Translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the world are the sources of this information. Full text is currently available for selected areas only. For access to all FBIS reports use the A-Z link for the FBIS Index. All reports are available on microfiche in the Social Sciences Library 2nd floor Paterno.
Links to online collections of International newspapers.
NewspaperARCHIVE is a database of newspaper page images from Pennsylvania, New York and Ohio, with a small number of titles from other states. Searches are automatically limited to the content Penn State has access to. NewspaperARCHIVE is particularly good for accessing historical newspapers from smaller and medium-sized cities and towns across the Commonwealth (e.g., Altoona, Dubois, Gettysburg), as well as NY and Ohio. The text is fully searchable, but there are gaps in coverage for many titles.
Includes more than 13 millions items, articles and the advertisements of the paper since its first issue in 1879.
Kikuzo II Visual for Libraries is a news retrieval service from Asahi shinbun 朝日新聞. Coverage includes more than 13 millions items of the articles and the advertisements of the paper since its first issue in 1879; both Tokyo and Osaka editions; full-text searching of the post-1985 articles; AERA and Shukan Asahi. (One concurrent user. Please logout when finished.)
12 English-language periodicals produced in China.
12 English-language periodicals produced in China. Longer-running publications include the North China Herald (1850-1941), Chinese Repository (1832-1851), Chinese Recorder(1868-1941) and the China Weekly Review (1923-1950). There are also shorter runs of; Canton Times (1919-1920), China Critic (1939-1946), China Monthly Review (1950-1953),China Press (1925-1938), Millard's China National Review (1919-1919), Millard's Review of the Far East (1919-1921), Peking Daily News (1914-1917), Peking Gazette (1915-1917), Peking Leader (1918-1919), Shanghai Gazette (1919-1921), Shanghai Times (1914-1921), and Weekly Review (1922-1923). In addition to the article content, the full-image newspapers offer searchable access to advertisements, editorials, cartoons, and ads.
Periodicals from the Shanghai Library containing about 10,000,000 pieces of writing in over 20,000 different kinds of periodicals.
Chinese Periodical Full-text Database Shanghai Library (1833-1949)Provides full-text to Shanghai Library periodical collections published between 1833 and 1949. The Late Qing Periodical Database contains 300 titles and the Republic China Periodical Database contains 25,000 titles. If you are not automatically logged in, please click on login, then IP login (Do not enter user id/password).
The entire run (1902-1949) of the newspaper, including editions published in Tianjin, Shanghai, Chongqing, Hong Kong, Guiling and Hankou. Limited to 2 users at a time.
Dagongbao Newspaper (大公報1902-1949) provides the entire run of the newspaper, including all editions published in Tianjin, Shanghai, Chongqing, Hong Kong, Guiling and Hankou. It is full text searchable, full text readable and pdf downloadable. Limited to 2 concurrent users.
Published in Tokyo by Japanese publishers, Japan Times is the oldest English language newspaper in Japan and was for many years the only foreign-language newspaper in Japan. The digital archive includes full-text back to 1897 including title changes over the years; Japan Times and Mail, Japan Times and Advertiser, Japan Advertiser, and Nippon Times.
An open access collection of newspapers covering Chinese life, culture, and politics throughout the collapse of the Qing Dynasty, the years of provisional government and civil war, and the birth of the People’s Republic.
The most influential and authoritative newspaper in China, containing government policy information and resolutions as well as major domestic and international news.
The full run (1872-1949) of Shanghai-based Shen Bao (formerly transliterated as Shun Pao) was the longest-lasting and probably most influential newspaper in modern China. Its history is enmeshed in the major Chinese political and cultural developments of the first half of the twentieth century. Searches are allowed only in traditional (not simplified) Chinese.
Features titles published in India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka in the English, Bengali, and Gujarati languages.
Provides more than 400,000 fully searchable pages of newspapers published in South Asia dating from the 19th century. Features titles published in India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka in the English, Bengali, and Gujarati languages. The South Asian papers can be searched along with other titles in the World Newspaper Archive.
Established to serve British residents of West India, the Time illuminates key events in Indian history.
The world’s most widely circulated English daily newspaper was founded in 1838 to serve British residents of West India. Today this historical newspaper serves researchers interested in studying colonialism and post-colonialism, British and world history, class and gender issues, international relations, comparative religion, international economics, terrorism, and more.In its pages, The Times of India illuminates key historical events such as the Sepoy Mutiny, which led to British rule in India; the formation of the Indian National Congress; and the rise of Gandhi’s civil disobedience movement. It captures the 1947 partitioning of India and Pakistan, the war over the Kashmir region, and the creation of Bangladesh. It reports on the assassinations of Indira and Rajiv Gandhi; the Bhopal industrial disaster, which resulted in thousands of deaths; and the rise of Pakistan as a nuclear power.
