Reel 1087 |
Butler County (part) |
[Volume 16] pg. 459-915 |
|
Reel 1088 |
Cambria County |
[Volume 17] pg. 1-740 |
|
Reel 1089 |
Carbon County |
[Volume 17] pg. 741-1002 and [Volume 18] pg. 1-278 |
|
Reel 1090 |
Centre County |
[Volume 18] pg. 279-973 |
|
Reel 1091 |
Chester County (part) |
[Volume 19] pg. 1-326 |
|
Reel 1092 |
Chester County (part) |
[Volume 19] pg. 529-1043 |
|
Reel 1093 |
Chester County (part) |
[Volume 20] pg. 1-458 |
|
Reel 1094 |
Chester County (part) |
[Volume 20] pg. 459-872 |
|
Reel 1095 |
Clarion County |
[Volume 21] pg. 1-698 |
|
Reel 1096 |
Clearfield County |
[Volume 21] pg. 699-1186 |
|
Reel 1097 |
Clinton County |
[Volume 22] pg. 1-458 |
|
Reel 1098 |
Columbia County |
[Volume 22] pg. 459-1101 |
|
Reel 1099 |
Crawford County (part) |
[Volume 23] pg. 1-625 |
|
Reel 1100 |
Crawford County (part) |
[Volume 23] pg. 627-1244 |
|
Reel 1101 |
Cumberland (part) |
[Volume 24] pg. 1-504 |
|
Reel 1102 |
Cumberland (part) |
[Volume 24] pg. 505-1021 |
|
Reel 1103 |
Dauphin (part) |
[Volume 25] pg. 1-609 |
|
Reel 1104 |
Dauphin (part) |
[Volume 25] pg. 611-1188 |
|
Reel 1105 |
Delaware (part) |
[Volume 26] pg. 1-788 |
|
Reel 1106 |
Elk |
[Volume 26] pg. 790-841 |
|
Reel 1107 |
Erie (part) |
[Volume 27] pg. 1-614 |
|
Reel 1108 |
Erie (part) |
[Volume 27] pg. 615-1254 |
|
Reel 1109 |
Fayette (part) |
[Volume 28] pg. 1-282 |
|
Reel 1110 |
Fayette (part) and Forest Counties |
[Volume 28] pg. 282-521 |
|
Reel 1111 |
Franklin (part) |
[Volume 29] pg. 1-540 |
|
Reel 1112 |
Franklin (part) |
[Volume 29] pg. 541-1072 |
|
Reel 1113 |
Fulton |
[Volume 30] pg. 1-232 |
|
Reel 1114 |
Greene |
[Volume 30] pg. 233-858 |
|
Reel 1115 |
Huntingdon |
[Volume 31] pg. 1-736 |
|
Reel 1116 |
Indiana (part) |
[Volume 32] pg. 1-218 |
|
Reel 1117 |
Indiana (part) |
[Volume 32] pg. 218-435 |
|
Reel 1118 |
Jefferson |
[Volume 33] pg. 1-472 |
|
Reel 1119 |
Juniata |
[Volume 33] pg. 473-898 |
|
Reel 1120 |
Lancaster (part) |
[Volume 34] pg. 1-537 |
|
Reel 1121 |
Lancaster (part) |
[Volume 34] pg. 539-833 |
|
Reel 1122 |
Lancaster (part) |
[Volume 35] pg. 1-426 |
|
Reel 1123 |
Lancaster (part) |
[Volume 35] pg. 670-928 |
|
Reel 1124 |
Lancaster (part) |
[Volume 35A] pg. 1-486 |
|
Reel 1125 |
Lancaster (part) |
[Volume 35A] pg. 487-996 |
|
Reel 1126 |
Lancaster (part) |
[Volume 34] pg. 835-1035 and [Volume 35] pg. 429-669 City of Lancaster |
|
Reel 1127 |
Lawrence |
[Volume 36] pg. 1-593 |
|
Reel 1128 |
Lebanon (part) |
[Volume 37] pg. 1-398 |
|
Reel 1129 |
Lebanon (part) |
[Volume 37] pg. 399-813 |
|
Reel 1130 |
Lehigh (part) |
[Volume 38] pg. 1-519 |
|
Reel 1131 |
Lehigh (part) |
[Volume 38] pg. 521-1121 |
|
Reel 1132 |
Luzerne (part) |
[Volume 39] pg. 1-599 |
|
Reel 1133 |
Luzerne (part) |
[Volume 39] pg. 600-1131 |
|
Reel 1134 |
Luzerne (part) |
[Volume 40] pg. 1-545 |
|
Reel 1135 |
Luzerne (part) |
[Volume 40] pg. 547-1174 |
|
Reel 1136 |
Lycoming (part) |
[Volume 41] pg. 1-481 |
|
Reel 1137 |
Lycoming (part) |
[Volume 41] pg. 483-970 |
|
Reel 1138 |
McKean |
[Volume 36] pg. 595-824 |
|
Reel 1139 |
Mercer |
[Volume 42] pg. 1-477 |
|
Reel 1140 |
Mercer |
[Volume 42] pg. 478-948 |
|
Reel 1141 |
Mifflin |
[Volume 43] pg. 1-422 |
|
Reel 1142 |
Monroe |
[Volume 43] pg. 423-850 |
|
Reel 1143 |
Montgomery (part) |
[Volume 44] pg. 1-498 |
|
Reel 1144 |
Montgomery (part) |
[Volume 44] pg. 499-1037 |
|
Reel 1145 |
Montgomery (part) |
[Volume 45] pg. 1-764 |
|
Reel 1146 |
Montour |
