1900 Census
Objective: To locate a specific person who lived in Pennsylvania in 1900. In this example we are tracking Julia A. Kelly, who lived in Pennsylvania and should have been counted during the Federal Population Census for Pennsylvania in 1900 Census. We want to confirm this information and determine any other information about her family collected by the census enumerator in 1900.
1900 Census: Pennsylvania reel listing located at bottom of guide.
The Internet can be a valuable tool to aid in your Census search. There are many sites that provide information. Census Online contains over 44,000 links to US census records, census calculators, and census forms from 1790-1930. The microfilm information and the internet information can be used together to complete a search for an individual. Links to Internet sources have been inserted throughout this document that complement and, in some cases, replace the print indexes or the census microfilm. Please note that the microfilm constitutes the primary source and should be consulted for errors in transcription. A blank 1900 US Census form is located at the end.
Please ASK the staff at Microforms & Government Information, 2nd floor Paterno Desk at any time for additional help or clarification about how to locate the sources or information.
In indexing the 1900 census, the Soundex Code was used. The Soundex Code is a phonetic algorithm for indexing names by the way they sound instead of the way they are spelled. Soundex can help find a surname in the census documents even though it may have been recorded under various spellings. For example, Smith, Smithe, and Smyth all have the same Soundex Code of S-530.
Step 1: Begin by finding the Soundex Code for the name of the person you are trying to locate. Visit Soundex Converter Calculator [Ancestor Search] to identify the Soundex code. For information about how Soundex codes are calculated, see the National Archives, "The Soundex Indexing System."
Soundex Codes are also available in the book titled, Federal Population Censuses. 1790-1890 (call number HA37.U548 F44 1976) in the Indexes and Guides Section of Microforms & Government Information, 2nd floor Paterno, and follow the instructions on page 90.
Both the print index and Eastman’s site provide the Soundex Code (K-400) for Julia A. Kelly.
Step 2: Determine which microfilm reel contains the Index (Soundex) for the person you are researching. In Microforms & Government Information, 2nd floor Paterno, the microfilm reels for the Index (Soundex) to the 12th census, 1900: PA are located at HA216.P4 1900 (Reels 1-590.) The Soundex Code is listed on the outside of the reel boxes. In many instances, there will be more than one reel for a specific Soundex Code. In these cases, you will find the Soundex Code with a range of first names listed. (Reel 279 contains the Soundex Index for K400 Della thru K400 Lymen L.)
Alternatively, a list of the Index (Soundex) for Pennsylvania in 1900 can be accessed online at the National Archives. Scrolling through the list will indicate: 279. K400 Della—K-400 Lymen L.
At this point you will need to use a microfilm reader/printer/scanner in Microforms & Government Information, 2nd floor Paterno, to locate and read the Index (Soundex) for Julia A. Kelly. Please ASK the staff at the Reference Desk for help if you are unfamiliar with the machines. You can also view the PA Soundex online at Internet Archive.
Step 3: Locate the person you are researching in the Index (Soundex). For our example, locate K400 initially, and then scroll the first names which are in alphabetical order until you find Kelly, Julia A. There may be more than one person with the same name, at which point you will need to review the information presented until you confirm that you have the person that you are looking for. For our example, Julia A. Kelly, was a 76 year old female who lived in Butler County. See example 1.
Example 1: The Index (Soundex) for Julia A. Kelly.
From the Index (Soundex) we know the following: Julia A. Kelly was a 76 year old white female. She was born in Pennsylvania in Feb. 1824 and she lived in Butler County, PA. She lived with her son, William P. Kelly who was born Nov. 1870 in Missouri and was 29 at the time of the Census.
With the additional information from the Index (Soundex), visit US GenWeb Census Project to determine if any census information is recorded online for Julia A. Kelly. This is an ongoing project with new data continuously being added [Note: If the census records for 1900 for Butler County are not available online, it is necessary to use the Census data available on microfilm.]
Step 4: In cases where the complete Census information is not available online, the original ledger entry can be viewed through the microfilm at Microforms & Government Information, 2nd floor Paterno. To do this, be sure to write down the following information from the Index (Soundex):
- Head of Family: Kelly, Julia A.