More than 11 million articles from The Yomiuri Shimbun newspaper since its first issue in 1874. Restricted to three users among five subscribing institutions. Therefore, please logout when finished.
Yomidas Rekishikan (ヨミダス歴史館) is an online database of 11 million articles covering every issue of The Yomiuri Shimbun newspaper since its first issue in 1874. Restricted to three users among five subscribing institutions. Therefore, please logout when finished.
Over 40 African newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Features English- and foreign-language news from Ghana, Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Zimbabwe and other countries.
A fully searchable collection of over 40 African newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Features English- and foreign-language news from Ghana, Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Zimbabwe and other countries.
Cross-search historical newspaper collections. British collections include the Times of London Digital Archive, the 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, the Illustrated London News.
The Gale NewsVault allows researchers to cross-search historical newspaper collections, including the Times Digital Archive, the 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, 19th Century US Newspapers, and many more. Providing access to over 10 million digitized facsimile pages, Gale NewsVault allows the most effective searching across many newspapers.
'A unique resource for social, cultural and political history.'
The world's first illustrated weekly newspaper. The Digital Archive contains the full run from the initial launch in 1842 to the final issue in 2003. The database has more than one and half million color images providing a vivid pictorial commentary on domestic and world affairs. Searches can be limited to illustrations, or sections such as advertising, news and business, arts and leisure, or people.
London newspapers and pamphlets gathered by antiquarian and printer John Nichols. The collection spans the years 1672 to 1737.
Includes fully searchable images of London newspapers and pamphlets gathered by antiquarian and printer John Nichols. This collection, sourced from the Bodleian Library, spans the years 1672 to 1737 and complements the titles and issues found in 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers.
Independent from the Times of London, the Sunday Times was known for its investigative journalism, commentary and in-depth analysis of the week's news. To search with the Times of London and other historical British news sources use the Gale News Vault database
Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
Includes: Irish Pictorial (1957-1958), The Irish Times (1859-1859), The Irish Times (1874-1920), The Irish Times (1921-Current File), The Irish Times and Daily Advertiser (1859-1874), Pictorial (1955-1957), Times Pictorial (1941-1955), Weekly Irish Times (1876-1920), Weekly Irish Times (1921-1941) .
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Newspapers collected by the British library during the war. Offers a full view of conditions in occupied France.
"La France pendant la guerre 1939-1945: journaux de la Resistance et de VichyThe complete French holdings of the British Library - acquired through intelligence, clandestine and neutral sources - offers as full a view of life in France during World War II as was possible at the time.The British Library holds many resistance titles never acquired by the Bibliothèque Nationale because France was under German occupation. Digitized and full-text searchable, Voices from Wartime France 1939-1945 constitutes the sum of the French press that reached Britain during the German Occupation of France from 1940-44."
Over 140 titles from from 22 countries. Content is in the original language - mostly English, but some Spanish, French, and Danish
Large collection of 18th and 19th-century Caribbean newspapers documenting the colonial history of the region, the Atlantic slave trade, and New World slavery. All content is in page-image format and in its original language (generally English, French, or Spanish).
Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970. Content in English or Spanish, depending upon publication.
Historical newspapers from North, South and Central America. Dates of coverage vary and some papers will be incomplete.
Full page reproductions of newspapers from North, South and Central America including; Argentina, Belize, Bolivia Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Trinidad and Tobago, and Venezuela. Dates of coverage vary by country and some papers will be incomplete. The entire database may be searched at once, or papers can be browsed by country, publication date, language or newspaper title. Includes Series 1 & 2 combined.
An open access collection of newspapers from various countries. Titles are from the 19th and 20th centuries.
Historical newspapers from the region including titles from Algeria, Egypt, Iraq, Lebanon, Morocco, and Syria. Content is predominantly in Arabic, with some titles in English and French. The collection comprises mostly out-of-copyright, older issues.
The official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party.
Pravda ("Truth") was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party between 1918 and 1991. Founded in 1912 in St. Petersburg, Pravda originated as an underground daily workers’ newspaper, and it soon became the main newspaper of the revolutionary wing of the Russian socialist movement. Throughout the Soviet era, party members were obligated to read Pravda. Today, Pravda still remains the official organ of the Communist Party of the Russian Federation, an important political faction in contemporary Russian politics.
Full-text files of over 30 of the Russian newspapers are accessible online for browsing, searching and analyzing. Includes some English language papers. For more recent content, as well as other Russian newspaper titles, please use Factiva.