Archivist and Humanities Librarian
Coordinator of Archives and Special Collections
Coordinator of Archives and Special Collections
Heidi Abbey Moyer
She/Her/Hers
Contact:
Available for in-person and Zoom appointments for Summer 2024
Website
Find Books
- LionSearch This link opens in a new windowan integrated search of books, e-books, research articles, newspaper articles, and other publications.
- Catalog (Penn State University Libraries catalog) This link opens in a new windowfind Penn State Libraries materials in all formats: books, microforms, digitized collections, video, and audio.
Course Books and eBooks
The Wesleyan Anthology of Science Fiction by ISBN: 9780819569547Publication Date: 2010-08-01**Currently unavailable as an eBook.** The Wesleyan Anthology of Science Fiction features over a 150 years' worth of the best science fiction ever collected in a single volume.
- Encyclopedia of Science Fiction
3rd edition. Edited by John Clute, David Langford, Peter Nicholls (Emeritus) and Graham Sleight (Managing). This freely available online resource is based upon previously published print editions of the encyclopedia (1979-1999) and a CD-ROM edition (1995). It aims to provide a comprehensive, scholarly, and critical guide to science fiction in all its forms and is updated regularly.
Additional Recommended Books and eBooks
Decoding Gender in Science Fiction by 
This link opens in a new window
Call Number: eBookISBN: 0415939496Publication Date: 2002-09-20From Frankenstein to futuristic feminist utopias, Decoding Gender in Science Fiction examines the ways science fiction writers have incorporated, explored, and revised conventional notions of sexual difference. Attebery traces a fascinating history of men's and women's writing that covertly or overtly investigates conceptions of gender, suggesting new perspectives on the genre.
Gender and Environment in Science Fiction by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781498580571Publication Date: 2018-11-23Gender and Environment in Science Fiction focuses on the variety of ways that gender and "nature" interact in science fiction films and fictions, exploring questions of different realities and posing new ones.
The Oxford Book of American Short Stories by ISBN: 9780195070651Publication Date: 1992-10-22In The Oxford Book of American Short Stories, Joyce Carol Oates offers a sweeping survey of American short fiction, in a collection of fifty-six tales that combines classic works with many "different, unexpected" gems, and that invites readers to explore a wealth of important pieces by women and minority writers.
Partners in Wonder by ISBN: 073911266XPublication Date: 2005-12-07Contrary to accepted interpretations, women fans and writers were a welcome and influential part of pulp science fiction from the birth of the genre. Davin finds that at least 203 female authors, under their own female names, published over a thousand stories in science fiction magazines between 1926 and 1965. Partners in Wonder presents, for the first time, a complete bibliography of every story published by women writers in science fiction magazines from 1926 to 1965 and brief biographies on 133 of these women writers.
Terraforming: Ecopolitical Transformations and Environmentalism in Science Fiction by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781781382844Publication Date: 2016-06-01Terraforming, or the process of making other worlds habitable for human life, explores the emergence and development of terraforming in science fiction from H.G. Wells's The War of the Worlds (1898) to James Cameron's blockbuster film Avatar (2009). This book explores how science fiction has imagined the ways we shape both our world and other planets and how stories of terraforming reflect on science, society and environmentalism.
Library of Congress Subject Headings for Science Fiction and Fantasy (Selected Examples)
​Sample Subject Headings
ALTERNATIVE HISTORIES (FICTION)
ECOCRITICISM
FANTASY FICTION—HISTORY AND CRITICISM
FANTASY FICTION, AMERICAN—HISTORY AND CRITICISM
FANTASY FICTION, ENGLISH—HISTORY AND CRITICISM
FANTASY FICTION [FRENCH, JAPANESE, etc]—HISTORY AND CRITICISM
FANTASY IN LITERATURE
FANTASY LITERATURE—HISTORY AND CRITICISM
FANTASY LITERATURE, ENGLISH—HISTORY AND CRITICISM
FANTASY FILMS—HISTORY AND CRITICISM
GENDER IDENTITY IN LITERATURE
GOTHIC FICTION
SCIENCE FICTION—HISTORY AND CRITICISM
SCIENCE FICTION, AMERICAN—HISTORY AND CRITICISM
SCIENCE FICTION, ENGLISH—HISTORY AND CRITICISM
SCIENCE FICTION FILMS—HISTORY AND CRITICISM
SCIENCE FICTION FILMS—UNITED STATES—HISTORY AND CRITICISM
SEX DIFFERENCES IN LITERATURE
SUPERNATURAL IN LITERATURE