Beginning with the Freedom's Journal (NY)--the first African American newspaper published in the United States--this database includes page reproductions of African American newspapers from every region of the United States.

Twelve historical black newspapers: Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010); Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010); Chicago Defender (1910-2010); Cleveland Call and Post (1934-2010); Kansas City Call, (1919-2010); Louisville Defender‎, (1951-2010); Michigan Chronicle (1939-2010); New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010); Norfolk Journal & Guide (1916-2010); Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2010); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010); and Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010)

A unique set of primary sources from African Americans actively involved in the movement to end slavery in the United States between 1830 and 1865. The content includes letters, speeches, editorials, articles, sermons, and essays. The majority of the content is from the United States, with some coverage of the abolitionist movement in England, Scotland, Ireland and Canada, Over 15,000 items written by nearly 300 Black men and women are available for searching.

Ethnic NewsWatch (ENW) is a comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Continuously growing since 1991, with archival material back to 1985, Ethnic NewsWatch is now a collection of more than 470,000 full-text articles from over 200 publications. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages and more than 100,000 articles in Spanish, ENW offers in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and retrospective topics easily accessed using free text and fielded searching. An average of 7,500 new articles is added each month.

Independent Voices is a four-year project to digitize over 1 million pages from the magazines, journals and newspapers of the alternative press archives of participating libraries. Chronicles the transformative decades of the 60s, 70s and 80s through the lens of an independent alternative press. Search across a million pages of full text and browse every issue, cover-to-cover, in full color. Consolidated for the first time, over 1,000 titles from the special collections of dozens of libraries providing easy access to the powerful voices of feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinos, LGBTs and more. All of the content is completely copyright cleared with the ultimate transition to open access in mind. Access provided under Creative Commons Non-Commercial License. Rights to the individual works that make up this collection remain with the original copyrights holder.

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century. Based on the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project, a national research effort directed by Professor Nicolás Kanellos, this digital resource is the first in a new American Ethnic Newspapers series, available within America's Historical Newspapers.

45 titles including bi-lingual and indigenous language publications from the United States and Canada. Includes some key 19th century titles, but most publications were founded in the 1970s reflecting the rise of the American Indian Movement and the proliferation of Indigenous journalism.

Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America is a digital collection providing insight into Indigenous Cultures and European/American relations from first contact through the civil rights movement of the twentieth century. Users can explore primary source materials including: manuscripts, artwork, photographs, interactive maps, printed materials and newspapers. Taken from the collections at the Newberry Library in Chicago.

Ethnic NewsWatch (ENW) is a comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Continuously growing since 1991, with archival material back to 1985, Ethnic NewsWatch is now a collection of more than 470,000 full-text articles from over 200 publications. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages and more than 100,000 articles in Spanish, ENW offers in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and retrospective topics easily accessed using free text and fielded searching. An average of 7,500 new articles is added each month.

Independent Voices is a four-year project to digitize over 1 million pages from the magazines, journals and newspapers of the alternative press archives of participating libraries. Chronicles the transformative decades of the 60s, 70s and 80s through the lens of an independent alternative press. Search across a million pages of full text and browse every issue, cover-to-cover, in full color. Consolidated for the first time, over 1,000 titles from the special collections of dozens of libraries providing easy access to the powerful voices of feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinos, LGBTs and more. All of the content is completely copyright cleared with the ultimate transition to open access in mind. Access provided under Creative Commons Non-Commercial License. Rights to the individual works that make up this collection remain with the original copyrights holder.

Today, it focuses not only on the stock market, but on all aspects of global business, economics, consumer affairs, and trends and issues. Online researchers have access to more than 100 years of The Journal's accurate reporting, exclusive analysis, agenda setting editorials, and controversial opinions. In addition to the printed stories, researchers also can study the charts, stock tables, graphics, and illustrations featured in the publication. With this resource, users can study the development of industries and companies across decades, monitor the implementation and effects of fiscal policies on the global economy, study opposing viewpoints at critical times in the world's history, and more. This title is especially appealing to those interested in business, finance, economics, and journalism.

