If you want to know the process by which a material is made, this is a useful tool.
The Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology is a major reference resource for chemistry, chemical engineering, and related disciplines. It contains substantial articles on topics in these areas and has extensive bibliographies that accompany the articles.
(also known as the Metals Handbook) – this set of over 20 volumes is THE reference work on metals. It is the first resource to consult when looking for data on metals and alloys. The Knovel database has a variety of interactive tables from the handbook
This resource features extensive engineering and property data for materials of all types. It contains the full-text of several ASM handbooks, including the Metals Handbook and the Engineered Materials Handbook.
A collection of handbooks and textbooks, with interactive graphs and equations.
AccessEngineering provides access to interdisciplinary engineering information, as well as tools for analyzing information and assisting with the learning process. Included in the content are eBooks, manuals, and handbooks; graphing tools; material information and calculators; problem sets; videos; and much more.
Fulltext of ebooks and interactive graphs and property data.
Knovel eBooks provides access to highly desired handbooks, manuals, some textbooks, and other items in a cohesive fashion. It interacts with Engineering Village to provide seamless moving from journals to books, to providing tools to help use the information found in the eBooks. Examples include online graphing tools, materials information under different conditions, and equations for calculating using your data. Knovel is more books.
Newnes Engineering Materials Pocket Book is a guidebook that provides a concise discussion on the various materials used in engineering. The coverage of the book includes ferrous and non-ferrous metals, polymeric materials, and ceramics and composites. The text first presents the terminology, and then proceeds to covering the test methods. The next nine chapters discuss the properties of various engineering materials, including copper, magnesium, nickel, and titanium. Next, the book presents the comparative properties table and materials index.
This Five-Volume Set addresses topics such as extractive metallurgy, powder metallurgy and processing, physical metallurgy, production engineering, corrosion engineering, thermal processing, metalworking, welding, iron- and steelmaking, heat treating, rolling, casting, hot and cold forming, surface finishing and coating, crystallography, metallography, computational metallurgy, metal-matrix composites, intermetallics, nano- and micro-structured metals and alloys, nano- and micro-alloying effects, special steels, and mining.
The Plastics Collection includes books, periodicals, manuscripts, and over 2,500 plastic objects produced from the late-19th Century to the present day that represent facets of the development of the plastics industry.
Encyclopedia of Materials: Plastics and Polymers, Four Volume Set covers plastics and polymeric materials, including their fundamental properties, current and potential future application areas in various private, public, commercial and industrial sectors, and their biodegradability, reusability and disposability. As well as covering all aspects of the science and applications of plastics and polymers, the book expounds on newer developments, including up-to-date articles and knowledge.
Also available in print. The 'Dictionary of Metals' is an authoritative reference work for terms and definitions of metals and terms relating to metals. It also includes a considerable amount of history starting with the seven metals of antiquity.