General
- Material ConneXion This link opens in a new windowA database of materials searchable by material type, processing methods, sustainability features, etc.
- Material OrderAn open access database - filter by material type, characteristics, and processes
Constructing Landscape by
Constructing Landscape is a systematic introduction to technical and constructional open space planning, with all the relevant topics, from the most common materials and surfaces to the construction of open space elements and the use of plants. For landscape architects and architects it is an indispensable guide to correct and professional execution planning as well as to preparing solid and well-thought-out requests for proposal. Constructing Landscape is divided into two sections, Materials and Surfaces and Building Construction and Building Elements. The first section provides an overview of the various building materials of landscape architecture and their specific characteristics. It also explains the qualities of surfaces and the different approaches to treating them. The second section begins with an introductory chapter explaining the principles of statics, the connections of load-bearing elements, and the various approaches to anchoring building compo-nents and supporting structures. The subsequent chapters use drawings and text to present the constructional principles and techniques associated with the various building elements. Each chapter concludes with a collection of sample projects, illustrated with photographs and technical drawings.
Publication Date: 2015
Soil
- Soil Surveys for Pennsylvaniacounty by county soil surveys (some archived pdf others through the Web Soil Survey)
Soil Design Protocols for Landscape Architects and Contractors by
Real-world guidance to ensuring the longevity of soil used in landscape projects Natural soils are very fragile, and changing the use or design of a landscape increases the number of environmental variables that contend with the planting soil. Not all projects require a soil consultant, but the success and longevity of a landscape project requires that landscape architects and contractors be capable of developing and installing suitable planting soils. Now, in one convenient reference, Soil Design Protocols for Landscape Architects and Contractors provides step-by-step, technical skill sets for implementing productive planting soils for a variety of projects. Drawing on a wealth of experience in soils, forestry, micrometeorology, geomorphology, and agronomy, this book's authorial team presents: * A succinct introduction to the physical and chemical properties that pertain to all planting soils * Informative descriptions of how a project evolves from site investigation to construction administration * Quick, easy-to-read procedures organized in the standard landscape architect stages of a project * Step-by-step templates to use from a project's inception to completion * The latest material on such specialized design elements as rooftops, intensely designed elements, and treatment wetlands, as well as pervious poured concrete, pervious pavers, and the supporting soil
Publication Date: 2006
Plants
Digital
- PLANTS Database from USDAIncludes maps of distribution, fact sheets, images, and legal status (endangered, etc.)
- Kew Garden's Data and ResearchIncludes databases on Plants and Fungi as well as digital collections from Kew's holdings
- Agricultural & Environmental Science CollectionA database on global journals and other publications for a wide range of topics in the sciences including land use, ecology, and health
- Agricultural Science and Technology Information (AGRIS)From the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
A database of reports on food and agriculture
- CAB Abstracts (agriculture, nutrition and global health) This link opens in a new windowDatabase focused on publications related to the environment, agriculture, and health
- BioOne This link opens in a new windowDatabase of publications in the sciences, including ecological and environmental topics
Paper
A to Z Encyclopedia of Garden Plants by
With over 15,000 entries and updated from the original A-Z Encyclopedia of Garden PlantsQwhich sold over 190,000 copiesQthis is undoubtedly the most complete and authoritative garden plant guide ever published. Includes hundreds of new plants and photos. 0-7566-0616-0$80.00 / DK Publishing, Inc.
Publication Date: 2004
The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Trees by
This book is the result of 10 years of on-site, meticulous painting of individual living trees as well as their detailed parts. David More, a supremely gifted botanical artist, has contributed 330 more illustrations than the 2000 contained in the first edition. The main section of the book is devoted to almost 400 double-page spreads, which describe and illustrate more than 1800 species and cultivars of trees. The trees illustrated were selected because they are commonly cultivated in England and continental Europe; most are also to be found in American gardens, and some are indeed native to North America. Besides paintings of the trees' habits -- both summer and winter for deciduous trees -- there are detailed paintings of leaves or needles, bark, blossoms, fruit, nuts, or cones. This book is a must-have for any reader with an interest in trees, whether to grow them, identify them, or simply take pleasure in the minutely detailed and beautifully drawn artwork of David More.
Publication Date: 2011