- County: Butler
- Volume: 49
- E.D. (Enumeration District): 59
- Sheet (page number): 5
- Line: 33
If you need any help locating the microfilm in Microforms & Government Information, 2nd floor Paterno, please ASK the staff at the Reference Desk.
Step 5: Locate the 1900 Census: Pennsylvania on microfilm in Microforms & Government Information, 2nd floor Paterno, in the microfilm cabinets under the call number HA217.U5PA 1900 (reels 1354 – 1503).
The reels are arranged by call number in alphabetical order by county. Many counties take up more than one roll of microfilm, in these cases it is necessary to have the E.D. (Enumeration District) information, which you wrote down from the Index (Soundex) above, so you can determine which roll has the person you are researching.
Reel #1386 is labeled ED 37 sheets 12-end ED 50-69 Bucks County & Butler (in part). The National Archives lists the contents, including enumeration district, for the 1900 Federal Population Census microfilm reels. This information has also been transcribed at the end of this document.
At this point you will need to use a microfilm reader/printer/scanner machine in Microforms & Government Information, 2nd floor Paterno, to locate and read the entry for Julia A. Kelly. Please ASK the staff at the Reference Desk for help if you are unfamiliar with the machines.
Step 6: Now, using our example, Julia A. Kelly, you will need to find Butler County, and then scroll through to Enumeration District 59. Julia A. Kelly is listed on page 5, line 33. See example 2.
Example 2: Showing the enumeration district and page number.
Then, you will need to locate Julia A. Kelly’s name on the ledger page.
Names of individuals are not in alphabetical order on the ledger page. However, the index noted that Julia Kelly would be listed on line 33. Read the page carefully to locate Julia A. Kelly’s name. The 19th Century script and the microfilm quality can sometimes present interesting challenges for the researcher!
Example 3: Showing Julia A. Kelly’s information on the original ledger page.
Step 7: Review the information collection for Julia A. Kelly in the 1900 census. See example 3. A blank 1900 census form can be viewed and printed to assist your collection of data from the microfilm. A blank form has been provided at the end of this document as well.
In 1900, the following 28 columns of information were collected:
- Number of Dwelling Home, in the order of visitation
- Number of Family, in the order of visitation
- The name of every person whose usual place of abode on June 1, 1900 was in this family
- Relation – relationship of each person to the head of the family
- Color or Race
- Sex
- Date of Birth (month/Year)
- Age at last birthday
- Whether single, married, widowed, divorced
- Number of years married
- Mother of how many children
- Number of these children living
- Nativity – place of birth of each person and parents of each person enumerated. If born in US, give State or Territory, if of foreign birth, give Country only.
- Place of birth of this person
- Place of birth of Father of this person
- Place of birth of Mother of this person
- Citizenship
- Year of Immigration to the United States
- Number of years in the United States
- Naturalization
- Occupation, trade, or profession of each person ten years of age and over
- Occupation
- Months not employed
- Education
- Attended School (in months)
- Can Read
- Can Write
- Can Speak English
- Ownership of Home
- Owned or Rented
- Owned Free or Mortgaged
- Farm or House
- Number of farm schedule
Referencing the original ledger page we now get additional information including the following: Julia A Kelly was widowed. Her parents were both born in Pennsylvania. She was the mother of ten children. Seven of her children were alive at the time of the census. Her son, William had been employed the entire year and both of his parents had been born in Pennsylvania. Julia and William could read, write, and speak English.
