Archivist and Humanities Librarian
Coordinator of Archives and Special Collections
Coordinator of Archives and Special Collections
Heidi Abbey Moyer
She/Her/Hers
Contact:
Available for in-person and Zoom appointments for Fall 2024
Website
Temporary Liaison for Arts and Architecture
Top Pick
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowCovers all of the visual arts: people, places, major works, styles, periods, techniques, etc.
Overviews and Background Information
Start with a briefing! These publications contain brief overviews of museum issues or practices written by recognized authorities with recommended key readings.
- About Museums (American Alliance of Museums)The major American organization for museum professionals provides a rich assortment of standards, guidelines, best practices, research studies, and statistics, covering all museum functions of museums and key current issues. See the “About Museums” portion of their web site.
- A Companion to Museum StudiesA quasi-encyclopedia that treats cultural and historical issues in museology in a series of broad articles by some noted authorities. Overviews with recommended readings.
- Museum Handbook (National Parks Service)Policies, procedures, and guidance for the preservation, protection and care of all disciplines and materials represented in National Park Service collections – which cover most types of museum artifacts.
- International Handbooks of Museum StudiesOne hundred articles reviewing recent issues in museums, each with selective bibliographies, in separate volumes on theory, practice, media, and “museum transformations.”
- MRM6: Museum Registration MethodsRecommended practices for all aspects of collections registration, care, and management, introduced by an explanation of the role and history of the museum registrar.
- Oxford Art OnlineA extensive encyclopedia of the visual arts with much on art museums.
Directories
Of course, it is easy to find a museum on the web, but online directories can be useful for browsing or counting museums by type or by location.
- Worldwide Guide To Museums OnlineAn international directory of museums with useful categories (places, topics, etc.) and keyword searching.
- Euromuse.net – The Exhibitions Portal for EuropeWhat’s showing where in European museums, with an archive of more that 4000 exhibitions.
- Find a Member Museum (American Alliance of Museums)Three-and-a-half thousand museums by location, type, or keyword.