Pennsylvania
Special Collections materials document the history of Pennsylvania and notable state-wide organizations.
Horse drawn cultivator. Pennsylvania State University Archives, Special Collections Library, University Libraries, The Pennsylvania State University.
Statewide Organizations
Records of statewide organizations include:
- Pennsylvania Art Education Association records (01133)The collection contains the constitution and bylaws, meeting minutes, financial records, conference programs, correspondence, newsletters, art education papers and special programs, art education books, photographs and slides of conferences and members, and committee records.
- Pennsylvania State Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance Inc. (PSAHPERD) records (01135)The collection from the Association for Health, Physical Education, and Recreation includes correspondence, reports, brochures, convention records, Executive Committee meetings, Representative Assemblies, President and Vice-President's files, and Association directories.
Family and Rural Life
An example of Special Collections materials on family/rural life in Pennsylvania that offers a unique perspective on Pennsylvania history is:
- Perry Family Diaries (06350)The collection consists of thirteen handwritten daily diaries, twelve describing pioneer life in northwest Pennsylvania, 1867-1876.
- Juniata County History Project collection (07039)This collection features several thousand photographic images documenting the range of lifetime experiences in Juniata County, Pennsylvania, in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.
Digital Collections
Special Collection digitized materials further detail the history of Pennsylvania agriculture, industries, and daily life.
- Penn State Extension records (01131)This collection contains the county extension agents' narrative and statistical annual reports of their activities, 1912-1988.
- Pennsylvania Bridges collection (01696)The collection contains photographs of railroad bridges in Pennsylvania, mostly in the Pittsburgh area, 1891-1915; photographs of technical drawings produced by the Pennsylvania State College, Civil Engineering Department. depicting structural details and complete designs of modern railroad bridges, 1903-1904; and lantern slides of railroad bridges, 1884-ca. 1904.