[Volume 46] pg. 1-330 |
|
Reel 1147 |
Northampton |
[Volume 47] pg. 1-604 |
|
Reel 1148 |
Northampton |
[Volume 47] pg. 605-1216 |
|
Reel 1149 |
Northumberland |
[Volume 48] pg. 1-741 |
|
Reel 1150 |
Perry |
[Volume 46] pg. 331-921 |
|
Reel 1151 |
City of Philadelphia |
[Volume 49] pg. 1-778 Ward 1 |
|
Reel 1152 |
City of Philadelphia |
[Volume 50] pg. 1-732 Ward 2 |
|
Reel 1153 |
City of Philadelphia |
[Volume 51] pg. 1-502 Ward 3 |
|
Reel 1154 |
City of Philadelphia |
[Volume 51] pg. 503-1094 Ward 4 |
|
Reel 1155 |
City of Philadelphia |
[Volume 52] pg. 1-662 Ward 5 |
|
Reel 1156 |
City of Philadelphia |
[Volume 52] pg. 623-987 Ward 6 |
|
Reel 1157 |
City of Philadelphia |
[Volume 53] pg. 1-786 Ward 7 |
|
Reel 1158 |
City of Philadelphia |
[Volume 54] pg. 1-697 Ward 8 |
|
Reel 1159 |
City of Philadelphia |
[Volume 55] pg. 1-434 Ward 9 |
|
Reel 1160 |
City of Philadelphia |
[Volume 55] pg. 435-985 Ward 10 |
|
Reel 1161 |
City of Philadelphia |
[Volume 54] pg. 699-1130 Ward 11 |
|
Reel 1162 |
City of Philadelphia |
[Volume 56] pg. 1-420 Ward 12 |
|
Reel 1163 |
City of Philadelphia |
[Volume 56] pg. 421-924 Ward 13 |
|
Reel 1164 |
City of Philadelphia |
[Volume 58] pg. 1-612 Ward 14 |
|
Reel 1165 |
City of Philadelphia |
[Volume 57] pg. 1-813 Ward 15 |
|
Reel 1166 |
City of Philadelphia |
[Volume 59] pg. 1-502 Ward 16 |
|
Reel 1167 |
City of Philadelphia |
[Volume 59] pg. 503-1088 Ward 17 |
|
Reel 1168 |
City of Philadelphia |
[Volume 60] pg. 1-512 Ward 18 |
|
Reel 1169 |
City of Philadelphia |
[Volume 61] pg. 1-470 Ward 19 (part) |
|
Reel 1170 |
City of Philadelphia |
[Volume 61] pg. 471-982 Ward 19 (part) |
|
Reel 1171 |
City of Philadelphia |
[Volume 62] pg. 1-754 Ward 20 |
|
Reel 1172 |
City of Philadelphia |
[Volume 58] pg. 613-1043 Ward 21 |
|
Reel 1173 |
City of Philadelphia |
[Volume 63] pg. 1-438 Ward 22 |
|
Reel 1174 |
City of Philadelphia |
[Volume 63] pg. 439-1047 Ward 23 |
|
Reel 1175 |
City of Philadelphia |
[Volume 60] pg. 513-1114 Ward 24 |
|
Reel 1176 |
Pike County |
[Volume 48] pg. 742-934 |
|
Reel 1177 |
Potter |
[Volume 64] pg. 1-294 |
|
Reel 1178 |
Schuylkill (part) |
[Volume 65] pg. 1-516 |
|
Reel 1179 |
Schuylkill (part) |
[Volume 65] pg. 517-1013 |
|
Reel 1180 |
Schuylkill (part) |
[Volume 66] pg. 1-660 |
|
Reel 1181 |
Schuylkill (part) |
[Volume 66] pg. 661-1278 |
|
Reel 1182 |
Snyder |
[Volume 64] pg. 295-676 |
|
Reel 1183 |
Somerset |
[Volume 67] pg. 1-680 |
|
Reel 1184 |
Sullivan |
[Volume 64] pg. 677-825 |
|
Reel 1185 |
Susquehanna (part) |
[Volume 68] pg. 1-476 |
|
Reel 1186 |
Susquehanna (part) |
[Volume 68] pg. 476-929 |
|
Reel 1187 |
Tioga |
[Volume 69] pg. 1-798 |
|
Reel 1188 |
Union |
[Volume 67] pg. 681-1054 |
|
Reel 1189 |
Venango |
[Volume 70] pg. 1-647 |
|
Reel 1190 |
Warren |
[Volume 70] pg. 649-1147 |
|
Reel 1191 |
Washington (part) |
[Volume 71] pg. 1-570 |
|
Reel 1192 |
Washington (part) |
[Volume 71] pg. 571-1210 |
|
Reel 1193 |
Wayne (part) |
[Volume 72] pg. 1-429 |
|
Reel 1194 |
Wayne (part) |
[Volume 72] pg. 430-825 |
|
Reel 1195 |
Westmoreland (part) |
[Volume 72] pg. 826-935 and [Volume 73] pg. 1-638 |
|
Reel 1196 |
Westmoreland (part) |
[Volume 73] pg. 639-1264 |
|
Reel 1197 |
Wyoming |
[Volume 74] pg. 1-336 |
|
Reel 1198 |
York (part) |
[Volume 74] pg. 337-721 |
|
Reel 1199 |
York (part) |
[Volume 74] pg. 723-1135 |
|
Reel 1200 |
York (part) |
[Volume 75] pg. 1-461 |
|
Reel 1201 |
York (part) |
[Volume 75] pg. 463-944 |