Getting Started
- Worksheet: Research Freestyle Needs AssessmentAnswer these 10 questions about your research project to plan next steps, discover resources, and make progress! A fillable / printable PDF.
Topic Development and Background Research
- Try These FirstGreat resources to start your research! Explore topics, gather background information, and discover keywords for database searching.
- Worksheet: Develop a Research QuestionStep-by-step guidance on identifying a research topic, conducting background research, concept mapping, identifying keywords, and articulating a research question. A fillable / printable PDF.
- Research Help: Choose a TopicMore detailed advice and resources on topic development from University Libraries.
- Search the Idea CollectionFind background info or topic inspiration from the Discovery Lab's Idea Collection!
Finding Sources: Search Strategy and Documentation
- Worksheet: Develop a Search StrategyStep-by-step guidance on keyword brainstorming, search operators (AND, OR, NOT), and selecting search tools. A fillable / printable PDF.
- Research Guides by SubjectBrowse research guides by subject area to find database recommendations and search tips.
- Library Databases A-ZFind a database for your research - browse alphabetically, or search on database titles and descriptions!
- Worksheet: Research JournalTurn dead-ends into productive detours! Step-by-step guidance on evaluating your search sessions to refine your search strategy. A fillable / printable PDF.
Beyond Articles: Special Research Sources
- Data Discovery and ReuseLocate data sets for reuse in your research with resources from the Research Data Management Team.
- Find ImagesLocate fine art, news images, and other visual content.
- Find Maps and Geospatial InformationLocate and work with maps and geospatial information.
- Find Rare and Primary SourcesSearch or browse finding aids to locate rare texts and historical primary source materials in Special Collections.
- Find Polling DataBrowse public opinions on a variety of current political and cultural issues.
- Find Surveys and TestsRetrieve copies of instruments.
- Search the Engaged Scholarship CollectionDiscover research methodologies & more with the Discovery Lab's Engaged Scholarship Collection!
Evaluating & Selecting Sources
- Strategies for Evaluating InformationStep-by-step guidance for evaluating information sources - includes video tutorials!
- Printable Guide: Scholarly vs. Trade vs. Popular PublicationsTips on identifying articles from scholarly peer-reviewed journals, professional trade publications, and popular magazines.
- Anatomy of a Scholarly ArticleLearn the standard sections of a scholarly article and the content you can expect to find in each. IMRaD - Introduction, Methods, Results, and Discussion.
- Empirical ArticlesLearn how to recognize and limit to specific type of scholarly articles called empirical articles (also known as research articles or primary articles) through this tutorial from the University Libraries at Rider University.
- Worksheet: Abstracts Up CloseClose-reading strategies for abstracts (article summaries) to inform source evaluation and selection. A fillable / printable PDF.
- Read Strategically: How to Read a Scientific PaperStep-by-step guidance from Purdue University Libraries on how to efficiently read a scientific paper for comprehension.
- Read Strategically: How to Read & Understand a Social Science Journal ArticleProvides source reading strategies and information about each section in a social science journal article and the content you can expect to find there.
- Worksheet: Deconstruct a Scholarly ArticleGuiding questions for critically reading and evaluating a scholarly article. A fillable / printable PDF.
Using Sources: Synthesizing and Attributing Information
- Worksheet: Working with SourcesStep-by-step guidance on critically reading sources, identifying claims and supporting evidence, and synthesizing information from source materials to support your own analysis. A fillable / printable PDF.
- Summarizing, Paraphrasing, and Quoting (Harvard)Learn the difference between summarizing, paraphrasing, and quoting and how to use them effectively in this Harvard Writing Program guide.
- What To Do After Reading (Excelsior OWL)Learn the difference between summarizing, paraphrasing, and quoting, and learn strategies for reading analytically.
- Worksheet: Your Own Words: Quoting, Paraphrasing, and SummarizingAn applied exercise to practice summarizing, paraphrasing, and direct quotation with in-text citations. A fillable / printable PDF.
- Fair or Infringement? WorksheetStep-by-step guidance on applying the four factors of fair use to the use of copyright protected materials. A fillable PDF.
Citations and Academic Integrity
- Citation GuidesAccess citation guides for APA, MLA, CSE, Chicago, and other style guides.
- Worksheet: APA Citation StyleGuide to APA style citations with practice template for journal article citations. A fillable / printable PDF.
- Worksheet: MLA Style CitationsGuide to MLA style citations with practice template. A fillable / printable PDF.
- The Plagiarism Spectrum (Turnitin)Familiarize yourself with ten types of plagiarism in this guide from Turnitin.
- Citation Management ToolsExplore tools that allow you to search for and store your references, as well as create in-text citations and bibliographies.