Social Science Librarian
Stephen (Social Sciences) Woods
He/him/his
Contact:
Office: 208 Paterno Library, University Park
Phone: 814.865.0665
Librarian for Political Science, Policy Studies, and Government Information
Find Background Information
There are many ways to find information on the government, political climate, current events, and data sources for countries around the world. Some reliable sources are available on the Internet, but many are available through the University Libraries' databases and print resources.
The following guide will help you get started identifying useful information sources — both freely available and those purchased by the Libraries for your use.
The sources you find below will help you find general background information about your country and its broad social and political environment. Many will also give you general statistics and directory information about government officials.
Online Resources
- Political Risk Yearbook This link opens in a new windowLengthy analysis of a country's political and economic climate and risks, the Political Risk Yearbook is unique in that it provides forecasts on likely political and economic developments. Each Country Report focuses specifically on political and business information: finding developing markets, determining currency movements, preparing for capital investments, or making judgments about corporate security.
- CQ Press: Political Handbook of the WorldBackground information on the politics of countries and organizations around the world. Covers 2005-2019.
- Countries and their CulturesA four-volume encyclopedia that focuses on cultures and countries around the world, specifically what is and is not shared culturally by the people who live in a particular country. Entries contain descriptive summaries of the country in question, including demographic, historical, cultural, economic, religious, and political information.
Other useful encyclopedias include:
- Global Issues This link opens in a new windowinternational news and perspectives on a variety of topics and events throughout the world.
- CQ Global Researcher This link opens in a new windowcontent provides students with definitive, in-depth coverage of global affairs from a number of international viewpoints.
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of National EconomiesOnline via Gale Virtual reference Library.
- U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact SheetsShort overviews of the government and politics of various countries. Prepared for U.S. Department of State personnel on diplomatic missions. Formerly called Background Notes.
- The World Factbook [CIA]Brief information and statistics about countries around the world.
- Country Studies | Area Handbook Series [Library of Congress]The Area Handbook Series includes book-length works covering the history, politics, geography, and economy of individual countries. Some are dated and therefore most useful for getting an historical perspective. To locate the these resources, search The CAT using Area Handbook Series as your search term. Many are available on the Web at the Library of Congress' Country Studies Web site linked above.
- Embassy.org"A resource of and for the Washington D.C. foreign embassy community."
- USEmbassy.govWebsites of U.S. Embassies, Consulates, and Diplomatic Missions.
Print Resources
The Libraries have many specialized encyclopedias that may be of help. Consult The CAT to locate more of these.
- Europa World Year BookContains brief background discussion of countries and international organizations, including history, government, politics, etc.. Also provides brief statistical information.
- Encyclopedia of World Political Systems byPublication Date: 2000This comprehensive resource provides up-to-date political coverage of every country and political entity in the world today. It incorporates all the major global and regional changes following the decolonization of Hong Kong in 1997, recent leadership changes in China and Russia, the results of the Dayton Peace Accord, the rise of the New Labor Party in the UK, the 1999 elections in Israel and South Africa, and the continued search for peace in the Middle East and Northern Ireland. The economic crisis in Asia and the widespread growth of world nuclear powers are also covered.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of National EconomiesPublication Date: 2002Provides students and business leaders with a thorough understanding of the current and historical economic development of approximately 200 foreign nations. Clearly arranged by country within broad geographic regions, the Worldmark Encyclopedia of National Economies provides accurate, in-depth analysis of each country's economic environment, reliable statistics on the country's current economic conditions and trends and key demographics of the nation's citizens.
Encyclopedia of Democracy by Publication Date: 1995With over 400 articles written by more than 200 international scholars, readers gain access to all aspects of democracy from its earliest stirrings to such recent developments as the end of eastern European communism and South African apartheid. The Encyclopedia is richly illustrated with photographs, maps, and charts, and is alphabetically arranged, carefully indexed, and abundantly cross-referenced for easy access and research.
Encyclopedia of Nationalism by Publication Date: 2000Nationalism has unexpectedly become a leading local and international force since the end of the Cold War. The Encyclopedia of Nationalism captures the aims and scope of this force through a wide-ranging examination of concepts, figures, movements, and events.
