Excellent source for engineering and property data for many metals and non-metallic materials.
This resource features extensive engineering and property data for materials of all types. It contains the fulltext of several ASM handbooks including the Metals Handbook and the Engineered Materials Handbook.
Compilation of critically evaluated materials science data, from thermodynamics to physical properties.
SpringerMaterials is based on the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, the unique, fully evaluated data collection in all areas of physical sciences and engineering. SpringerMaterials also comprises the Dortmund Data Bank Software & Separation Technology, a Database on Thermophysical Properties and the Linus Pauling Files, a Database on Inorganic Solid Phases and chemical safety data. SpingerMaterials is expanded and updated on a quarterly basis and offers advanced search & navigation functionalities.
This tool aids in locating quality data sets across a variety of disciplines.
The Data Citation Index on the Web of Science™ platform provides a single point of access to quality research data from repositories across disciplines and around the world.Through linked content and summary information, this data is displayed within the broader context of the scholarly research, enabling users to gain perspective that is lost when data sets or repositories are viewed in isolation. These connections allow researchers to efficiently access an array of data across subjects and regions, providing a comprehensive picture of research output, to maximize research efforts and accurately assess importance.
This database supports property searching and interactive equations.
Knovel eBooks provides access to highly desired handbooks, manuals, some textbooks, and other items in a cohesive fashion. It interacts with Engineering Village to provide seamless moving from journals to books, to providing tools to help use the information found in the eBooks. Examples include online graphing tools, materials information under different conditions, and equations for calculating using your data. Knovel is more than books. PSU access is limited to the following 23 subject modules: Adhesives Coatings Sealants & Inks; Aerospace & Radar Technology; Biochemistry Biology & Biotechnology; Chemistry & Chemical Engineering; Civil Engineering & Construction Materials; Composites; Computer Hardware Engineering; Electrical & Power Engineering; Electronics & Semiconductors; Environment & Environmental Engineering; Food Science; General Engineering & Project Administration; Industrial Engineering & Operations Management; Manufacturing Engineering; Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering; Metals & Metallurgy; Mining Engineering & Extractive Metallurgy; Oil & Gas Engineering; Optics & Photonics; Plastics & Rubber; Software Engineering; Sustainable Energy & Development; Transportation Engineering
This collection of texts and handbooks includes interactive tools for material property visualization. DataVis is one such included tool.
AccessEngineering provides access to interdisciplinary engineering information, as well as tools for analyzing information and assisting with the learning process. Included in the content are eBooks, manuals, and handbooks; graphing tools; material information and calculators; problem sets; videos; and much more.
Provides access to reaction and other chemical data for organic and other materials.
Reaxys provides properties and reactions data for organic, inorganic, and organometallic chemicals. The database is searchable by chemical structures, reactions, specific properties, and literature references. Data are obtained from journal articles and chemical patents.
Special Access Notes:
Remote users must use the GlobalProtect VPN for access.
Access to ASTM standards and other materials data and test methods.
Provides full-text access to all current ASTM (American Society of Testing Materials) and AASHTO (American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials) standards. Content on the ASTM Compass platform to which we do NOT have access: ASTM Videos, AATCC, API, AWS and AWWA.
Special Access Notes: ASTM requires Chrome, Edge, or Firefox for remote access.
A collection of more than 140,000 sample entries of data on inorganic thin-film materials for advanced energy research from the National Renewable Energy Laboratory. The entries offer “details about the structural, chemical, and optoelectronic properties of the materials, and their synthesis conditions.
Organic and metal-organic experimental crystal structures are added to the Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) where the data is enhanced by the addition of bibliographic and chemical text, chemical structural data and the results of crystal structure validation. Inorganic experimental crystal structures are added to the Inorganic Crystal Structure Database (ICSD)
The database contains over 200,000 crystal structures and is updated twice yearly.
ICSD contains more than 200,000 crystal structures. It is updated twice a year with topical data from scientific journals and other relevant sources. About 7,000 structures are added each year. The oldest data sets date back to publications from 1913.
QC481.A42 sets 1-66
Materials Characterization Lab staff have access to an electronic version. Penn Staters may request a search of this database; contact Linda Musser, EMS Library, for more information.