More than 170 periodicals by and about African-Americans
Features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans including academic and political journals, commercial magazines, organizational newsletters, and other genres. Includes many Rare and short-lived titles.
Over 7,000 full-text magazines including many rare and unique titles from the American Antiquarian Society.
Over 7,000 full-text magazines including many rare and unique titles from the American Antiquarian Society. Most are American magazines with a few Canadian and British Empire titles. Contains early publications in many subjects; religion, medicine, science and technology, agriculture, music, art, education, and business as well as publications focusing on children, women, Native Americans and African-Americans.
Full-text of special interest and general magazines including literary and professional journals,children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
Search a selection of periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals. Contains full-text of American magazines and journals that originated between 1741 and 1900. Digitized page images reproduce the publications as they appeared when originally published.
Magazines and journals from the the late seventeenth to the early twentieth centuries.
Full texts of hundreds of journals from the late seventeenth to the early twentieth centuries. Includes some of the major magazines as well as specialized titles in literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences.
Covers international political, business, scientific, technological and cultural news.
A complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2003. New full-colour images, multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables and a gallery of front covers highlighting a key topic of each week. Covers political, business, scientific, technological and cultural news. For more up to date articles use the e-journal list from the libraries' home page.
Full color reproductions of selected American popular magazines including Life, Billboard, Ebony, Jet, New York Magazine, and Popular Mechanics.
Searches will include books and magazines. Select "search tools" to limit results to magazine articles.
Especially well known for its cartoons and images covering political, military, social, and cultural stories.
The online version of Harper's Weekly, a leading 19th Century illustrated magazine, covering political, military, social, and cultural stories. It contains many images by noted artists such as Winslow Homer, Thomas Nast, and Mathew Brady. In addition, over 30,000 advertisements, categorized by topic and advertiser, are included. Literature in the database is searchable by title, author and literary genre. HarpWeek may be browsed by date or literary genre and the full text is searchable by keywords. Penn State access includes the The Civil War Era 1857 - 1871, Reconstruction, 1872 - 1877 and the Gilded Age, 1878 - 1912.
Searchable archive of major periodicals devoted to LGBT+ interests. Coverage:1954-2015
When completed, will contain archival runs of 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests. Includes the pre-eminent US and UK titles – The Advocate and Gay Times, respectively. Chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community. In addition to LGBT/gender/sexuality studies, this material also serves related disciplines such as sociology, political science, psychology, health, and the arts. Coverage: 1954-2015.
Use to identify articles by subject appearing in major American magazines.
The online version of the original Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature, offers subject access to over 3 million articles from approximately 375 leading magazines. Use Readers Guides Retrospective to find contemporary magazine accounts documenting events in politics, fashion, media, film, television, health and medicine, literature, popular culture, religion and science. App information
Popular magazines aimed at female readers. Titles include Good Housekeeping, Ladies’ Home Journal, Redbook, Comopolitan, Essence, and Seventeen.
Women’s Magazine Archive provides access to the complete archives of the foremost titles of this type, including Good Housekeeping and Ladies’ Home Journal, which serve as canonical records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores. Other titles here focus on narrower topics but deliver valuable source content for specific research areas. Parents, for example, is of particular relevance for research in the fields of children’s education, psychology, and health, as well as reflecting broader social historical trends.