1900 Census: Pennsylvania (Reels 1354 - 1502)
| Reel No. | Names of Counties (Pennsylvania) | Note |
|---|---|---|
Reel 1354 |
Adams, Allegheny, City of Allegheny |
EDs 1--9 and ED 10, sheet 1 |
Reel 1355 |
City of Allegheny |
ED 10, sheet 4--end, and EDs 11--41, 540, 42--49 |
Reel 1356 |
City of Allegheny |
EDs 50--76, 539, 77--79 |
Reel 1357 |
City of Allegheny, City of Pittsburgh |
EDs 80--101) and City of Pittsburgh (part: EDs 102--111 |
Reel 1358 |
City of Pittsburgh |
EDs 545,112--17, 549, 118--127, 546, 128--135 |
Reel 1359 |
City of Pittsburgh |
EDs 136--166 and ED 167, sheets 1--14 |
Reel 1360 |
City of Pittsburgh |
ED 167, sheet 15--end, and EDs 168--186, 550 [Allegheny Arsenal], 187--198 |
Reel 1361 |
City of Pittsburgh |
EDs 199--231 and ED 232, sheets 1--4 |
Reel 1362 |
City of Pittsburgh |
ED 232, sheet 5--end, and EDs 233--263 |
Reel 1363 |
City of Pittsburgh |
EDs 264--292 and ED 293, sheets 1--17 |
Reel 1364 |
City of Pittsburgh |
ED 293, sheet 18--end, and EDs 294--322 |
Reel 1365 |
City of Pittsburgh, Allegheny County |
333--336, 543, 544, 337--347, and ED 348, sheets 1--14 |
Reel 1366 |
Allegheny |
ED 348, sheet 15--end, and EDs 349--362, 548, 363--373, 542, 374 |
Reel 1367 |
Allegheny |
EDs 375—394 |
Reel 1368 |
Allegheny |
EDs 395--409, 541, 410--429 |
Reel 1369 |
Allegheny |
EDs 430--454 and ED 455, sheets 1--8 |
Reel 1370 |
Allegheny |
ED 455, sheet 9--end, and EDs 456--482 |
Reel 1371 |
Allegheny |
EDs 483--501, 547, 502--516 |
Reel 1372 |
Allegheny, Armstrong |
Allegheny County ED 517--end Armstrong County EDs 1--2 and ED 3, sheets 1--7 |
Reel 1373 |
Armstrong |
ED 3, sheet 8--end |
Reel 1374 |
Beaver |
EDs 1--35 |
Reel 1375 |
Beaver, Bedford |
Beaver County ED 36--end Bedford County EDs 1--16 |
Reel 1376 |
Bedford, Berks |
Bedford County ED 36--end Berks County EDs 1--5, 227, 6--13, 228, 14--20 |
Reel 1377 |
Berks |
EDs 21--30, 229, 31--47, and ED 48, sheets 1--8 |
Reel 1378 |
Berks |
ED 48, sheet 9--end, and EDs 49--80 |
Reel 1379 |
Berks |
EDs 81--101, 226, 102—110 |
Reel 1380 |
Berks, Blair |
Berks County 111--end Blair County EDs 35--57 |
Reel 1381 |
Blair |
EDs 58--87 and ED 88, sheets 1--4 |
Reel 1382 |
Blair, Bradford |
Blair County ED 88, sheet 5--end Bradford County EDs 1--29 |
Reel 1383 |
Bradford |
ED 30—end |
Reel 1384 |
Bucks |
EDs 1--4, 288, 5—15 |
Reel 1385 |
Bucks |
EDs 16--36 and ED 37, sheets 1--11 |
Reel 1386 |
Bucks, Butler |
Butler County ED 37, sheet 12--end, and EDs 38--45, 298, 46--48 Butler County EDs 50--62, 175, 63,n>69 |
Reel 1387 |
Butler, Cambria |
Butler County ED 70--end Cambria County EDs 98--101 and ED 102, sheets 1--19 |
Reel 1388 |
Cambria |
ED 102, sheet 20--end, and EDs 103--125 |
Reel 1389 |
Cambria |
ED 126—end |
Reel 1390 |
Cameron, Carbon |
Cameron County Carbon County EDs 14--16 and ED 17, sheets 1--20 |
Reel 1391 |
Carbon, Centre |
Carbon County ED 17, sheet 21--end Centre County EDs 1—21 |
