Materials science is a multidisciplinary field that draws upon resources ranging from chemistry and physics to engineering and medicine. Although there are distinct sub-disciplines such as metals and metallurgy, ceramics, and polymers, most information resources are broad and inclusive.
Index to resources related to electrical and electronic materials, 1896 to date.
Inspec is a leading bibliographic information database covering the fields of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology with more than 7.7 million records taken from 3,500 technical and scientific journals and 1,500 conference proceedings. Coverage: 1896-present.
Good source for the latest journal articles related to materials.
Web of Science provides access to: the Science Citation Index Expanded 1900-present; the Social Sciences Citation Index 1956-present; and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975-present. Web of Science indexes articles from thousands of journals and also indexes the citations used in those articles, thus allowing the user to see which papers have cited a core paper, and how many times a paper was cited in a given time period. Covers published content is almost every discipline.
Multidisciplinary coverage of journals, books, etc. with citation data.
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities. It includes citation data and tools that track, analyze and visualize research productivity and metrics.
SciFinder-n indexes the chemical literature as well as providing searchable information regarding specific chemical substances, reactions, structure and substructure searching, chemical supplier information, and a retrosynthesis planner.
Special Access Notes: Global Protect VPN required for remote access.
When accessing SciFinder-n, users will need their Penn State access credentials as well as a separate SciFinder-n login and password, which they can obtain using on-screen instructions. Register for a SciFinder-n Account.
Useful source to locating articles on biomedical materials resources.
PubMed is a web interface that allows you to search MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine's premier database of citations and abstracts for biomedical research articles. The core subject is medicine, but subject coverage also includes bioethics, biology, chemistry, dentistry, environmental health, genetics, gerontology, health care planning and administration, history of medicine, hospital administration, microbiology, nutrition, nursing (International Nursing Index), physiology, pre-clinical sciences, public health, sports medicine, veterinary medicine and zoology. MEDLINE covers over 4,800 journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The database contains over 15 million citations dating back to 1950. Coverage is worldwide and updated weekly. Learn more about PubMed at: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/factsheets/pubmed.html. or Try the Tutorial at: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pubmed_tutorial/m1001.html
ASTM standards, manuals and other publications are available via this link.
Provides full-text access to all current ASTM (American Society of Testing Materials) and AASHTO (American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials) standards. Content on the ASTM Compass platform to which we do NOT have access: ASTM Videos, AATCC, API, AWS and AWWA.
Special Access Notes: ASTM requires Chrome, Edge, or Firefox for remote access.
Optical and photonic materials are the focus of this database.
The SPIE Digital Library contains the full text of all papers appearing in SPIE Proceedings and SPIE journals from 1998 to the present, plus a substantial amount of full text coverage going back to 1990. SPIE publications cover all areas of optics and photonics.
Resources related to electronic materials are part of this database
IEEE Xplore contains the full text of all IEEE & IET conference papers, and standards published since 1988 and all IEEE journals since 1884 & IET journals since 1988. The material can be accessed through a searchable database or by browsing. 100 concurrent users. Inactive users timeout after 15 minutes.
Indexes scholarly journals from Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa from 2002 onward, with links to full text. It is a subset of the SciELO database, which contains other resources as well.
Provides scholarly literature in sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities published in leading open access journals from Latin American, Portugal, Spain, and South Africa.
Index to about 2,000 scholarly journals highlighting the best of Korean research. Links to full-text is included.
This collaboration with the National Research Foundation of Korea provides access to search and view critically important regional content with international impact. Get a comprehensive picture of the influencers and drivers of regional research: Approximately 2,000 scholarly journals (over 1,500 new to the Web of Science); mixture of open-access and subscription titles; has the same feature set as Web of Science source record databases; simplified discovery process for local information in a regional database; an easy search experience with local language interface; free of charge to existing Web of Science subscribers.
KISS has from about1,800 scholarly journals from Korea.
KISS is a full-text database including over one million articles from about1,800 scholarly journals on linguistics, humanities, social science, naturalscience, engineering, agricultural science, marine science, and arts. It alsocontains 790 papers registered with the National Research Foundation ofKorea.