Founded by two teenage brothers in 1865 when the West was still wild, this newspaper lets researchers travel back in time to experience the completion of the transcontinental railroad, the Klondike gold rush, the San Francisco earthquake and fire of 1906, America's entry into World War I, and many other events that shaped both the City by the Bay and the United States. During its first five decades, the San Francisco Chronicle presented issues from a young, Northwestern perspective, giving researchers a window through which to study westward expansion, Chinese immigration, machine politics, urban planning, war, public policy, and more. Mark Twain, Bret Harte, Jack London, and Rex Beach are among the writers who contributed to the San Francisco Chronicle's pages, some without benefit of a byline during the early years. To trace San Francisco's history from a muddy frontier town full of pistol-packing pioneers and corrupt politicians, through its entry into the Roaring 20s, start here.

Includes a digitized image of issues of The Chicago Tribune from 1849-2011: news stories, editorials, photos, graphics, and advertisements. Searchers can use basic keyword, advanced, guided, and relevancy search techniques to locate information. Or, they can browse through issues page by page, as one would browse a printed edition. Search results lists provide bibliographic information, including date, issue, article headline, page number, and byline (where given). Users may choose to display the full page image of any page in any issue.

Includes a digitized image of every backfile issue of The New York Times from cover to cover, including news stories, editorials, photos, graphics, and advertisements. Searchers can use basic keyword, advanced, guided, and relevancy search techniques to locate information. Or, they can browse through issues page by page, as one would browse a printed edition. Search results lists provide bibliographic information, including date, issue, article headline, page number, and byline (where given). Users may choose to display the full page image of any page in any issue.

NewspaperARCHIVE is a database of newspaper page images from Pennsylvania. Searches are automatically limited to the content Penn State has access to. NewspaperARCHIVE is particularly good for accessing historical newspapers from smaller and medium-sized cities and towns across the Commonwealth (e.g., Altoona, Dubois, Gettysburg). The text is fully searchable, but there are gaps in coverage for many titles.

The Pennsylvania Newspaper Archive is an open access gateway to the Commonwealth's historical full-text searchable new database. Newspaper titles and holdings from all 67 counties (stretching back from our colonial roots to the present) will continue to be added as they become available.

Provides access to a selection of Pennsylvania newspapers published during the critical years before, during, and after the U.S. Civil War. The dates of coverage vary by the paper. Some publications go back to the late 1840's, others extend beyond the Civil War into the early Reconstruction years. The digital reproductions include all words, photographs, and advertisements as well as an exact page image of the newspaper. For readers who prefer to see the newspapers intact, each issue can be browsed by date. In addition to national issues such as war, abolition, and slavery, readers will find many articles documenting political and social life on the home front. These include topics such as recreational and social events, sports, prose, and local business and economic news.

Readex's Early American Newspapers (1690-1922) is a unique, web-based archive of Americana that provides a fascinating glimpse into our nation's past. The Early American Newspaper Collection will feature the images and full-text content from scores of historical publications.

A collection of digitized State Library of Pennsylvania materials freely available to all.

A complete digital archive of the Post-Gazette, one of the earliest newspapers west of the Alleghenies. Includes news stories, editorials, advertisements, illustrations and other content. The Post-Gazette offers coverage of the U.S. westward expansion, the industrial revolution—from coal mining to the rise of the steel industry and notable figures such as Andrew Carnegie, Henry Clay Fricke, Andrew Mellon, and H.J. Heinz. The Post-Gazette provides researchers a valuable regional perspective on international, national and local news.

A complete digital archive of one of the longest surviving daily newspapers in the United States. Includes all news stories, editorials, advertisements, illustrations and other content. The Inquirer is known for its coverage of the American Civil War; its published works by literary figures such as Charles Dickens and Edgar Allen Poe; and its reporting of breaking news in the city, country, and around the world. The Philadelphia Inquirer offers a regional perspective on historical events as they unfolded.

One of the most nationally circulated Black newspapers, the Pittsburgh Courier reached its peak in the 1930s. A conservative voice in the African-American community, the Pittsburgh Courier challenged the misrepresentation of African-Americans in the national media and advocated social reforms to advance the cause of civil rights.

The oldest continuously published black newspaper, is dedicated to the needs and concerns of the fourth largest black community in the U.S. During the 1930s the paper supported the growth of the United Way, rallied against the riots in Chester, PA, and continuously fought against segregation.

A tabloid-syle newspaper, the Daily News often offered a livelier take on daily life in Philadelphia than its more somber competitors. The digital archive includes searchable text and page images including news articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, and more. Searchable by itself and cross-searchable with all other Proquest Historical newspapers