Library Guides: Global Development Issues: Find Background Information

Find Industry, Company Information

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
- full-text industry reports
- U.S. industry risk rating reports
- Information on more than 8000 publicly-traded companies
- economic and demographic profiles
IBISWorld provides over 700 full-text industry reports, 700 US industry risk rating reports, and information on over 8000 Publicly Traded US Companies as well as hundreds of economic and demographic profiles. Subscription includes access to the US Industry State Reports module.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Industry and Company (private and public) reports.
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Covers many news sources for 20 years. Court cases and statutes from all federal and state jurisdictions are included. Most resources can be searched in full text.
Congressional Research Service Reports This link opens in a new window
Provides a great historical overview of the issues facing industry in the United States. These reports are submitted to congressional committees.
Research papers written by the Library of Congress for the use of Congress. Provide objective, non-partisan analysis of public policy issues before the legislature. Full text PDF of reports.

Cities of the World [online]
via Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Cities of the United States
online via Gale Virtual Reference Library.
The United States Conference of Mayors
provides a directory of mayors and links to city web pages. This site also contains comprehensive reports from surveys of major metropolitan areas in the United States.

National Conference of State Legislatures
provides information on a wide range of state legislature issue areas.
USA.gov
"the U.S. government's official web portal", maintains a comprehensive list of state government web sites.
GobiernoUSA.gov
USA.gov en español.

Libraries' guide that provides links to resources for information and data about world regions and countries.