Library Guides: COMM 419: World Media Systems: Books & Journals

Books & Journal Articles

To Locate related articles or books:

E-book

Media in Transitional Democracies by Katrin Voltmer
Publication Date: 2013
- E-book explores the interplay of political and media transitions over the last 25 years
- Covers different pathways of democratization which have occurred in Eastern Europe, Latin America, Africa and Asia

Databases

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- Articles from peer-reviewed journals, trade and industry magazines, market research reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, industry reports, country information
An essential article database for business research providing the full text for more than 2,000 periodicals, including about 1,000 scholarly journals. Covers virtually all disciplines in business and economics, including: accounting, economics, econometrics, finance, marketing, management, MIS, QMM and supply chain management.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) This link opens in a new window
- Detailed economic, industrial, trade, and population statistics from over 200 countries and territories
- Excellent source for studies and reports that provide an overview of a country’s development and change
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) is a comprehensive source for research in international affairs. It includes full text of selected books on international affairs, working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences. It also, contains abstracts and some full text of selected journal articles
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- Comprehensive resource of scholarly journals and other periodicals related to communications and mass media, most containing full-text articles
- Communication abstracts
- Good source of information on communication issues on a worldwide scale, from a variety of publishers, research institutions and information sources
- Directs users to location of full-text articles, or prompts for articles that can be obtained through interlibrary loan
CMMC incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth in the communication and mass media fields.

Penn State University Libraries

COMM 419: World Media Systems

Useful Resources

Librarians

Books & Journal Articles