Skip to Main Content
Digital
Construction for Landscape Architecture by Robert Holden
Construction for Landscape Architecture covers all aspects of landscape construction, giving a good understanding of building materials and assembly. It is heavily illustrated with specially commissioned, detailed construction drawings, and has a strong emphasis on sustainability and good practice. At the end of the book there is an extensive glossary and an appendix of technical information.
Publication Date: 2011
Landscape Architect's Pocket Book by Siobhan Vernon; Susan Irwine; Joanna Patton; Neil Chapman
This third edition of the bestselling Landscape Architect's Pocket Book, written by leading practitioners, incorporates updates and revisions to environmental and building regulations, contracts, and a range of design guidelines including materials, SuDS, environmental impact, and landscape character assessment. The book is an indispensable tool for all landscape architects, providing a timesaving guide and first point of reference to everyday topics, both out on site and in the office. The pocket book covers all major subjects, including hard and soft landscaping, national guidelines and standards, and key planning policy and legislation. Providing concise, easy-to-read reference material, useful calculations, and instant access to a wide range of topics, it is an essential resource for landscape architects, construction industry professionals, and students.
Publication Date: 2022
Site Engineering for Landscape Architects by Steven Strom; Kurt Nathan; Jake Woland
The Leading Guide To Site Design And Engineering-- Revised And Updated Site Engineering for Landscape Architects is the top choice for site engineering, planning, and construction courses as well as for practitioners in the field, with easy-to-understand coverage of the principles and techniques of basic site engineering for grading, drainage, earthwork, and road alignment. The Sixth Edition has been revised to address the latest developments in landscape architecture while retaining an accessible approach to complex concepts. The book offers an introduction to landform and the language of its design, and explores the site engineering concepts essential to practicing landscape architecture today--from interpreting landform and contour lines, to designing horizontal and vertical road alignments, to construction sequencing, to designing and sizing storm water management systems. Integrating design with construction and implementation processes, the authors enable readers to gain a progressive understanding of the material. This edition contains completely revised information on storm water management and green infrastructure, as well as many new and updated case studies. It also includes updated coverage of storm water management systems design, runoff calculations, and natural resource conservation. Graphics throughout the book have been revised to bring a consistent, clean approach to the illustrations. Perfect for use as a study guide for the most difficult section of the Landscape Architect Registration Exam (LARE) or as a handy professional reference, Site Engineering for Landscape Architects, Sixth Edition gives readers a strong foundation in site development that is environmentally sensitive and intellectually stimulating.
Publication Date: 2013
Paper (Pick up with "I Want It" button)
Land and Natural Development (LAND) Code by Diana Balmori; Gaboury Benoit
Land and Natural Development (LAND) Code offers a pioneering method to develop sites in harmony with natural processes. While the LAND Code can be readily used in conjunction with LEED, EPA, and other guidelines, it features several unique characteristics, including recommendations based on peer-reviewed scientific research, a system that is accessible to non-experts, and extensive use of photographs and diagrams to illustrate practices and procedures.
Publication Date: 2007
Landscape Architectural Graphic Standards by Leonard J. Hopper (Editor)
Landscape Architectural Graphic Standards is an entirely new, definitive reference work for everyone involved with landscape architecture, design, and construction. Based on the 70-year success of Architectural Graphic Standards, this new book is destined to become the "bible" for the landscape field. Edited by an educator and former president of the American Society of Landscape Architects, it provides immediate access to rules-of-thumb and standards used throughout the planning, design, construction and management of landscapes. View sample pages from Landscape Architectural Graphic Standards.
Publication Date: 2006
Landscape Architecture, Fifth Edition by Barry Starke; John Ormsbee Simonds
The most comprehensive, current guide to the theoryand practice of landscape architecture For more than 50 years, this pioneering guide has served as the foremost resource on the principles and practices of landscape architecture. Now, the book has been revised to address the latest developments in the field, providing a comprehensive, current presentation of the profession. Richly illustrated with more than 400 full-color images, Landscape Architecture, Fifth Edition, explains how to plan and design for the human use of land with the least environmental impact. This updated volume offers new coverage of important topics such as sustainability, climate change, water conservation, land reuse, urban agriculture, stormwater management, low-impactdesign, and much more. This definitive reference: Introduces the fundamentals of site and environmental planning Describes the planning constraints imposed by the forms, forces, and features of nature and our built environment Addresses climate and its design implications Discusses site selection and analysis Instructs in the planning of workable and well-related use areas Describes the volumetric shaping of exterior spaces Explores site-structure relationships andorganization Applies contemporary thinking in the planning of expressive human habitations and communities Landscape Architecture, Fifth Edition, preservesthe essential character and timelessness of the original classic while incorporating up-to-date advancements in the profession. Extensively revised and filled with more than 400 contemporary full-color images, Landscape Architecture, Fifth Edition, remains the quintessential resource on planning for the human use of land in harmony with the environment. The book presents asystematic approach to the creation of more usable, efficient, and attractive outdoor spaces and places. Teaching diagrams, plans, photographs, and graphics--including the works of many of the world's leading landscape architects and firms--are featuredthroughout. This thoroughly modernized classic offers new coverage of: Sustainability Climate change and global warming Water preservation and water rights Land reuse and brownfield redevelopment GIS mapping Invasive species Urban agriculture and urban forestry Stormwater management Low-impact design Complete streets New Urbanism, Smart Growth, and Traditional Neighborhood Development Landscape Architecture, Fifth Edition, addresses every aspect of site and environmental planning, design, and implementation, including: The most comprehensive, current guide to the theoryand practice of landscape architecture The human habitat and sustainability Climate Water Land Vegetation The visual landscape Topography Community planning and growth management Rational land use planning Urban design Site planning Site spaces Circulation Structures Landscape planting
Publication Date: 2013
Means Landscape Estimating Methods by Sylvia Hollman Fee (Editor)
This best-selling reference for landscape contractors, designers,and facilities maintenance personnel ? now updated in itsfifth edition ? features the latest design trends andtechnologies. Includes: Step-by-step explanation of the estimating process ?including full sample estimate for a major landscape project? updated with current costs and the new MasterFormatclassification system. Expanded and revised to address the latest materials andmethods, including new coverage on approaches to green buildingthat save water, reduce maintenance costs, and provide otherbenefits to the facility. Sample forms and worksheets that save you time and preventerrors, now available on a new companion website.Download the forms of your choice and customize them for yourfirm. Professional guidance on calculating and controlling equipmentcosts ? whether purchased or rented ? and how to applythem correctly to each job. Assistance in planning and identifying maintenance costs. Your best source for professional guidance on accuratelandscape estimates and reliable bids. FEATURES: Includes a companion website with the book's forms andworksheets to download and customize. Features new coverage of the latest industry trends, materials,and methods to save water and reduce maintenance costs.
