The major reference resource in the field. "Islam" is broadly defined to include Islamic culture, history, geography, literature, politics, etc.... Entries are in English, but subject terms are in transliterated Arabic.
The Encyclopaedia of Islam (New Edition) sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World. It is a unique and invaluable reference tool, an essential key to understanding the world of Islam, and the authoritative source not only on the religion, but also on the believers and the countries in which they live. It embraces articles on distinguished Muslims of every era and origin, on tribes and dynasties, on crafts and sciences, on political and religious institutions, on the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna of the various countries and on the history, topography and monuments of the major towns and cities. In its geographical and historical scope it encompasses the old Arabo-Islamic empire, the Islamic countries of Iran, Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent and Indonesia, as well as the Ottoman Empire and all other Islamic countries. The Encyclopaedia of Islam is the most important reference tool on Islam presently available.
Scholarly essays on important terms, concepts, people, places related to the Qur'an. Includes early Western editions of the Qur'an and a concordance.
The Encyclopaedia of the Qur’ān Online is an encyclopaedic dictionary of qur’ānic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur’ānic studies. The Encyclopaedia of the Qur’ān Online is the first comprehensive, multivolume reference work on the Qur’ān to appear in a Western language. Encyclopaedia of the Qur’ān Online includes direct access to 62 Early Printed Western Qur’āns Online and the Electronic Qurʾān Concordance, a unique online finding aid for textual research.
The dictionary lists English words and phrases with their Arabic equivalents. Care has been taken to distinguish between different shades of meaning in English expressions, and the regional variations of the language of different parts of the Arabic world.
The Oxford Turkish Dictionary combines for the first time in a single volume two standard works: The Oxford English-Turkish Dictionary and The Oxford Turkish-English Dictionary. English-Turkish coverage includes new English words, American and Australian vocabulary, and key scientific, financial, political, and military terms. Turkish-English coverage includes new loanwords in Turkish and a survey of modern idioms. The most up-to-date and comprehensive reference of its kind, The Oxford Turkish Dictionary is an invaluable tool for all students, scholars, and businesspeople working in Turkey.
