Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Government Information

a guide to finding U.S. federal, Pennsylvania state, and foreign/international government information.

Description

Documents in the News aims to highlight the use of government information in the news and media.  It is not an attempt to be comprehensive, but a place to foster discovery and access to government information and to highlight how that information may be helpful in the research process.

April 19, 2021. “Wild and Free-Roaming Horses and Burros Act of 1971.” Wild horses, donkeys to go up for adoption in Michigan. Leonard N. Fleming. Detroit News. Database: NewsBank. US Congress.

April 18, 2021. “H.R.476 - Innovation Centers Acceleration Act.” Push for Federal R&D Could Boost Region's Labs. Daniel Moore. Pittsburgh Post-Gazette. Database: NewsBank. US Congress.

April 17, 2021. “H.R.1 - An Act to provide for reconciliation pursuant to titles II and V of the concurrent resolution on the budget for fiscal year 2018..” Florida Senate says 'cheers!' to tax break - for three-martini lunches, but House doesn't. Mary Ellen Klas. Miami Herald. Database: NewsBank. US Congress.

April 17, 2021. “COVID-19 Consumer Protection Act of the 2021, Consolidated Appropriations Act.” Creve Coeur chiropractor scammed consumers with false COVID cure claims, FTC says. Robert Patrick. St. Louis Post-Dispatch. Database: NewsBank. Federal Trade Commission.

April 17, 2021. “H.R.7120 - George Floyd Justice in Policing Act of 2020.” Biden's appeals for action on guns, policing face reality. Zeke Miller and Alexandra Jaffe. St. Louis Post-Dispatch. Database: NewsBank. US Congress.

April 16, 2021. “S.3548 - CARES Act.” It’s more affordable and more difficult to get mortgage. Rick Piette. Las Vegas Review-Journal. Database: NewsBank. US Congress.

April 16, 2021. “H.R.40 - Commission to Study and Develop Reparation Proposals for African Americans Act.” WASHINGTON - House committee votes to look at reparations - Panel would look at effects of discrimination. Savannah Behrmann. USA TODAY. Database: NewsBank. US Congress.

April 16, 2021. “H.R.1 - For the People Act of 2021.” Deal between corporations, GOP still alive. Robert Reich. Sun. Database: NewsBank. US Congress.

April 16, 2021. “Comprehensive Drug Abuse Prevention and Control Act of 1970.” Enforcement tool to crack down on opioids in US is set to expire. Michael Balsamo. St. Louis Post-Dispatch. Database: NewsBank. US Congress.

April 16, 2021. “Lilly Ledbetter Fair Pay Act of 2009.” Equal pay bill nears OK in House, faces long odds in Senate - NEWS BRIEFING. Sun. Database: NewsBank. US Congress.

April 15, 2021. “H.R.6721 - COVID-19 Hate Crimes Act.” Nation & World Digest: No charges for officer in Capitol riot shooting. Associated Press. St. Louis Post-Dispatch. Database: NewsBank. US Congress

April 14, 2021. “H.R.6721 - COVID-19 Hate Crimes Act.” Support sought for anti-Asian hate bill. Jeanine Santucci. USA TODAY. Database: NewsBank. US Congress

April 13, 2021. “H.R.3590 - Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act.” Uninsured could get $1 per month health plans. Dale Kasler. Sacramento Bee. Database: NewsBank. US Congress

April 13, 2021. “S.1105 - A bill to provide COVID-19 mitigation instructions for cruise ships and other purposes.” New Scott, Rubio bill seeks to override CDC's cruise regulations, allow sailing soon. Alex Daugherty. Miami Herald. Database: NewsBank. US Congress.

April 13, 2021. “H.R.7178 - CHIPS for America Act.” 'Special treatment' for autos unlikely - Biden administration appears unwilling to set aside vital chips. Riley Beggin. Detroit News. Database: NewsBank. US Congress

April 13, 2021. “S.3170 - PUMP for Nursing Mothers Act.” CORONAVIRUS PANDEMIC - Nursing moms face barriers at work - Return to jobs presents challenges for feeding babies. Charisse Jones. USA TODAY. Database: NewsBank. US Congress

April 11, 2021. “S.3548 - CARES Act.” Pandemic recasts the state economy - A legacy of record unemployment, massive bailouts, new businesses. Judith Kohler and Joe Rubino. Denver Post. Database: NewsBank. US Congress

April 4 - 10

April 10, 2021. “H.R.1 - For the People Act of 2021.” Groups pressure Senate to end filibuster. Lisa Mascaro. St. Louis Post-Dispatch. Database: NewsBank. US Congress

April 9, 2021. “S.3548 - CARES Act.” ‘An enormous waste’: How stimulus checks play in red-state America. Story Hinckley and Nick Roll. Christian Science Monitor. Database: NewsBank. US Congress

April 9, 2021. “Voting Rights Act of 1965.” GOP rips hire by vote map panel - Consultant has made campaign contributions to Democrat Benson. Beth LeBlanc. Detroit News. Database: NewsBank. US Congress

April 9, 2021. “Federal-Aid Highway Act of 1956” & “National Defense Education Act of 1958.” Returning to boring has its political benefits. Sun. Database: NewsBank. US Congress

April 9, 2021. “H.R.3590 - Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act.” Pushing Obama to go big on health care. Susan Page. USA TODAY. Database: NewsBank. US Congress.

