Books on Patents at Penn State Libraries
Patent It Yourself by
Protect and profit from your invention For 35 years, Patent It Yourself has guided hundreds of thousands of inventors through the process of getting a patent, from start to finish. Patent attorneys David Pressman and David E. Blau provide the latest information, forms, and clear instructions to help you: conduct a patent search the right way evaluate your idea's commercial potential file a provisional patent application to get "patent pending" status prepare a patent application focus on your patent application's claims respond to patent examiners get your drawings done right protect your rights in foreign countries deal with infringers, and market and license your invention. The 20th edition covers the latest patent filing rule changes, including the most recent implications of the America Invents Act first-to-file rules. With downloadable forms: All essential forms, including a Nondisclosure Agreement, Patent Searcher's Worksheet, and Design Patent Application are included in the book and are available for download (details inside).
ISBN: 9781413327809Publication Date: 2020-10-27
Software Rights by
A new perspective on United States software development, seen through the patent battles that shaped our technological landscape This first comprehensive history of software patenting explores how patent law made software development the powerful industry that it is today. Historian Gerardo Con Díaz reveals how patent law has transformed the ways computing firms make, own, and profit from software. He shows that securing patent protection for computer programs has been a central concern among computer developers since the 1950s and traces how patents and copyrights became inseparable from software development in the Internet age. Software patents, he argues, facilitated the emergence of software as a product and a technology, enabled firms to challenge each other's place in the computing industry, and expanded the range of creations for which American intellectual property law provides protection. Powerful market forces, aggressive litigation strategies, and new cultures of computing usage and development transformed software into one of the most controversial technologies ever to encounter the American patent system.
ISBN: 9780300228397Publication Date: 2019-10-22
Ingenious Patents by
Discover some of the most innovative of the 6.5 million patents that the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office has granted since Thomas Jefferson issued the first one in 1790. Updated and reformatted from the original 2004 edition, Ingenious Patents presents each device along with background about the inventor, interesting sidebars and history, and an excerpt from the original patent application. Liberally sprinkled throughout are photos of original models and patent diagrams created by the inventors themselves and annotated to show exactly how each item works. Entries include creative commercial successes in fields as diverse as medicine, aeronautics, computing, agriculture, and consumer goods. Readers are certain to find a topic of interest here, whether it is the history behind the patent for a Pez dispenser, cathode ray tube, kitty litter, DNA fingerprinting, or the design of a Fender Stratocaster guitar.
ISBN: 9780316438490Publication Date: 2018-02-27
The Pocket Legal Companion to Patents by
Many great ideas fail because the inventors do not take the appropriate steps to protect, promote, and profit from their ideas. This friendly guide will walk you through everything that needs to be done before you can expect to realize financial gain from your invention. Experienced patent attorney Carl W. Battle provides methods for commercializing your invention, sources of information and assistance, and helpful guidelines for obtaining a US patent on your idea. Specific topics include: Using patent attorneys and agents Dealing with invention brokers and promotion firms Maintaining confidentiality of your ideas Obtaining foreign patent rights Enforcing your patent against infringement Licensing opportunities And much more This invaluable handbook also offers information that can assist in the selection of an attorney or patent agent, and will help you to get involved and monitor the patent and marketing process. Finally, easy-to-use forms and step-by-step instructions give you the option of saving money by handling the patenting and commercializing processes without hiring a patent attorney or invention broker. If you have an idea for an invention that could improve productivity, create jobs, or solve some long-standing problem, then pick up this Pocket Legal Companion(tm) and learn how to maximize your profits.
ISBN: 1621532658Publication Date: 2013-10-01
Special note on plant patents
Although plant patents can be searched on the USPTO website, color photographs of the plants are only available in print at a PTRC.
Free Patent Searching Databases
- The Lens (previously Patent Lens)Contains US patents from 1976+, European, World, and Australian patents. Contains patent applications from U.S., World, and Australia. Searches full-text, downloadable into RIS format.
- Google PatentsThe content is provided by the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) and consists of patents issued in the 1790s to within the last couple of months and millions of patent applications. The entire collection is full-text searchable. However, there were some errors in the scanning, leaving some text rendered incorrectly.
- United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) Patent Public SearchA new USPTO patent search tool that that deployed in February 2022. Patent Public Search users will be able to search granted patents and published applications now at the same time. It will support the use of proximity operators, document tagging, and allow for notes to be added to pages of the patent.
- European Patent Office - esp@cenetEsp@cenet contains European patents, World patents, and patent applications. Ability to search patents by origin country (i.e. CN for China). Downloadable and printable in PDF.
- PAT2PDFYou must have a patent number, but a quick way to find a downloadable copy of US Patents.
- PatentScopeMore than 68 million patent documents, including international patent applications, available through the World Intellectual Property Organization.
- Wiki PatentsDatabase of patents open for public comment, PDF downloading of patents, and free patent translation into multiple languages.
- Free Patents OnlinePatent search and online research community - developing tools to make searching world’s patent data easier and more convenient.
- United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) Patent Full-Text DatabasesFull-image patents from 1790 to present. 1790-1975 can be searched by date, current U. S. classification number or patent number only. 1976-Present is full text searchable. Requires installation of TIFF viewer plug-in in order to view images. A list of missing patents is available at http://www.uspto.gov/patft/help/contents.htm
- DEPATISnetDEPATISnet is the database of the German Patent and Trade Mark Office for online searches on patent publications from around the world.
- Japan Platform for Patent InformationThe Japan Patent Office's Patent & Utility Model, Design, and Trademarks databases.
Patent Searching at Penn State Libraries
- Derwent Innovations Index This link opens in a new windowrapid, precise patent searching, letting you conduct patent and citation searches of inventions in chemical, electrical, electronic, and mechanical engineering
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
chemical literature and patents
