The Chemical Engineering guide provides links to information on all topics related to chemical engineering in relevant databases, journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, websites, professional societies, etc.
For a complete list of guides and tutorials please see Complete List
A list of databases to help you start your research in Chemical Engineering. For additional information on how to search each database and use their unique search features be sure to look at the databases help, tools, search tips, and tutorials pages located on the front page of each database. These pages and videos will walk you through the different methods and terms used for basic searches, advanced searches, etc. in each database.
Major reference for chemistry and chemical engineering - contains articles on process design, chemical reactor design, provides chemical properties, etc.
The Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology is a major reference resource for chemistry, chemical engineering, and related disciplines. It contains substantial articles on topics in these areas and has extensive bibliographies that accompany the articles.
Full-text access to journals and books from across all fields of science and engineering. Topics covered includes stem cell research.
This system provides access to the electronic versions of the Elsevier journals and books that we subscribe to. Current issues and back files are included. Currently, it includes more than 1,200 journals. The full text collection contains over 1.5 million articles and book chapters from 1995 to present across all fields of science.
A database that allows you to search Medline which covers medicine, history of medicine, bioethics, environmental health, genetics, gerontology, microbiology, and a variety of other subjects. Topics covered includes stem cell research.
PubMed is a web interface that allows you to search MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine's premier database of citations and abstracts for biomedical research articles. The core subject is medicine, but subject coverage also includes bioethics, biology, chemistry, dentistry, environmental health, genetics, gerontology, health care planning and administration, history of medicine, hospital administration, microbiology, nutrition, nursing (International Nursing Index), physiology, pre-clinical sciences, public health, sports medicine, veterinary medicine and zoology. MEDLINE covers over 4,800 journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The database contains over 15 million citations dating back to 1950. Coverage is worldwide and updated weekly. Learn more about PubMed at: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/factsheets/pubmed.html. or Try the Tutorial at: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pubmed_tutorial/m1001.html
Use to find citations to relevant articles in all areas of science and engineering.
Web of Science provides access to: the Science Citation Index Expanded 1900-present; the Social Sciences Citation Index 1956-present; and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975-present. Web of Science indexes articles from thousands of journals and also indexes the citations used in those articles, thus allowing the user to see which papers have cited a core paper, and how many times a paper was cited in a given time period. Covers published content is almost every discipline.
Contains journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, and doctoral dissertations in chemistry (Chemical Abstracts) and related fields; also includes properties data, information on chemical substances, reactions, and chemical catalogs. The database can be searched by chemical structure, molecular formula, Markush, property, name, or Substance Identifier (ex. CAS Registry Number) to locate records for specific chemical substances.
SciFinder-n indexes the chemical literature as well as providing searchable information regarding specific chemical substances, reactions, structure and substructure searching, chemical supplier information, and a retrosynthesis planner.
Special Access Notes: Global Protect VPN required for remote access.
When accessing SciFinder-n, users will need their Penn State access credentials as well as a separate SciFinder-n login and password, which they can obtain using on-screen instructions. Register for a SciFinder-n Account.
Contains information from journal articles and patents; provides properties data for organic, inorganic, and organometallic compounds. The database can be searched using chemical structures, reactions, properties and literature references.
Reaxys provides properties and reactions data for organic, inorganic, and organometallic chemicals. The database is searchable by chemical structures, reactions, specific properties, and literature references. Data are obtained from journal articles and chemical patents.
Special Access Notes:
Remote users must use the GlobalProtect VPN for access.
Provides ebooks, journals, and reference works in a variety of areas including chemistry and many related topics like chemical engineering, catalysis, organic and inorganic chemistry, biochemistry, and physical chemistry.
More than 300 online publications (electronic journals, books and reference works) for researchers and professionals.
Contains articles from science and technical journals in the areas of electronics, control engineering, information technology, etc.
Inspec is a leading bibliographic information database covering the fields of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology with more than 7.7 million records taken from 3,500 technical and scientific journals and 1,500 conference proceedings. Coverage: 1896-present.
Journals and ebooks in science and engineering; includes chemical engineering related areas like chemistry, life sciences, and medicine.
Access to electronic editions of journals and electronic books to which Penn State University Libraries subscribes, published by a company called Springer-Verlag. Journals cover the fields of chemistry, computer science, economics, engineering, environmental sciences, geosciences, life sciences, mathematics, medicine, and physics. Coverage: 1996-present. Updates: Continuous
Provides data in all areas of the physical sciences and engineering including topics like thermophysical properties, inorganic solid phases, and chemical safety data.
SpringerMaterials is based on the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, the unique, fully evaluated data collection in all areas of physical sciences and engineering. SpringerMaterials also comprises the Dortmund Data Bank Software & Separation Technology, a Database on Thermophysical Properties and the Linus Pauling Files, a Database on Inorganic Solid Phases and chemical safety data. SpingerMaterials is expanded and updated on a quarterly basis and offers advanced search & navigation functionalities.
Largest database for laboratory research protocols, provides protocols on chemical engineering related topics including biotechnology, molecular medicine, neuromethods, etc.
Springer Nature Experiments is the world's largest database of laboratory research protocols, and comprises the popular monographic series Methods in Molecular Biology plus protocols gleaned from Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Biotechnology, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Neuromethods, as well as from a vast number of Laboratory Handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals. Researchers can browse the database by subject collection, search the database full-text, or follow a link to a protocol from other search engines like LionSearch or Google Scholar, or from a database such as PubMed or Web of Knowledge.