State College
Special Collections holdings include materials on the history and governance of State College, Pennsylvania, the home of Penn State, and on many of its local organizations that give a unique flavor to this community.
State College Historic Houses, 1883. Pennsylvania State University Archives, Special Collections Library, University Libraries, The Pennsylvania State University.
The History of State College
Special Collections materials on the history of State College, Pennsylvania, include:
- Borough of State College; its origins and growth, 1941 [manuscript; photocopy]The speech delivered to the State College Rotary Club by Thomas Mitchell, Bellefonte, Pennsylvania, attorney and historian, detailed the history of State College and urged for the creation of a map of property lots.
- Borough of State College (Pa.) incorporation papers, 1885-1892Penn State Professor William Frear gathered papers related to the first attempt to incorporate State College as a borough in 1891-1892. The collection includes tax assessment lists, petitions from residents of the town, and a map and survey report of the proposed borough.
- State College Historic Resources Commission Records (06414)The collection includes the meeting agendas of the Commission that was established in 1995 to advise the State College, Pennsylvania, Borough Council on matters pertaining to historic resources.
- State College oral history transcripts (01369)This collection consists of transcripts of oral history interviews conducted in the 1970s to document the history of State College, Pennsylvania. Interviewees include leaders at Penn State and in the community.
Governance of State College
Special Collections materials on the governance of State College include:
- Borough of State College Council minutes [microfilm] (00121)The collection includes minutes from such important meetings as the establishment of the Borough of State College in August 1896 and the vote to become a Home Rule municipality in 1973.
The History of Local Organizations
Special Collections documents the history of local organizations including:
- State College Choral Society Records (01364)The collection contains a detailed history of the Society and includes member lists, newspaper clippings, publications, and an extensive audio compilation of performances.
- State College Community Theatre records (01366)The collection includes the theatre's bylaws, scripts, programs, and newspaper clippings.
- State College Literary Club records (01368)The collection contains financial and membership records, meeting minutes, and papers read by members.
- State College Woman's Club records (01373)The collection consists of the constitution and bylaws of the Club, annual reports, yearbooks, meeting minutes, and memorabilia.