Reel 1392 |
Centre, Chester |
Centre County ED 22--end Chester County EDs 50--65, 289, 66--75 |
Reel 1393 |
Chester |
EDs 76--115, 290, 116 |
Reel 1394 |
Chester, Clarion |
Chester County ED 117--123, 291, 124--131, 292, 132--136 Clarion County EDs 1--8 and ED 9, sheet 1 |
Reel 1395 |
Clarion, Clearfield |
Clarion County ED 9, sheet 2--end Clearfield County EDs 44—63 |
Reel 1396 |
Clearfield |
EDs 64--90 and ED 91, sheets 117 |
Reel 1397 |
Clearfield, Clinton |
Clearfield County ED 91, sheet 18—end Clinton County |
Reel 1398 |
Columbia |
Columbia |
Reel 1399 |
Crawford |
EDs 1—40 |
Reel 1400 |
Crawford, Cumberland |
Crawford County ED 41--end Cumberland County EDs 1--16 |
Reel 1401 |
Cumberland, Dauphin |
Cumberland County ED 17--23, 167, 24--32 Dauphin County EDs 33--43 and ED 44, sheets 1-3 |
Reel 1402 |
Dauphin |
ED 44, sheet 4--end, and EDs 45--49, 169, 50--76 |
Reel 1403 |
Dauphin |
EDs 77--104 and ED 105, sheets 1--9 |
Reel 1404 |
Dauphin, Delaware |
Dauphin County EDs 105--end Delaware County EDs 137--155 |
Reel 1405 |
Delaware |
EDs 156--174, 293, 175--178, and ED 179, sheets 1--17 |
Reel 1406 |
Delaware, Elk |
Delaware County ED 179, sheet 18--end Elk County EDs 29--40, sheet 2 |
Reel 1407 |
Elk, Erie |
Elk County ED 40, sheet 3--end Erie County EDs 59--72, 169, 73--76 |
Reel 1408 |
Erie |
EDs 77—110 |
Reel 1409 |
Erie, Fayette |
Erie County ED 111--end Fayette County EDs 1—7 and ED 8, sheets 1--10 |
Reel 1410 |
Fayette |
ED 8, sheet 11--end, and EDs 9-34 |
Reel 1411 |
Fayette |
ED 35—end |
Reel 1412 |
Forest, Fulton, Franklin |
Forest County Fulton County Franklin County EDs 30—45 |
Reel 1413 |
Franklin, Greene |
Franklin County ED 46--end Greene County EDs 75--92 and ED 93, sheets 1--5 |
Reel 1414 |
Greene, Huntingdon |
Greene County ED 93, sheet 6--end Huntingdon County |
Reel 1415 |
Indiana |
EDs 37—61 |
Reel 1416 |
Indiana, Jefferson |
Indiana County ED 62--end Jefferson County EDs 53--73 |
Reel 1417 |
Jefferson, Juniata |
Jefferson County ED 74—end Juniata County |
Reel 1418 |
Lackawanna |
EDs 1--21 and ED 22, sheets 1-15 |
Reel 1419 |
Lackawanna, City of Scranton |
Lackawanna County ED 22, sheet 16--end, and EDs 23--34, 152, 35--42 City of Scranton EDs 43—45 |
Reel 1420 |
City of Scranton |
EDs 46—74, and ED 75 |
Reel 1421 |
City of Scranton |
EDs 76--106 |
Reel 1422 |
City of Scranton, Lancaster
|
City of Scranton ED 107--end Lancaster County EDs 1--10 and ED 11, sheets 1--8 |
Reel 1423 |
Lancaster |
ED 11, sheet 9--end, and EDs 12--46, 206, 47--49 |
Reel 1424 |
Lancaster |
EDs 50--76, 205, 77—79 |
Reel 1425 |
Lancaster |
EDs 80--111 and ED 112, sheets 1--6 |
Reel 1426 |
Lancaster, Lawrence |
Lancaster County ED 112, sheet 7--end Lawrence County EDs 93—106 |
Reel 1427 |
Lawrence, Lebanon |
Beginning of Lebanon County EDs 112--121 and ED 122, sheets 1--3 |
Reel 1428 |
Lebanon |
ED 122, sheet 4—end |
