Just minutes from Harrisburg in Hershey, PA, the AACA Museum is dedicated to the preservation and presentation of motor vehicle history. It is home to the Cammack Tucker Collection, the world’s most extensive collection of Tucker Automobiles and memorabilia, and houses the Museum of Bus Transportation Collection.
Located in Carlisle, the museum is dedicated to the history of Cumberland County from 1750 to the present. It also includes galleries that are focused on the Carlisle Indian School, folk art (including Wilhelm Schimmel), and more.
A comprehensive museum about Milton S. Hershey’s life and the history of Hershey, Pennsylvania. The museum collections also include Native American and Pennsylvania German materials available for researchers by appointment.
Formerly known as Lancaster County’s Historical Society, is an award-winning, local history museum located just outside of Lancaster City. It features a changing series of museum exhibitions from its historic collections, an arboretum, research center (library and archives), and Wheatland, which is the home of 15th U.S. President James Buchanan.
Located inside Reservoir Park in Harrisburg, the National Civil War Museum serves as a national center to inspire lifelong learning of the American Civil War through the preservation and balanced presentation of the American peoples struggles for survival and healing.
Located south of Harrisburg in Lancaster, the North Museum features numerous galleries and exhibits including dinosaur fossils, a planetarium and nature gallery, a live animal room, a LEGO room, a STEAM art gallery, ornithology and geology rooms, and more!
The Pennsylvania National Fire Museum is in an historic 1899 Victorian Firehouse that was once the home of the Reily Hose Fire Co. No. 10 of Harrisburg. Exhibits focus on the history of the fire service from the time of America's colonial days to the present. The museum also has a large collection of artifacts and apparatus.
Located east of Harrisburg at Fort Indiantown Gap, the museum showcases items and weapons from the Civil War to the Gulf War, as well as items that depict the history of the Pennsylvania National Guard and Fort Indiantown Gap.
Part of Franklin & Marshall College in Lancaster, the Phillips Museum features four galleries for the exhibition of the College's permanent art collection of 8,000 objects. Gallery spaces also highlight the work of solo and group exhibitions of contemporary artists as well as traveling exhibits.
Located about an hour east of Harrisburg in Reading, this is an art museum, planetarium, and arboretum all in one. A gem not far from the Harrisburg area, the RPM features European, American, Modern & Contemporary fine art including over 1,000 paintings. Important artists represented in the collection include Edgar Degas, Frederic Church, Jasper Francis Cropsey, John Singer Sargent, N.C. Wyeth, Raphaelle Peale, William Merritt Chase, George Bellows, John Sloan, and Milton Avery. The museum also curates an impressive collection of American Impressionist paintings including works by Childe Hassam, Edward Willis Redfield, William Langson Lathrop, Robert Reid, Frank Weston Benson, Cecelia Beaux, Colin Campbell Cooper, Daniel Garber, J. Alden Weir, and John Henry Twachtman.
The State Museum of Pennsylvania is a non-profit museum at 300 North Street in downtown Harrisburg, run by the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania through the Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission to preserve and interpret the region's history and culture.
Located just thirty minutes west of Harrisburg in Carlisle, the U.S. Army Heritage and Education Center engages, inspires, and informs the Army, the American people, and global partners. It is an integral part of the War College and maintains the knowledge repositories that support scholarship and research about the U.S. Army and its operating environment.
The History Center’s collection encompasses more than 90,000 artifacts highlighting nearly 300 years of York’s impressive history. These artifacts document the development, culture, and contributions of the York County community.