Publication Date: 2007
Planning and Urban Design Standards by American Planning Association
From the publishers of Architectural Graphic Standards, this book, created under the auspices of The American Planning Association, is the most comprehensive reference book on urban planning, design, and development available today. Contributions from more than two hundred renowned professionals provide rules of thumb and best practices for mitigating such environmental impacts as noise, traffic, aesthetics, preservation of green space and wildlife, water quality, and more. You get in-depth information on the tools and techniques used to achieve planning and design outcomes, including economic analysis, mapping, visualization, legal foundations, and real estate developments. Thousands of illustrations, examples of custom work by today?s leading planners, and insider information make this work the new standard in the field. Order your copy today.
Publication Date: 2006
Site Planning and Design Handbook, Second Edition by Thomas Russ
Essential site planning and design strategies, up-to-date with the latest sustainable development techniques Discover how to incorporate sound environmental considerations into traditional site design processes. Written by a licensed landscape architect with more than 20 years of professional experience, this authoritative guide combines established approaches to site planning with sustainable practices and increased environmental sensitivity. Fully revised and updated, Site Planning and Design Handbook, Second Edition discusses the latest standards and protocols-including LEED. The book features expanded coverage of green site design topics such as water conservation, energy efficiency, green building materials, site infrastructure, and brownfield restoration. This comprehensive resource addresses the challenges associated with site planning and design and lays the groundwork for success. Site Planning and Design Handbook, Second Edition explains how to: Integrate sustainability into site design Gather site data and perform site analysis Meet community standards and expectations Plan for pedestrians, traffic, parking, and open space Use grading techniques to minimize erosion and maximize site stability Implement low-impact stormwater management and sewage disposal methods Manage brownfield redevelopment Apply landscape ecology principles to site design Preserve historic landscapes and effectively utilize vegetation
Publication Date: 2009
Time-Saver Standards for Landscape Architecture by Nicholas T. Dines; Charles W. Harris
Newly designed and containing a full 40 percent completely new content, Time-Saver Standards for Landscape Architecture, Second Edition, continues to be the most complete source of site design and construction standards and data. It is fully metric, to meet Federal and International requirements. It features increased coverage of: Site storm water "best management" practices · New urban tree planting and xeriscape concepts · Earth retaining structures and pavement design · Land reclamation, including soil and vegetation restoration · Metric site layout practices, including recreation facilities · Energy and resource conservation · Natural processes and site construction procedures · New expanded construction details · Simplified construction materials data. Over 50 sections provide concise tables, checklists, "Key Point" text summaries, and illustrations to provide an invaluable information resource for offices and classrooms throughout the world.
Publication Date: 1997
Time-Saver Standards for Urban Design by Donald Watson
This important addition to the McGraw-Hill Time Saver Standards series is an entirely new, comprehensive, meticulously researched compendium of every aspect of the physical design of cities and other urban places including communities and civic and public places. Featuring articles by authoritative urban design scholars and practitioners, Time-Saver Standards for Urban Design provides a visual and detailed archival record of: * Context of global cities * Classic texts of urban design * Urban design history and design theory * Preservation, renewal, and extension of existing cities * Methods of urban design from regional to pedestrian scale * Sustainable communities * Details and case studies of urban design practice Time-Saver Standards for Urban Design covers the full-spectrum of allied disciplines such as transportation planning, bioregionalism, storm water management, parking, universal design, urban acoustics, and graphics. It provides a single-source for the key reference articles on urban design and physical planning of cities, including social, environmental and economic data. This inaugural volume on the topic of urban design in the Time-Saver Standard series is written for easy reference by urban planners and designers, architects, landscape professionals, environmental engineers, civil and transportation engineers, as well as municipal government and planning officials. This "soon to be a classic" provides a one-volume reference that is indispensable for urban design policy and practice. It is equally valuable for the urban studies educators and students of architecture, urban design and planning.
Publication Date: 2003
