Digital
Universal Design by
A much-needed reference to the latest thinking in universal design Universal Design: Creating Inclusive Environments offers a comprehensive survey of best practices and innovative solutions in universal design. Written by top thinkers at the Center for Inclusive Design and Environmental Access (IDeA), it demonstrates the difference between universal design and accessibility and identifies its relationship to sustainable design and active living. Hundreds of examples from all areas of design illustrate the practical application of this growing field. Complete, in-depth coverage includes: * The evolution of universal design, from its roots in the disability rights movement to present-day trends * How universal design can address the needs of an aging population without specialization or adaptation to reduce the need for expensive and hard-to-find specialized products and services * Design practices for human performance, health and wellness, and social participation * Strategies for urban and landscape design, housing, interior design, product design, and transportation Destined to become the standard professional reference on the subject, Universal Design: Creating Inclusive Environments is an invaluable resource for architects, interior designers, urban planners, landscape architects, product designers, and anyone with an interest in how we access, use, and enjoy the environment.
Publication Date: 2012
- Universal Design at the Center for Inclusive Design and Environmental AccessGeneral information on universal design and example projects from the University of Buffalo
Paper (Pick up with "I Want It" button)
Barrier-Free Planning by
Buildings are not conceived solely with average people in mind; they offer a protective shell for everyone. Basics Barrier-free Planning improves our understanding of the needs of people with disabilities such as limited mobility or impaired vision, children, and the elderly, all of whom have special requirements when using a building. The book presents possibilities for designing buildings and their spaces so they can be used by everyone.
Publication Date: 2009
Universal Design Handbook, 2E by
The Latest Advances in Universal Design Thoroughly updated and packed with examples of global standards and design solutions, Universal Design Handbook, Second Edition, covers the full scope of universal design, discussing how to develop media, products, buildings, and infrastructure for the widest range of human needs, preferences, and functioning. This pioneering work brings together a rich variety of expertise from around the world to discuss the extraordinary growth and changes in the universal design movement. The book provides an overview of universal design premises and perspectives, and performance-based design criteria and guidelines. Public and private spaces, products, and technologies are covered, and current and emerging research and teaching are explored. This unique resource includes analyses of historical and contemporary universal design issues from seven different countries, as well as a look at future trends. Students, advocates, policy makers, and design practitioners will get a theoretical grounding in and practical reference on the physical and social roles of design from this definitive volume. UNIVERSAL DESIGN HANDBOOK, SECOND EDITION, COVERS: United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities U.S. accessibility codes and standards, including the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Life safety standards and guidelines Universal design implementations in Norway, Japan, France, Germany, Brazil, Italy and the Old City of Jerusalem Planning ADA implementation in public educational institutions Urban scale and mass transportation universal design Designing inclusive experiences, including outdoor play settings Office and workspace design Universal design in home building and remodeling Products and technologies, including autos, web access, media, and digital content Universal design research initiatives, education, and performance assessments
Publication Date: 2010The Arsenal of Exclusion & Inclusion by An encyclopedia of the policies and practices used to segregate or integrate urban spaces.
Publication Date: 2017
