Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Government Information

a guide to finding U.S. federal, Pennsylvania state, and foreign/international government information.

Description

Documents in the News aims to highlight the use of government information in the news and media.  It is not an attempt to be comprehensive, but a place to foster discovery and access to government information and to highlight how that information may be helpful in the research process.

Current News

April 19, 2021. “Regular Session 2021-2022 House Bill 972.” West Chester CEOs support anti-trans legislator, disapproving public takes to streets. Matthew Shimkonis. U-Wire. Database: Factiva. Pennsylvania General Assembly.

April 18, 2021. “Regular Session 2021-2022 House Bill 1167.” Lawmaker’s bill takes aim at Pa.’s education inequity. Connor Lagore. Express-Times. Database: NewsBank. Pennsylvania General Assembly.

April 18, 2021. “Regular Session 2021-2022 Senate Bill 191.” Bill would help PA farmers host barn weddings. Amber South. Public Opinion. Database: NewsBank. Pennsylvania General Assembly.

April 17, 2021. “Regular Session 2021-2022 House Bill 464.” Grandparents raising grandchildren facing more challenges. Denise Allabaugh. Citizen's Voice. Database: NewsBank. Pennsylvania General Assembly.

April 16, 2021. “Regular Session 2021-2022 Senate Bill 465.” Bill reintroduced to boost agricultural conservation efforts. Farmer's Friend. Database: NewsBank. Pennsylvania General Assembly.

April 16, 2021. “Regular Session 2021-2022 Senate Bill 552” & “Regular Session 2021-2022 Senate Bill 488.” Public access battles involve Penn State, 'vexatious' requests. Chip Minemyer. Tribune-Democrat. Database: NewsBank. Pennsylvania General Assembly.

April 15, 2021. “Regular Session 2021-2022 House Bill 824.” Chester County lawmakers support marriage equality legislation. Michael P. Rellahan. Daily Local News. Database: NewsBank. Pennsylvania General Assembly.

April 15, 2021. “Regular Session 2021-2022 Senate Bill 109.” Armstrong County residents apply through state website for emergency rental assistance aid - The $847 million Emergency Rental Assistance Program launched in March. Patrick Cloonan. Leader Times. Database: NewsBank. Pennsylvania General Assembly.

April 14, 2021. “Regular Session 2021-2022 House Bill 272.” Local lawmakers explain 'fair funding' in AAUW forum. Dan Sokil. Reporter. Database: NewsBank. Pennsylvania General Assembly

April 11, 2021. “Regular Session 2021-2022 House Bill 335.” Daylight saving time bill moves on to state Senate. Eagle Staff Report. Butler Eagle. Database: NewsBank. Pennsylvania General Assembly.

April 11, 2021. “Regular Session 2021-2022 Senate Bill 234.” Retail pet sales bans don't actually protect the animals. Erie Times-News. Database: NewsBank. Pennsylvania General Assembly.

April 11, 2021. “Regular Session 2021-2022 House Bill 290.” Nonprofits Would Have Online Option. Jan Murphy. Pittsburgh Post-Gazette. Database: NewsBank. Pennsylvania General Assembly.

April 4 -10

April 9, 2021. “Regular Session 2021-2022 House Bill 605.” Pa. House advances bill to give COVID-19 legal protection. Jo Ciavaglia. York Daily Record. Database: NewsBank. Pennsylvania General Assembly.

April 8, 2021. “Regular Session 2021-2022 Senate Bill 441” & “Regular Session 2021-2022 House Bill 22” & “Regular Session 2021-2022 Senate Bill 222.” Redistricting advocate sees help from Argall's legislation. Christine Lee. Republican Herald. Database: NewsBank. Pennsylvania General Assembly.

April 8, 2021. “Regular Session 2021-2022 House Bill 951.” State House OKs plan to allow sex abuse victims to sue despite statute of limitations. John Finnerty. Daily Item. Database: NewsBank. Pennsylvania General Assembly.

April 7, 2021. “Regular Session 2021-2022 House Bill 425” & “Regular Session 2021-2022 House Bill 427.” Restaurant aid bills win House approval in Pennsylvania. Christen Smith. Daily Review. Database: NewsBank. Pennsylvania General Assembly.

April 7, 2021. “Regular Session 2021-2022 House Bill 972.” News From Our State Legislators. Daily Courier. Database: NewsBank. Pennsylvania General Assembly.

April 6, 2021. “Regular Session 2021-2022 House Bill 264.” Heffley’s blight bill advances to state Senate. Staff report. Standard-Speaker. Database: NewsBank. Pennsylvania General Assembly

April 5, 2021. “Regular Session 2021-2022 House Bill 207” & “Regular Session 2021-2022 Senate Bill 431.” Pa. may change the way hunters buy deer licenses. Brian Whipkey. Daily News. Database: NewsBank. Pennsylvania General Assembly.

April 5, 2021. “Regular Session 2021-2022 House Bill 606.” Local radar bill faces key hurdle in state House. John Finnerty. Meadville Tribune. Database: NewsBank. Pennsylvania General Assembly

March 28 - April 3

 April 2, 2021. “Regular Session 2021-2022 Senate Bill 232” & “Regular Session 2021-2022 House Bill 526.” SOA cautions more expenses without a dog license fee increase. Ridgeway Record. Database: NewsBank. Pennsylvania General Assembly.

April 1, 2021. “Regular Session 2021-2022 Senate Bill 382.” From tolls to a burn ban, commissioners deal with extensive agenda. Staci Wilson. Susquehanna County Independent & Weekender. Database: NewsBank. Pennsylvania General Assembly.

April 1, 2021. “Regular Session 2021-2022 House Bill 540.” Westmont assistant principal touts local programs during Sandy Hook Promise rally. Joshua Byers. Tribune-Democrat. Database: NewsBank. Pennsylvania General Assembly. 

March 30, 2021. “Regular Session 2021-2022 House Bill 14” & “Regular Session 2015-2016 House Bill 951.” A dual path to justice for victims of child sexual abuse in Pennsylvania. Rep. Jim Gregory. Erie Times-News. Database: NewsBank. Pennsylvania General Assembly.

March 28, 2021. “Regular Session 2021-2022 House Bill 606.” Bill would allow Pa. municipal police to use radar. Teresa Boeckel. Daily News. Database: NewsBank. Pennsylvania General Assembly.

March 28, 2021. “Regular Session 2019-2020 Senate Bill 1268.” On the rebound. Terrie Morgan-Besecker. Times-Tribune. Database: NewsBank. Pennsylvania General Assembly.