Librarian
Jacob Gordon
He / His / Him
Contact:
jeg6049@psu.edu
Eiche Library
Penn State Altoona
Eiche Library
Penn State Altoona
814-949-5519
Subjects: Campus: Altoona
Additional Newspaper Sources
- The Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals, 1800-1900 (20 volumes)Directory to the largest single body of historical documents arising out of nineteenth century England at the height of the British Empire.
- Ayer Directory of PublicationsA listing of newspapers and periodicals. Also, for newspapers, it provides circulation data, and political leanings.
- Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast MediaContinues Ayer Directory of Publications.
- The Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals, 1800-1900 (20 volumes)Directory to the largest single body of historical documents arising out of nineteenth century England at the height of the British Empire.
- The Waterloo Directory of Irish Newspapers and Periodicals, 1800-1900 (one volume)Alphabetical listing and description of publications in Ireland in all fields, including the arts, sciences, professions, trades, labour, agriculture, industry, entertainment, sport, church and home.
- The Waterloo Directory of Scottish Newspapers and Periodicals, 1800-1900 (two volumes)Alphabetical listing and description of newspaper and periodical publications in Scotland in all fields, including the arts, sciences, professions, trades, labour, agriculture, industry, entertainment, sport, church, children, women and finance.
- The Waterloo Directory of Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900 (one volume)England, Ireland, Scotland & Wales.
- Willing's Press Guide (1974-1987)A concise and comprehensive index to the press of the United Kingdom.
- Guide to Microforms in PrintNewspapers on Microfilm.
- Newspapers in Microform (1948-1983)Newspapers on Microfilm.
- Center for Research Libraries Catalog This link opens in a new windowMaterials (books, newspapers, dissertations) that are *not* widely available. Non digitized items can be requested through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). When possible, requested ILL materials are digitized [When possible, within 5 days]. VPN and PSU account required for off campus access to digital scans.
- Rowell's & Ayer's American Newspaper DirectoryFrom the Library of Congress.
- The American Newspaper Directory and Record of the Press (1861)Contains an accurate list of all the newspapers, magazines, reviews, periodicals, etc. in the United States & British provinces of North America. Contains a concise general view of the origin, rise and progress of newspapers.
- U.S. Newspapers Directory, 1690-presentNewspapers published in the United States since 1690. [Library of Congress]
- American Antiquarian Society NewspapersContains newspapers from all fifty states and the District of Columbia, the Canadian provinces, the West Indies, and Great Britain (British newspapers are retained through the Revolutionary War period).
- ICON : International Coalition on NewspapersContains over 25,000 records pertaining to global newspapers and holding libraries.
- Newspaper Archives/Indexes/MorguesLibrary of Congress Newspaper & Current Periodical Reading Room.
- NewspaperCat: Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers [UF])Online digitized historical newspaper content from newspapers published in the United States and the Caribbean.
- State Library of PennsylvaniaSearch for Pennsylvania newspapers via online catalog/PILOT.
- U.S. Historical Newspapers Online [BGSU]Extensive listing of freely available newspapers from the 18th through the 20th centuries
- Wisconsin Historical Society Newspapers and PeriodicalsIncludes North American newspapers dating back to the early 18th century, Wisconsin newspapers, Colonial and early American newspapers west of the Appalachians, and Labor and trade union newspapers.