Librarian
Digital collections
- Access Pennsylvania Digital RepositoryA statewide service on behalf of the Office of Commonwealth Libraries. Includes digitized collections created by libraries and other entities located throughout Pennsylvania.
- Civil War CollectionsDiaries, papers, journals, and other primary materials from "The People's Contest," Penn State's Civil War Collection.
- Digitized Pennsylvania Historic NewspapersThe State Library of Pennsylvania continues to add digitized copies of historical Pennsylvania newspapers to the AccessPA Digital Repository.
- Explore PA HistoryA set of documents and essays centered around PA's state historical markers.
- Historic PittsburghA comprehensive collection of local resources that supports personal and scholarly research of the western Pennsylvania area.
- Penn State Digitized CollectionsFree online resources documenting Pennsylvania History among other subjects. Includes historical maps, county histories, civil war newspapers, and scholarly journals.
- [Pennsylvania] Our Documentary HeritageCreated by the Pennsylvania Historical Museum and Commission.
- Times of Sorrow and HopeA catalog of Pennsylvania photographs from 1935-1946. Includes links to online photos.
- Three Mile Island (TMI-2) Recovery and Decontamination CollectionFinding guide to primary source videos, technical reports, and photographs from the TMI accident stored in the Special Collections Library.
Pennsylvania Archives
Pennsylvania Archives
Contains essential records relating to one of America's earliest colonies, from 1664 to 1780, including military, tax, marriage, and land records, as well as documents from American history covering the Revolutionary War and the Whiskey Rebellion.
Microformats
Some examples of major microformat collections held at Microforms and Government Information, 2nd floor Paterno, University Park campus.
- Pennsylvania Society for Promoting the Abolition of Slavery. PapersThe collection documents the activities of the organization and contains primary sources pertaining to the abolition movement. Later emphasis was on civil rights, education and employment.
Call # Microfilm A52. Guide: Call # BX7642.P4P2 1976.
- Pennsylvania Abolition Society collections at the Historical Society of PennsylvaniaContains the official records and papers of the Society for the years 1775-1975; also includes the records of 15 related organizations, collectively spanning the period 1794-1870. Call # Microfilm A253.
- Published American Colonial RecordsA collection of the most important published colonial and state records from their beginnings to about 1800.
Call # Microfilm D164, Submit Request for Annexed Material. Guide: Call # Z1237.P82, located 2nd Floor Paterno - Indexes & Guides. - Historic American Buildings Survey. PennsylvaniaPhotographs and written descriptions, prepared by the Historic American Buildings Survey, Office of Archeology and Historic Preservation, National Park Service. Arranged by counties.
Call # Micro 4 HABS. - Pennsylvania (Colony). Records of the Provincial Council 1682-1776Reproduction of the manuscript Minutes of the Provincial Council of Pennsylvania along with published Minutes of the Provincial Council, and the Executive and Crown Correspondence of the Governor-in-General (referred to as the Papers of the Provincial Council).
Call # Microfilm A53, Guide: Call # F146.P45.