A collection of more than 75,000 documents, consisting of more than 465,000 pages, that covers post-WWII to the late 1970s
The Declassified Documents Reference System provides online access to over 500,000 pages of previously classified government documents. Covering major international events from the Cold War to the Vietnam War and beyond, this single source enables users to locate key information underpinning studies in international relations, American studies, United States foreign and domestic policy studies, journalism and more.
Declassified records documenting historic U.S. policy decisions.
DNSA is a full-text, online resource providing coverage of more than 104,000 curated primary source documents culled from the collections of the National Security Archive. There are 49 complete collections such as the Cuban Missle Crisis, death squads in Guatemala, US relations with Iran and Iraq, Afghanistan, and terrorism policy.
Comprehensive collection of documents produced by, and for, Congress, including Congressional hearings, bills and laws, and debates in Congress.
Congressional provides access to the best web resources for congressional and legislative information. This includes services available to Penn State Users only, such as Congressional Universe (1789-to date) as well as other free services that provide similar or related information such as Thomas (1993-to date) and GPO Access (1993-to date). The Guided Tour provides a step-by-step approach to congressional and legislative information for users who have never done research of this type before. Updates:Continuous
Documents produced by the British Parliament and debates in Parliament.
Contains documents produced by the British Parliament, including Bills, committee reports, and reports submitted to Parliament. As the working documents of government, the parliamentary papers encompass all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy, showing how issues were explored and legislation was formed. The collection includes the Official Report of debates in Parliament, from both the House of Commons and House of Lords, supplemented by official histories and proceedings. Navigating ProQuest with JAWS
Papers generated by the British Foreign and Colonial Offices. These include letters , telegrams, investigative reports and texts of treaties.
The Confidential Print series was issued by the British Government between c. 1820 and 1970. The series originated out of a need to preserve the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. These range from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties. All items marked ‘Confidential Print’ were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet and to heads of British missions abroad. This collection consists of the Confidential Print for the countries of the Levant and the Arabian peninsula, Iran, Turkey, Egypt and Sudan. Beginning with the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the 1830s, the documents trace the events of the following 150 years, including the Middle East Conference of 1921, the mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia, the partition of Palestine, the 1956 Suez Crisis and post-Suez Western foreign policy, and the Arab-Israeli conflict.
Original reports, and political analysis from British diplomatic officials
This collection addresses the policies, economies, political relationships and significant events of every major Middle East power. Conflicts such as the Arab-Israeli War, the Lebanese Civil War and the Iranian Revolution are examined in detail, as are the military interventions and peace negotiations carried out by regional and foreign powers like the United States and Russia. Commercial interests are also scrutinised, with in-depth analyses of Middle East nations’ economic stability and reviews of international arm sales policies. The activities of oil producing nations such as Saudi Arabia are closely monitored, with particular reference to the Gulf States and members of OPEC. Utilising the significant collection of diplomatic correspondence, minutes, reports, political summaries and personality profiles, students and researchers can explore a decade characterised by conflict.
Source material from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers
Arab-Israeli Relations 1917-1970 offers a range of original source material from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-1.
Original source material from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers.
Iraq 1914-1974, offers a broad range of original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers covering the period from the Anglo-Indian landing in Basra in 1914 through the British Mandate in Iraq of 1920-32 to the rise of Saddam Hussein in 1974. Here major policy statements and other working documents are set out in context, the minor documents and marginalia revealing the workings of the mandate administration, diplomacy, treaties, oil and arms dealing. Photographs and colour maps, as well as contemporary film, help bring this vital strand of modern history to life. Topics covered include:The British administration in Baghdad Gertrude Bell, advisor to the British administration, in both reports and memos *The Arab Uprising of 1920 *The Cold War and Soviet intervention in Iraq *Kurdish unrest and the war in Kurdistan *Oil concessions and oil exploration *The Rise of Ba'athism and Saddam Hussein *Iran-Iraq relations