April 8, 2021. “THE NATIONAL FIREARMS ACT.” Justice Department to regulate gun accessory - Arm brace allegedly was used by attacker in Boulder shooting. Justin Wingerter. Denver Post. Database: NewsBank. US Congress

April 7, 2021. “H.R.6 - American Dream and Promise Act of 2021.” Immigration activists demand Cornyn action. Olivia P. Tallet. Houston Chronicle. Database: NewsBank. US Congress

April 7, 2021. “H.R.227 - Build America Act of 2021.” DEATHS | U.S. REP. ALCEE HASTINGS, D-South FLORIDA - Congressman Alcee Hastings dies at 84: 'My life is defined by fighting battles worth fighting' - U.S. Rep. Alcee Hastings overcame a series of legal battles and controversies to rank as Florida's longest-serving member of Congress. Linda Robertson and Alex Daugherty. Miami Herald. Database: NewsBank. US Congress

April 7, 2021. “Congressional Budget Act of 1974". $PREE (SPREE) FOR ALL - Ruling clears way for fili‘bust’. Emily Jacobs. New York Post. Database: NewsBank. US Congress

April 7, 2021. “H.R.3590 - Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act.” IBC Records Big Income Gain for ’20 - The region’s largest health insurer made $622 million. Harold Brubaker. Philadelphia Inquirer. Database: NewsBank. US Congress

 April 6, 2021. “H.R.1319 - American Rescue Plan Act of 2021.” Georgia gets $96M to provide more shots - Grant mostly targets underserved areas. J. Scott Trubey. Atlanta Journal-Constitution. Database: NewsBank. US Congress

April 6, 2021. “Telephone Consumer Protection Act of 1991.” Supreme Court opened the floodgates for more, not fewer, robocalls. Jon Healey. Miami Herald. Database: NewsBank. US Congress

April 5, 2021. “H.R.5 - Equality Act.” Biden largely ignoring culture wars - Why strategy of silence likely plays to his benefit. Michael Collins. USA TODAY. Database: NewsBank. US Congress.

April 4, 2021. “S.914 - Drinking Water and Wastewater Infrastructure Act of 2021.” Biden Infrastructure Plan Puts Water Upgrades on Tap - Advocates Press for Stricter Lead Rule. Daniel Moore. Pittsburgh Post-Gazette. Database: NewsBank. US Congress.

March 28 - April 3

 April 6, 2021. “H.R.1319 - American Rescue Plan Act of 2021.” Georgia gets $96M to provide more shots - Grant mostly targets underserved areas. J. Scott Trubey. Atlanta Journal-Constitution. Database: NewsBank. US Congress

April 6, 2021. “Telephone Consumer Protection Act of 1991.” Supreme Court opened the floodgates for more, not fewer, robocalls. Jon Healey. Miami Herald. Database: NewsBank. US Congress

April 5, 2021. “H.R.5 - Equality Act.” Biden largely ignoring culture wars - Why strategy of silence likely plays to his benefit. Michael Collins. USA TODAY. Database: NewsBank. US Congress.

April 4, 2021. “S.914 - Drinking Water and Wastewater Infrastructure Act of 2021.” Biden Infrastructure Plan Puts Water Upgrades on Tap - Advocates Press for Stricter Lead Rule. Daniel Moore. Pittsburgh Post-Gazette. Database: NewsBank. US Congress.

April 3, 2021. “S.555 - Indian Gaming Regulatory Act.” Ruling a win for tribes on casinos. Bob Egelko. San Francisco Chronicle. Database: NewsBank. US Congress.

April 2, 2021. “H.R.1603 - Farm Workforce Modernization Act of 2021.” 'We stand with you,' First Lady tells farmworkers, leaders in Delano. Thaddeus Miller. Sacramento Bee. Database: NewsBank. US Congress.

April 1, 2021. “Exercising Prosecutorial Discretion with Respect to Individuals Who Came to the United States as Children.” Judge urged to hold off on DACA ruling. Gabrielle Banks. Houston Chronicle. Database: NewsBank. Department of Homeland Security.

April 1, 2021. “S.933 - Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990.” Pa. and N.J. hoping for billions in aid. Thomas Fitzgerald. Philadelphia Inquirer. Database: NewsBank. US Congress

March 31, 2021. “H.R.3355 - Violent Crime Control and Law Enforcement Act of 1994.” Women's history month - Steinem: Violence threatens feminism. Alia E. Dastagir. USA TODAY. Database: NewsBank. US Congress.

March 30, 2021. “H.R.1 - American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009.” Texas takes aim at solar, wind with new fees; Measure seeks to counter subsidies for renewables. Jeremy Wallace. Houston Chronicle. Database: NewsBank. US Congress

March 30, 2021. “H.R.1754 - Horseracing Integrity and Safety Act of 2020.” Del Mar sets standard for safety. Bryce Miller. San Diego Union-Tribune. Database: NewsBank. US Congress

March 29, 2021. “S.3548 - CARES Act.” 2020 tax year questions, answered - Didn’t get stimulus checks? Took money from retirement accounts? What you need to know. Erin Arvedlund. Philadelphia Inquirer. Database: NewsBank. US Congress.

March 28, 2021. “S.278 - Emergency Relief for Farmers of Color Act of 2021.” Black farmers look to benefit from stimulus - Provision in $1.9 trillion relief package would provide $5 billion to assist those discriminated against. Ernie Suggs. Atlanta Journal-Constitution. Database: NewsBank. US Congress.

March 28, 2021. “H.R.1319 - American Rescue Plan Act of 2021.” Pandemic lays bare paucity of child care - Vital work historically undervalued in U.S. Alfred Lubrano. Philadelphia Inquirer. Database: NewsBank. US Congress.