Founded by and located at Indiana University's School of Liberal Arts at IUPUI (Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis), the Center for Ray Bradbury Studies is the nation's first center for the study of science fiction and fantasy author Ray Bradbury. In addition to keeping the Bradbury Archives, the Center also publishes the New Bradbury Review, a journal dedicated to examining the impact of Bradbury's writings on American culture and his legacy as one of the master storytellers of his time.

In addition to serving as a great online source for reproductions of pulp magazine covers, Galactic Central includes bibliographies for science fiction and fantasy as well as key magazine indices.

The George Orwell Archive is the most comprehensive body of research material in the world relating to the author Eric Arthur Blair, whose pen name was George Orwell (1903-1950).

Based at the University of Kansas (KU) in Lawrence, Kansas, the Gunn Center's website offers a wealth of information about science fiction including resources for students, scholars, writers, and fans as well as awards, a blog, science fiction courses at KU and much more.

An amazingly-exhaustive resource, the ISFD is "a community effort to catalog works of science fiction, fantasy, and horror. It links together various types of bibliographic data: author bibliographies, publication bibliographies, award listings, magazine content listings, anthology and collection content listings, and forthcoming books."

The oldest professional association dedicated to scholarly inquiry into Science Fiction and the Fantastic across all media.