The standard resource for scholarly journals in historical studies.
Search for articles and other publications on world history from 1450 to present, (except for the United States and Canada which are indexed in the companion work, America: History and Life). The database includes articles in journals worldwide, including a selection of major social science and humanities journals. Also included are references to dissertations and books. App information
Annual publication. Penn State has since 1906.
Call # Z7835.M6 L6, Arts and Humanities Reference, 2nd Floor Pattee Library
The primary scholarly index in the field. Covers publications appearing in English, European and Turkish language sources in all subject areas (Art, Music, Politics, etc…)
Index Islamicus is an international bibliography of publications in European languages covering all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world, including history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages, and literature. The database includes material published by Western orientalists, social scientists and Muslims and contains indexing for 3,470 titles with coverage dating back to 1906. Index Islamicus is produced by Brill Academic Publishers. App information
Use to find articles on Jewish history, activity, and thought.
Index to Jewish Periodicals is the definitive index on Jewish history, activity and thought. This database provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Index to Jewish Periodicals is intended for students of Jewish thought and others interested in contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern affairs. Journal coverage dates back as far as 1988. App information
E-Journals including:British Journal of Middle Eastern Studies / Bulletin -- British Society of Middle Eastern Studies / International Journal of Middle East Studies / Journal of Palestine Studies / MERIP Middle East Report / Middle East Report
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that provides a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and a selection of scholarly books. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. While indexing for JSTOR articles is covered in LionSearch, the full text of the articles is not searched in LionSearch. Search JSTOR itself to ensure detailed coverage of full texts.
E-Journals including: Israel Studies / Journal of Early Christian Studies / Journal of Middle East Women's Studies (JMEWS) /
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers. MUSE began in 1993 as a pioneering joint project of the Johns Hopkins University Press and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at JHU. Grants from the Mellon Foundation and the National Endowment for the Humanities allowed MUSE to go live with JHU Press journals in 1995. Journals from other publishers were first incorporated in 2000, with additional university press and scholarly society publishers joining in each subsequent year.
Use to discover news sources by time period, location, language, and other criteria
The University Libraries provide access to many newspaper titles in print, electronic, and microfilm formats. Use NewsFinder to locate newspapers in any format and location within the University Libraries collections.
A collection of English language news sources, including some publications from the Middle East. Select the "World Regions" option to filter results to sources from the Middle East.
The electronic editions of record for local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources -- all in one easy-to-search database with a world map. Each provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community, as well as a distinctive focus offering a variety of viewpoints on local and world issues. Also includes limited streaming video.
A full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Most titles go back to the 1990's. You can limit a search to Arab-American or Middle Eastern publications.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ENW) is a comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Continuously growing since 1991, with archival material back to 1985, Ethnic NewsWatch is now a collection of more than 470,000 full-text articles from over 200 publications. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages and more than 100,000 articles in Spanish, ENW offers in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and retrospective topics easily accessed using free text and fielded searching. An average of 7,500 new articles is added each month.
Contains full-text of news sources. For publications from the Middle East select "World News".
Scholarly e-Journals include: Ahfad Journal / Journal of Islamic Law & Culture / Middle East Quarterly / UCLA Journal of Islamic and Near Eastern Law
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Covers many news sources for 20 years. Court cases and statutes from all federal and state jurisdictions are included. Most resources can be searched in full text.
Full-color reproductions of international news sources. Typically provides the most recent 90 days.
PressReader provides a global perspective on the World's events and news and is the most convenient and complete way to read all your favorite newspapers on one site. Users will gain access to newspapers from within the library, from home and around the world on the day they are published. Researchers will find convenient searching, a traditional 2-page newspaper view, table of contents, article jumps (linking article sections) and easy to read text views. PressDisplay can also provide translations into ten major foreign languages.
Provides access to articles in over 5,000+ magazines and journals. It contains Full text for many of these publications.
Scholarly E-Journals include:British Journal of Middle Eastern Studies / Journal of the American Oriental Society / Middle East Journal / Middle East Policy / Middle Eastern Studies
Searches multiple ProQuest products, indexing 5,000+ magazines, journals, and newspapers. It contains Full text (word file with no photos or tables) or images (looks like real paper publication) to over 2,000 journals, and Full text to 150+ newspapers. Keywords: news, new york times,current events, contemporary issues, hot topics, english 15,cas100.
English language translations of international news sources.
Translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the world are the sources of this information. Full text is currently available for selected areas only. For access to all FBIS reports use the A-Z link for the FBIS Index. All reports are available on microfiche in the Social Sciences Library 2nd floor Paterno.
Translations of foreign news sources, including radio and television broadcasts. Earlier years are available on paper and microfiche under the title Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS). Daily Report.
World News Connection® (WNC) contains full-text translated summaries from the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports for the following materials: newspaper articles conference proceedings radio and television broadcasts periodicals non-classified technical reports
Annual Publication.Penn State has 1976/1977-present.
Call # DS62.8 .M53, Arts and Humanities Reference, 2nd Floor Pattee Library
Provides an overview of developments by country. A good source for learning about the major issues in a country.