This guide is for students in Penn State Harrisburg's ENGL 191: Science Fiction, taught by Dr. Eric Bliman. It includes numerous science fiction research sources, such as books and encyclopedias, journals, databases, online sources, search tips, and more
Freely accessible and digital version of the Encyclopedia of Fantasy (1997), originally edited by John Clute and John Grant. The digital edition was prepared by David Langford in 1999 and has been published online since 2012.
3rd edition. Edited by John Clute, David Langford, Peter Nicholls (Emeritus) and Graham Sleight (Managing). This freely available online resource is based upon previously published print editions of the encyclopedia (1979-1999) and a CD-ROM edition (1995). It aims to provide a comprehensive, scholarly, and critical guide to science fiction in all its forms and is updated regularly.
The first historical dictionary devoted to science fiction, Brave New Words:The Oxford Dictionary of Science Fiction shows exactly how science-fictional words and their associated concepts have developed over time, with full citations and bibliographic information.
The Cambridge History of Science Fiction is a landmark volume as the first authoritative history of the genre. Over forty contributors with diverse and complementary specialties present a history of science fiction across national and genre boundaries, and trace its intellectual and creative roots in the philosophical and fantastic narratives of the ancient past.
This revision of Burgess's critically acclaimed guide to reference works in the fascinating genres of science fiction, fantasy, and horror thoroughly maps the territory of reference works, covering all major (and some minor) information sources published in the field starting in the 1950s and well into 2001.
**eBook now available!!!** Click on the title above to access it.. Science and science fiction have become inseparable--with common stories, interconnected thought experiments, and shared language. This reference book lays out that relationship and its all-but-magical terms and ideas. Those who think seriously about the future are changing the world, reshaping how we speak and how we think. This book fully covers the terms that collected, clarified and crystallized the futurists' ideas, sometimes showing them off, sometimes slowing them down, and sometimes propelling them to fame and making them the common currency of our culture. The many entries in this encyclopedic work offer a guided tour of the vast territories occupied by science fiction and futurism. In his Foreword, David Brin says, "Provocative and enticing? Filled with 'huh!' moments and leads to great stories? That describes this volume."
Science Fiction Literature Through History: an Encyclopedia [2 Volumes] by Gary Westfahl
Publication Date: 2021-07-19
**eBook Coming Soon!** This encyclopedia deals with written science fiction in all of its forms, not only novels and short stories but also mediums often ignored in other reference books, such as plays, poems, comic books, and graphic novels. Some science fiction films, television programs, and video games are also mentioned, particularly when they are relevant to written texts. Its focus is on science fiction in the English language, though due attention is given to international authors whose works have been frequently translated into English. Since science fiction became a recognized genre and greatly expanded in the 20th century, works published in the 20th and 21st centuries are most frequently discussed, though important earlier works are not neglected. The texts are designed to be helpful to numerous readers, ranging from students first encountering science fiction to experienced scholars in the field.