Reel 1429 |
Lehigh |
EDs 30--52, 153, 53—73 |
Reel 1430 |
Lehigh, Luzerne |
Lehigh County ED 74--end Luzerne County EDs 31--36 and ED 37, sheets 115 |
Reel 1431 |
Luzerne |
ED 37, sheet 16--end, and EDs 38--61 |
Reel 1432 |
Luzerne |
EDs 62--80 and ED 81, sheets 1-6 |
Reel 1433 |
Luzerne |
ED 81, sheet 7--end, and EDs 82--110 |
Reel 1434 |
Luzerne |
EDs 111--135, sheet 7 |
Reel 1435 |
Luzerne |
ED 135, sheet 8--end, EDs 136- 151, and ED 152, sheets 1--3 |
Reel 1436 |
Luzerne |
ED 152, sheet 4—end |
Reel 1437 |
Lycoming |
EDs 33--63 and ED 64, sheet 1 |
Reel 1438 |
Lycoming |
ED 64, sheet 2—end |
Reel 1439 |
McKean |
McKean |
Reel 1440 |
Mercer |
EDs 126--154 and ED 155, sheets 1-2 |
Reel 1441 |
Mercer, Mifflin |
Mercer County ED 155, sheet 3--end Mifflin County |
Reel 1442 |
Monroe, Montgomery |
Monroe County Montgomery County EDs 195—209 |
Reel 1443 |
Montgomery |
EDs 210--215, 295, 216--238, and ED 239, sheets 1--11 |
Reel 1444 |
Montgomery |
ED 239, sheet 12--end, and EDs 240--268 |
Reel 1445 |
Montgomery, Montour |
Montgomery County ED 269—end Montour County |
Reel 1446 |
Northampton |
EDs 94—108 |
Reel 1447 |
Northampton |
EDs 109--128, 155, 129--136 |
Reel 1448 |
Northampton, Northumberland |
Northampton County ED 137--145, 154, 146--152 Northumberland County EDs 114--120 and ED 121, sheets 1--3 |
Reel 1449 |
Northumberland |
ED 121, sheet 4--end, and EDs 122--150 |
Reel 1450 |
Northumberland, Perry |
Northumberland County ED 151--end Perry County EDs 147--154, 168, and ED 155, sheet 1 |
Reel 1451 |
Perry. City of Philadelphia
|
Perry County ED 155, sheet 2--end City of Philadelphia EDs 1- -24 |
Reel 1452 |
City of Philadelphia |
EDs 25--55 and ED 56, sheets 1--6 |
Reel 1453 |
City of Philadelphia |
ED 56, sheet 7--end, and EDs 57--84 |
Reel 1454 |
City of Philadelphia |
EDs 85--118, 1045, 119--122, 1041, 123--128, and ED 129, sheets 1--2 |
Reel 1455 |
City of Philadelphia |
ED 129, sheet 3--end, and EDs 130--177 |
Reel 1456 |
City of Philadelphia |
EDs 178--218 and ED 219, sheets 1--7 |
Reel 1457 |
City of Philadelphia |
ED 219, sheet 8--end, and EDs 220--262 |
Reel 1458 |
City of Philadelphia |
EDs 263--301 and ED 302, sheets 1--4 |
Reel 1459 |
City of Philadelphia |
ED 302, sheet 5--end, and EDs 303--346 |
Reel 1460 |
City of Philadelphia |
EDs 347--393 |
Reel 1461 |
City of Philadelphia |
EDs 394--417 |
Reel 1462 |
City of Philadelphia |
EDs 418--456 and ED 457, sheets 1--7 |
Reel 1463 |
City of Philadelphia |
ED 457, sheet 8--end, and EDs 458--489 |
Reel 1464 |
City of Philadelphia |
EDs 490--507, 1043, 508--512, 1039, 1054, 513, 514, 1051, 515--517, and ED 518, sheets 1--2 |
Reel 1465 |
City of Philadelphia |
ED 518, sheet 3--end, and EDs 519--538, 1055, 539--551 |
Reel 1466 |
City of Philadelphia |
EDs 552--584 and ED 585, sheets 1--10 |
Reel 1467 |
City of Philadelphia |
ED 585, sheet 11--end, and EDs 586--614 |
