Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MKTG 301: Principles of Marketing Berks

Find and cite selected secondary marketing research resources. Leung

Cite Reports

[citation needed]


NOTE that in all cases you should use a hanging indent for APA citations. (This software cannot do that).


American FactFinder

U.S. Census Bureau.  (2015).  Language spoken at home 2011-2015 American Community Survey 5-year estimates, Reading city, PA.  https://factfinder.census.gov/faces/tableservices/jsf/pages/productview.xhtml?src=CF


IBISWorld
Cite an IBISWorld report as in the following example. APA says to include a report number, if given, in parentheses after the title. Example:

Brennan, A. (2014). Single location full-service restaurants in the US (Industry Report 72211b). Retrieved January 28, 2015, from IBISWorld database.


Mergent Intellect

If you generate a company list using Mergent Intellect's advanced search, cite it using your own descriptive name for the list you created. Example:

Mergent, Inc. (2016). Motion picture theaters in the Reading, PA metro area. Retrieved August 21, 2018, from the Mergent Intellect database.


Mintel Reports

Wall, B. (2014). Full service restaurants – US. Retrieved January 28, 2015, from Mintel Market Research Reports database.

Notice that unlike IBISWorld, Mintel does not provide report numbers.


SimplyAnalytics Reports and Maps:

The SimplyAnalytics database provides the following examples, which are modified here to be more correct:

Geographic Research, Inc. (2011). EASI/MRI consumer expenditure data 2010. Retrieved February 17, 2011, from SimplyAnalytics database.

Geographic Research, Inc. (2011). Census 2010 current estimates data. Retrieved February 17, 2011, from SimplyAnalytics database.

Geographic Research, Inc. (2011). Map with 2010 consumer expenditure data. Retrieved February 17, 2011, from SimplyAnalytics database.

The company that produces the database is Geographic Research, Inc., so begin the citation with that. Then the year in parentheses. Then make up a descriptive name for your report (an example they give above is Map with 2010 consumer expenditure data). Notice that in APA style, only the first word of the title should be capitalized (except for proper names). Then: Retrieved January 28, 2015, from SimplyAnalytics database.

If you are not sure of the name and date of the variable you are using, you can view Metadata for that variable in the database.


U.S. Census Bureau

U.S. Census Bureau. (2015). State & county quickfacts: Berks County, Pennsylvania. http://quickfacts.census.gov/qfd/states/42/42011.html


In-Text Citations

  • The basic format for APA in-text citations is (author, date): (Geographic Research, Inc., 2011).
  • If you use more than one work with the same author and date, distinguish them by adding a, b, c, etc. after the date. Assign the letters in the Reference list after alphabetizing the list:

        As these data and map indicate, … (Geographic Research, Inc., 2011b, 2011c).

References

Geographic Research, Inc. (2011a). Census 2010 current estimates data. Retrieved February 17, 2011, from SimplyAnalytics database.

Geographic Research, Inc. (2011b). EASI/MRI consumer expenditure data 2010. Retrieved February 17, 2011, from SimplyAnalytics database.

Geographic Research, Inc. (2011c). Map with 2010 consumer expenditure data. Retrieved February 17, 2011, from SimplyAnalytics database.