Library Guides: Chemistry: Reference Sources

General Information

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
Excellent general purpose handbook of data.
Provides properties data for physics and chemistry.

Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary by Richard J. Lewis
Call Number: QD5.C5 2007
ISBN: 0471768650
Publication Date: 2007
General chemical dictionary

Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary (E-Book)
IUPAC Gold Book
Official definitions of chemical terminology as approved by the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry.

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology This link opens in a new window
Professional-level encyclopedia of chemistry and chemical technology
The Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology is a major reference resource for chemistry, chemical engineering, and related disciplines. It contains substantial articles on topics in these areas and has extensive bibliographies that accompany the articles.

Analytical Chemistry and Spectral Data

IUPAC Compendium of Analytical Nomenclature
Dictionary of terminology used in analytical chemistry.

Water Hardness
by Linda Musser Last Updated Aug 30, 2021 174 views this year

The following sites provide spectral data. Most display the data in chart format.

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Information on how to access Sci-Finder-n. Links to journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, and doctoral dissertations in chemistry (Chemical Abstracts) and related fields; also includes information on chemical substances, reactions, and chemical catalogs.
SciFinder-n indexes the chemical literature as well as providing searchable information regarding specific chemical substances, reactions, structure and substructure searching, chemical supplier information, and a retrosynthesis planner.

SDBS: Spectral Data for Organic Compounds
NIST Chemistry WebBook
Properties and Spectral Data
ChemSpider

Reaxys This link opens in a new window
Does not display charts; however, it does link to the original publications, which may include a spectrum chart.
Reaxys provides properties and reactions data for organic, inorganic, and organometallic chemicals. The database is searchable by chemical structures, reactions, specific properties, and literature references. Data are obtained from journal articles and chemical patents. Remote users must use the GlobalProtect VPN for access. VPN information for remote users.

Organic and Inorganic Chemistry

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Information on how to access Sci-Finder-n. Links to journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, and doctoral dissertations in chemistry (Chemical Abstracts) and related fields; also includes information on chemical substances, reactions, and chemical catalogs.
SciFinder-n indexes the chemical literature as well as providing searchable information regarding specific chemical substances, reactions, structure and substructure searching, chemical supplier information, and a retrosynthesis planner.
Reaxys This link opens in a new window
Has a structure editor to allow for structure and reaction searching and a reaction planner. Covers organic, inorganic, and organometallic chemistry.
Reaxys provides properties and reactions data for organic, inorganic, and organometallic chemicals. The database is searchable by chemical structures, reactions, specific properties, and literature references. Data are obtained from journal articles and chemical patents. Remote users must use the GlobalProtect VPN for access. VPN information for remote users.
e-EROS: Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis This link opens in a new window
Information about catalysts and reagents.
Provides information about 70,000 chemical reagents and catalysts. Database is searchable by chemical structure and reaction as well as by chemical name.

The following resources contain descriptions of named chemical reactions:

Organic Syntheses Based on Name Reactions and Unnamed Reactions by Alfred Hassner Organic Syntheses Based on Named Reactions is an indispensable reference companion for chemistry students and researchers. Building on Hassner & Stumer's highly regarded 2e, this new work reviews 750 reactions, with over 100 new stereoselective and regioselective reactions. Each A-Z entry provides a carefully condensed summary of valuable information that a chemist needs to understand and utilize these fundamental reactions in their work, including brief practical details. The book is illustrated with real synthetic examples from the literature and about 3,400 references to the primary literature to aid further reading. Extensive indexes (name, reagent, reaction) and a very useful functional group transformation index help the reader fully navigate this extensive collection of important reactions. With its comprehensive coverage, superb organization and quality of presentation, this long-awaited new edition belongs on the shelf of every organic chemist. Handy reference guide that explains 750 established named processes and methods that are trusted and used by organic chemists to synthesize or transform molecules Provides key data on each transformation including background, mechanism and--uniquely to books in this area--experimental details Extensive and multiple indexes allow the reader to search for information as and how they want and to rapidly plan transformations
Call Number: Electronic Content
ISBN: 9780080966311

Properties Data

Thermodex
Searchable index to hundreds of print and web-based handbooks of thermodynamic properties data. It doesn’t give you the actual data, but it tells you where you can find them. Use the “Find in a Library” link on the right to find PSU call numbers and locations.

The following databases provide properties data:

Reaxys This link opens in a new window
Reaxys provides properties and reactions data for organic, inorganic, and organometallic chemicals. The database is searchable by chemical structures, reactions, specific properties, and literature references. Data are obtained from journal articles and chemical patents. Remote users must use the GlobalProtect VPN for access. VPN information for remote users.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Information on how to access Sci-Finder-n. Links to journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, and doctoral dissertations in chemistry (Chemical Abstracts) and related fields; also includes information on chemical substances, reactions, and chemical catalogs.
SciFinder-n indexes the chemical literature as well as providing searchable information regarding specific chemical substances, reactions, structure and substructure searching, chemical supplier information, and a retrosynthesis planner.
Springer Materials This link opens in a new window
SpringerMaterials is based on the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, the unique, fully evaluated data collection in all areas of physical sciences and engineering. SpringerMaterials also comprises the Dortmund Data Bank Software & Separation Technology, a Database on Thermophysical Properties and the Linus Pauling Files, a Database on Inorganic Solid Phases and chemical safety data. SpingerMaterials is expanded and updated on a quarterly basis and offers advanced search & navigation functionalities.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
Provides properties data for physics and chemistry.

PubChem

ASM Alloy Phase Diagram Center This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to binary and ternary phase diagrams and associated phase data for more than 6200 alloy systems. Crystal data, reaction data, transformation, and phase diagrams are included.
ASM Alloy Center This link opens in a new window
The Alloy Center contains property data for thousands of metals and alloys. Some non-metallic (e.g., ceramics, composites, coatings, etc.) materials data are also included.

Chemical Suppliers

These are sources that link to chemical catalogs and suppliers.

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IInformation on how to access Sci-Finder-n. Links to journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, and doctoral dissertations in chemistry (Chemical Abstracts) and related fields; also includes information on chemical substances, reactions, and chemical catalogs.
SciFinder-n indexes the chemical literature as well as providing searchable information regarding specific chemical substances, reactions, structure and substructure searching, chemical supplier information, and a retrosynthesis planner.

Reaxys This link opens in a new window
Reaxys provides properties and reactions data for organic, inorganic, and organometallic chemicals. The database is searchable by chemical structures, reactions, specific properties, and literature references. Data are obtained from journal articles and chemical patents. Remote users must use the GlobalProtect VPN for access. VPN information for remote users.

Inventing

3D Printing at Penn State
Curious about 3D printing? Need to use a 3D printer? Check out this guide.
Patents
Sometimes great ideas lead to inventions. This is a good place to start looking for information.

The following databases also chemical-related patents, although if you need a detailed search, you should also check the resources in the Patents guide.

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Information on how to access Sci-Finder-n. Links to journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, and doctoral dissertations in chemistry (Chemical Abstracts) and related fields; also includes information on chemical substances, reactions, and chemical catalogs.
SciFinder-n indexes the chemical literature as well as providing searchable information regarding specific chemical substances, reactions, structure and substructure searching, chemical supplier information, and a retrosynthesis planner.
Reaxys This link opens in a new window
Reaxys provides properties and reactions data for organic, inorganic, and organometallic chemicals. The database is searchable by chemical structures, reactions, specific properties, and literature references. Data are obtained from journal articles and chemical patents. Remote users must use the GlobalProtect VPN for access. VPN information for remote users.