Reel 1468 |
City of Philadelphia |
EDs 615--648 and ED 649, sheets 1--16 |
Reel 1469 |
City of Philadelphia |
ED 649, sheet 17--end, and EDs 650--679 |
Reel 1470 |
City of Philadelphia |
EDs 680--684, 1044, 685--703, 1047, 704--710, and ED 711, sheets 1--3 |
Reel 1471 |
City of Philadelphia |
ED 711, sheet 4--end, and EDs 712--717, 1042, 1046, 1050, 718--745 |
Reel 1472 |
City of Philadelphia |
EDs 746--779 and ED 780, sheets 1--6 |
Reel 1473 |
City of Philadelphia |
ED 780, sheet 7--end, and EDs 781--815 |
Reel 1474 |
City of Philadelphia |
EDs 816--846 and ED 847, sheets 1--4 |
Reel 1475 |
City of Philadelphia |
ED 847, sheet 5--end, and EDs 848--874 |
Reel 1476 |
City of Philadelphia |
EDs 875--901, 1049, 902--904 |
Reel 1477 |
City of Philadelphia |
EDs 905--914, 1038, 915--936 |
Reel 1478 |
City of Philadelphia |
EDs 937--956 |
Reel 1479 |
City of Philadelphia |
EDs 957--996 |
Reel 1480 |
City of Philadelphia |
EDs 997--1020, 1052, 1021--1024, 1050 [Fort Mifflin], 1025, 1026, and ED 1027, sheets 1--2 |
Reel 1481 |
City of Philadelphia, Pike, Snyder |
ED 1027, sheet 3--end, and EDs 1028--1032, 1040, 1033--1037) Pike County Snyder Counties |
Reel 1482 |
Potter, Schuylkill |
EDs 121--126 and ED 127, sheets 1--18 |
Reel 1483 |
Schuylkill |
ED 127, sheet 19--end, and EDs 128--155 |
Reel 1484 |
Schuylkill |
EDs 156--176, 231, 177--181, and ED 182, sheets 1--6 |
Reel 1485 |
Schuylkill |
ED 182, sheet 7--end, and EDs 183--189, 230, 190--208 |
Reel 1486 |
Schuylkill, Somerset |
Schuylkill County ED 209--end Somerset County EDs 162—180 |
Reel 1487 |
Somerset, Sullivan |
Somerset County ED 181--end Sullivan County EDs 60--67 and ED 68, sheets 1--3 |
Reel 1488 |
Sullivan, Union, Susquehanna |
Sullivan County ED 68, sheet 4--end Union County Susquehanna County EDs 72—89 |
Reel 1489 |
Susquehanna, Tioga |
Susquehanna County ED 90, 150, 91--107 Tioga County EDs 122—139 |
Reel 1490 |
Tioga, Venango |
Tioga County ED 140--end Venango County EDs 132--141 and ED 142, sheets 1--11 |
Reel 1491 |
Venango |
ED 142, sheet 12--end, and EDs 143--147, 170, 148--168 |
Reel 1492 |
Warren |
Warren County |
Reel 1493 |
Washington |
EDs 108--128, 181, 129--139, and ED 140, sheets 1--7 |
Reel 1494 |
Washington |
ED 140, sheet 8--end, EDs 41--172, and ED 173, sheets 1--21 |
Reel 1495 |
Washington, Wayne |
Washington County ED 173, sheet 22—end Wayne County |
Reel 1496 |
Westmoreland |
EDs 70--72, 147, 73--78, 148, 79, 80 |
Reel 1497 |
Westmoreland |
EDs 81--103 and ED 104, sheets 1--17 |
Reel 1498 |
Westmoreland |
ED 104, sheet 18--end, and EDs 105--122 |
Reel 1499 |
Westmoreland |
ED 123--139, 146, 140--145 |
Reel 1500 |
Wyoming, York |
EDs 125--132 and ED 133, sheets 1--10 |
Reel 1501 |
York |
ED 133, sheet 11--end, EDs 134-- 161, and ED 162, sheets 1--4 |
Reel 1502 |
York |
ED 162, sheet 5--end, and EDs 163--188 |
Reel 1503 |
York |
ED 189--194, 207, 195--204 |
